Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rio Mesa High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
Teachers encourage some students to drop out, expelling student instead of helping them kicking students out for bad grades

Rio Mesa High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
If a student is slacking of the teacher makes it clear and I quote " just drop out already instead of wasting other students time, I dont care if u learn or not I get paid regardless" or from another teacher " I love my job I dont even have to teach its just a big daycare I would play movies every day if I was allowed too if a kid learns its just a good for you"


Rio Mesa High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
Teachers here dont teach you go to a class look on the board usually it says read page answer questions

Rio Mesa High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
They do not really leave homework it's what ever you dont finish in class is homework

Rio Mesa High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
When staff asks you a question you have to give them what they want to hear or else they think the student is lying and yells at them. If you're a student you can never be right


Rio Mesa High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
My kid went ther all 4 years and only like 3 teachers stuck out and would actually encouraged him to be a better students

Rio Mesa High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
If your child is interested in advanced courses, the teachers are exceptional. If your child is interested in the IB Diploma, this is one of two schools in the county that offer it (Newbury High being the second). Rio Mesa has also been named as having one of the best athletic programs. Don't overlook this school purely on API scores as the mix of students bring the number down. We have 3 children who have attended this school.

Rio Mesa High School 2

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
I attended this school and it was okay, i was treated poorly by almost all of the staff and was almost always talked down upon, Only 2 teachers actually Taught me and spent the time to teach their students, My guidance counseler was Mrs.F*****ck and she was the most unhelpful, irresponsible, coniving, apathetic, imbellic, prejudice, uneducated, rude,difficult,invidious, rotten, untrustworthy person I have ever met. She had such a bad attitude and gave me the opposite information she was giving the students whom lived in big houses, with nice cars and lots of money in their familys bank accounts. Remove her and bring someone new to that school who actually GUIDES the students in a good direction, and ALL students not just the IB my dad drives a BMW my mom eats bon bons all day and watches GLEE at night cause we're wealthy and have nothing else to worry about. Thanks


Rio Mesa High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Its one of the smallest in the district but the most diverse and always competitive in academics, sports and the arts.

Rio Mesa High School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
We have been very impressed with Rio Mesa. Our son is a sophomore this year and likes it as well. He is an honor student and very active in sports. The sports programs are wonderful and the teachers are fabulous.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Mesa High School
545 Central Avenue, Oxnard, CA  93030-1045
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (805) 278-5500
Last modified Rio Mesa High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top