Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pacific Grove Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all teachers who seem to be on the same page with academics and student responsibility, encouraging and supporting my daughter with her education.

Pacific Grove Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Moved from Monterey (MPUSD) after 10 combined years of both kids to PG. Experience in PG couldn't be any different- in the most amazing, positive ways. Wish we had made the move earlier.


Pacific Grove Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has a 4.0. She has great teachers that push her to be successful.

Pacific Grove Middle School 2

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
The administration here is so busy patting themselves on the back, they can't even see how low the standards have fallen. Mrs. Priest and the music program are amazing, but for every great teacher at this school, there are 2 others just biding their time and putting out the same tired worksheets they've been using for years--one teacher even told the parents at Back-to-School night, "Why did I decide to go into teaching so many years ago? 177 work days a year!" Coloring pages that qualify as history "projects" and standards so low that even the kids think the Honor Roll is a joke. The principal (Mr. Roggemann) talks a good game, but is woefully short on substance and not interested in any kind of substantive change-- a perfect example of a big fish in a very small pond. Such a disappointment--can't wait to get my kid out of there.

Pacific Grove Middle School 2

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Don't be so taken by the high ratings of this school, their grading system is rigged. A student with several B's, a D, and an F can get an A+ at 100%. How does that happen? And if a student scores lower than a B, they will provide a make-up test right before the semester grade closes out. All efforts are made to make the grades look good. The learning - less so. The material is very simple and there are almost no tests. All grades are based on classwork, homework and participation. And if you don't score so well on some of those, they turn a blind eye. So, if you are after a challenging education for your child, this is not the school. If you are after day care, this is your place. But don't be so surprised when your child can't keep afloat in high school.


Pacific Grove Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a community member
This is school is one of the best schools i have ever been to and the teachers are just wonderful and the education is good and there are many friendly people and the view is great and there is no drug and racism problem

Pacific Grove Middle School 2

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed. No foreign language, no honors or accelerated classes, even for kids who are clearly ready to do more challenging work. The entire GATE program consists fof a variety of "lunch clubs" that any kid can drop in or out of at will. My child has virtually 100% in every class with minimal effort. When over 75% of the school makes "Honor Roll", this is not a reflection of how amazing all the teachers are (although there are some really wonderful teachers at this school), but more a reflection of the low academic expectations. This ridiculous "one size fits all" approach does a real disservice to the many bright, talented kids who are pushing to do more. These kid are NOT ready for AP and Honors high school classes after 3 years at PGMS and many end up really struggling in their 9th grade year, when teachers expect higher level work of them. This school is capable of so much more and I just don't understand why the administration seems content to be just barely average.

Pacific Grove Middle School 3

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I looked everywhere for more information regarding this school before we moved here and could find only a few scant reviews. This school has some very good teachers and some nice kids, but overall, the level of academics is very low. They lump all the kids together, saying that they don't have honors or GT classes because "90% would be in honors class", but that simply isn't true, and isn't backed up by the test scores. If your child is a below average-average student then I suppose this would work, but there is absolutely nothing available for the child who is gifted or working above grade level in any way. It was a real disappointment to see my child doing re-doing work that she has previously mastered in past years. The social environment is pretty rough as well, with lots of verbal bullying and roughhousing. The principal says he takes bullying seriously, but I very rarely see him, or anyone else from the administration, out by the school before classes or after, when a lot of the bad behavior occurs. Lunchtime is a free-for-all. I know the budget is always an issue, but I've seen schools do much more with less. Overall, this school is strictly average, nothing more.


Pacific Grove Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
My son attended PGMS or 2 years. I was very pleased with the teachers and office staff. The principal is first rate!

Pacific Grove Middle School 4

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
This school is wonderful!! I have been homeschooling my child for three years because everywhere I have put her in school the children have been very mean and absolutely wicked. We enrolled her for eighth grade and she LOVES it. My daughter can't wait to get back to school on Monday because she has so many friends. Every weekend she has something to do with her friends. She says there are some kids that do drugs and get pretty bad grades but there are only a few. These kids tend to be the more popular kids and my daughter stays away from then anyway so they don't bother her. The teachers are wonderful and if you have trouble understanding the lesson taught Pacific Grove Middle has lunch clubs for homework, math, music, and other clubs such as Glee club. The music department is absolutely amazing!!! My daughter is in advanced orchestra first chair cellist. She loves the instruments and the teacher. The sports there are great as well. My child just tried out for the school musical The Music Man and got a great part and all her friends are in the musical too. Over all, this school is a wonderful place just as long as you choose the right friends and you stay focused in class.

Nearby schools

Pacific Grove Middle School
835 Forest Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA  93950-4837
(831) 646-6568
Last modified Pacific Grove Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top