Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
350 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Matthew's Parish School 4

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
I attended St. Matthews. The academics were utterly superb--especially in the English and Math departments. When I got to high school (Marymount; where I was given a merit scholarship; I also was accepted to Brentwood school and Harvard-Westlake for the 9th grade class, where there are few openings) the academics we're downright easy compared to St. Matthews. Every single literature book I had read in 4 years of Marymount, I had already read/dissected and enjoyed at St. Matthews. They taught me how to write an excellent essay, a skill which I still use to this day (I'm a physician). The drawback to St. Matthews is the nasty kids, many of whom are bullies. I think that's equally as important as the academics. I was mercilessly teased, even tho I was tall, blonde and thin just like the rest of them. St. Matthews definitely "taught" me how to over-achieve, but at what price?

St. Matthew's Parish School 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
St. Matthew's is a wonderful school with a terrific sense of community and beautiful 30 acre campus. Perhaps because it starts in preschool, the children really get to know the younger and older siblings of their classmates which contributes to the family feel of the school. The teachers are bright, hardworking and enthusiastic. The school uses the same reading and math programs used at other top private schools, and there is a real emphasis placed on developing moral character. The teachers really make an effort to find public speaking opportunities for even the youngest children through terrific class plays and other school activities. The school strikes a wonderful balance with children receiving an excellent education while also enjoying their childhoods. A recent post noted a few preschool children are held back from starting Kindergarten (typically 1 or 2 out of a class of 28). This is really a function of the school matriculating children when they are 3 yrs. old with widely varying birthdays, a common issue at stand-alone private preschools with the youngest kids sometimes requiring an additional year of preschool before applying to private elementary schools.


St. Matthew's Parish School 3

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Pros of this school: Fantastic facilities, amazing campus. Safe beautiful school with grounds unlike any other in Los Angeles. Nice community. Cons: Not enough individualized attention. They kind of plod along with a one size fits all mentality. If you have a kid who is especially bright or interested in something, the administration will not respond to that interest or do something more with an individual child. For a kid who is ready for more stimulation, they will not accommodate that interest, i.e an interest to read or in learning numbers before they deem it appropriate. It starts at the Kindergarten, where they don't do enough splitting the kids by ability. It also seems to be that a lot of kids get held back, perhaps because there is not enough intervention and attention to the individual needs of the child.

St. Matthew's Parish School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
St. Matthew's Parish School teaches the children who attend all of the most important traits of being a good moral person.

St. Matthew's Parish School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful caring school. They not only have a high academic standard but teach empathy and service. No school is perfect and as a small independent school they cannot offer accelerated classes in all topics but they care about the moral character development of each student.


St. Matthew's Parish School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Excellent curriculum, small class size, excellent teachers, beautiful environment

St. Matthew's Parish School 4

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
No place will ever be perfect, but this is as close to a perfect school situation as one will experience. I have two children that spent a total of 15 years there, and they only have the best memories. The school leadership is great and the teachers are experienced, caring, and in many ways go beyond the call of duty. Yes, kids can sometimes be catty, but that is everywhere. Part of life is learning to deal with it.

St. Matthew's Parish School 5

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
St. Matthew's is an incredibly wonderful school. I have not found the parents or leadership to be 'snootier' than any other local private school. I would agree, however, that the math program is not as rigorous as it could be, particularly for those students who have a high math aptitude.


St. Matthew's Parish School
no rating

Posted July 24, 2008
- a parent
St. Mathew's is a good school but it is very taken with itself. The parents and leadership are very snooty and think they're better than everyone else...not a very Christian world view. Their math program is drivel.

St. Matthew's Parish School 5

Posted January 13, 2008
- a parent
I don't know what the other review was all about. St. Matthew's is an exellent school with great teachers and very nice students. For example, when my child was a new student at St. Matthew's, the children treated her like she had known all of the kids for her whole life. She has many good friends at St. Matthew's. As for the food, the children get a selection of SUBWAY sandwiches, PANDA EXPRESS chinese food, and once every 2 months they get IN-AND-OUT. They also get a choice of Beth's Kitchen, where the food is very good. Also, they don't even have to have any of the food! They could bring a lunch from home if they wanted to. The curriculum is very engaging and fun. But at the same time, it's a fun challenge for the kids. St. Matthew's is a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Matthew's Parish School
1031 Bienveneda Avenue, Pacific Palisades, CA  90272
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (310) 454-1350
Last modified St. Matthew's Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top