Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Pacifica, CA
Students enrolled: 421

5 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


117 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ocean Shore Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
We love the school although the volunteer hours are quite tremendous. I like the idea of lots of field trips. Indeed, my kids learned a lot from those trips especially overnight trips. However, I agreed with one of the parents' comment that the school should focus more on academics.

Ocean Shore Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Everyone working together to ensure that the kids get the best education and guidance. Field trips provide a wonderful out of class experience for the kids too!
1 person found this helpful


Ocean Shore Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Ocean Shore I feel this school is not emphasizing enough on academic. For example, there are too may field trips during school year, and there is not enough decent computers for students. As a result, Math is lagging compare to other schools nearby. This is the time that we need to produce more well prepared math and science students.

Ocean Shore Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
I love Ocean Shore!!! Parents and teachers work very hard together to make sure our children get the best education. My son look forward going to school because of all field trips and activities. If it wasn't because of the hours the parents put in none of that would be possible! This school is a great school...
1 person found this helpful

Ocean Shore Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Reading all these glowing reviews, I get excited about the ideal of what OSS promises all over again. I reviewed this school in 2008 and my opinion is still that OSS still requires a lot of work with regard to character building. The adults at the school from parents to school personnel need a constant reminder that children learn by what we do, not what we say. For example, respect can be taught in very simple, concrete ways. When a child goes hungry, because several adults refused to listen and dismissed that child, it is neither nurturing nor respectful. Tolerance and compassion are hallmarks of COMMUNITY. Sadly, we have not experienced the community, collaboration and sharing that is so often mentioned here. We do so wish that other families would reach out to each other with sincerity. Once again, I hope OSS adults will take it as a challenge to act on rather than a personal attack.


Ocean Shore Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
An excellent example of and an ideal school environment - with teachers, parents, students and administrators !

Ocean Shore Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a teacher
A community of dedicated teachers, students, parents and administrators.

Ocean Shore Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
The commitment and dedication of the teachers to help their students be the best they can be in all areas.


Ocean Shore Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Ocean Shore is a wonderful school. Our children are enriched with all types of learning tools rangeing from typical class lessons to hand-on learning so that everyone can truely succeed.

Ocean Shore Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Wow, what a community! Families helping out in the classroom, kids getting core curricullum supplemented by the talents of all those parent volunteers.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean Shore Elementary School
411 Oceana Boulevard, Pacifica, CA  94044
(650) 738-6650
Last modified Ocean Shore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ocean Shore Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 117 reviews. Top