Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

556 students|Pacifica
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 135 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vallemar Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Unstable staffing, PTO drama and bullying were enough to motivate us to pull our child after being there since kindergarten. Now in a new school, grades have dramatically improved, self esteem is fantastic and loves staying after school to socialize, it's hard to believe a former school could do so much damage to a child. The middle school program is terrible. The K-3 teachers are fantastic!

Vallemar Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Teaching staff is roulette. There are some outstanding teachers and there are teachers who are collecting a paycheck with no accountability. The main issue is teachers bouncing around grade levels.


Vallemar Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Workload is adequate for each grade level and by middle school they should be doing a little more to prepare for high school.

Vallemar Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
If you don't respect students as learners who make mistakes and grow from them, they don't respect you.

Vallemar Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Bullying is a cultural norm on this campus. It stems from parents and the administration does not adequately address it. Teachers can only do so much, the lower grade teachers try to teach conflict resolution.


Vallemar Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
Overall still a great K-8 school that lives off it's former legacy as a California Distinguished School. Not quite as good as it was ten years ago. Has a problem with keeping middle school kids. The out-of-the-neighborhood parents who fought to get their kids into Vallemar in the early grades are the same parents that bail on the school come 6th grade due to more options. The district has an open enrollment policy so it's a lottery. But due to it popularity for K-5 many Vallemar neighborhood kids never get to go to their local school, unless they want to wait until 6th grade. The current principal seems more focused on kicking kids off campus after school than raising test scores. She also has locked the community out of using the school grounds after hours and on the weekends. First time this has occurred in the history of the school. This is the same community that has passed three bond measures in a row in support of the school district. Both of these decisions have killed the family culture. Previously parents networked a lot more and kept and eye on each other's kids. Dodge ball, skateboard club and (at times) basketball have been banned during recess.

Vallemar Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a parent
Vallemar is a great, well-rounded school! Excellent teachers, principal, and staff. There is a very active and diverse group of down-to-earth parents. Vallemar values building social and emotional development, as well as academics. We have a new principal who is very approachable and seems to be just the type of leadership our school needs. Our first grader and sixth grader are very happy here and so are we.

Vallemar Elementary School 3

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started school here in Kindergarten and is now a 4th grader. This school was considered the best academically when she started, but there was a new principal, and the school went downhill while she was here. Now there's a new principal, but it remains to be seen if she can help the school. Unfortunately, this year there are multiple problems with the PTO leadership that has impacted the overall school climate. While I used to be more active in volunteering with the school and my daughter's classes, it no longer feels like a nurturing environment due to these few individuals. My daughter will likely not continue here for middle school unless things turn around for the better.


Vallemar Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
My son entered Vallemar school in the last four weeks of the 6th grade coming from out of state. The best thing about this school for the middle school age child is the smaller environment. If you have a child, who like mine, is not mature enough yet for the high school like environment of some of the larger middle schools this is ideal. We liked the smaller school environment and easy to navigate campus. Last year, my son's two teachers were very young. While they were nice they were not as responsive to email, etc. as I would have expected and that was frustrating at times. This year his new teacher is a seasoned professional and I am very happy with her so far. The only thing I notice about Vallemar is that even though it is reputed to be one of Pacifica's more academic schools the children, the boys at least, don't seem to care much about learning. My son is applying to private high school and it isn't "cool" to be smart, as a boy, at Vallemar. So parents with ambitious children beware - your child may not be in an environment of peers at Vallemar that supports those goals. Lastly, the principal is the most invisible principals of any public school I've ever encountered. MIA.

Vallemar Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with excellent staff members. Teachers are very caring and implement a lot of technology within classrooms.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vallemar Elementary School
377 Reina Del Mar Avenue, Pacifica, CA  94044-3052
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 135 reviews. (650) 738-6655
Last modified Vallemar Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top