Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Pacifica, CA
Students enrolled: 556
 

5 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


126 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vallemar Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a parent
Vallemar is a great, well-rounded school! Excellent teachers, principal, and staff. There is a very active and diverse group of down-to-earth parents. Vallemar values building social and emotional development, as well as academics. We have a new principal who is very approachable and seems to be just the type of leadership our school needs. Our first grader and sixth grader are very happy here and so are we.

Vallemar Elementary School 3

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started school here in Kindergarten and is now a 4th grader. This school was considered the best academically when she started, but there was a new principal, and the school went downhill while she was here. Now there's a new principal, but it remains to be seen if she can help the school. Unfortunately, this year there are multiple problems with the PTO leadership that has impacted the overall school climate. While I used to be more active in volunteering with the school and my daughter's classes, it no longer feels like a nurturing environment due to these few individuals. My daughter will likely not continue here for middle school unless things turn around for the better.


Vallemar Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
My son entered Vallemar school in the last four weeks of the 6th grade coming from out of state. The best thing about this school for the middle school age child is the smaller environment. If you have a child, who like mine, is not mature enough yet for the high school like environment of some of the larger middle schools this is ideal. We liked the smaller school environment and easy to navigate campus. Last year, my son's two teachers were very young. While they were nice they were not as responsive to email, etc. as I would have expected and that was frustrating at times. This year his new teacher is a seasoned professional and I am very happy with her so far. The only thing I notice about Vallemar is that even though it is reputed to be one of Pacifica's more academic schools the children, the boys at least, don't seem to care much about learning. My son is applying to private high school and it isn't "cool" to be smart, as a boy, at Vallemar. So parents with ambitious children beware - your child may not be in an environment of peers at Vallemar that supports those goals. Lastly, the principal is the most invisible principals of any public school I've ever encountered. MIA.
1 person found this helpful

Vallemar Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with excellent staff members. Teachers are very caring and implement a lot of technology within classrooms.

Vallemar Elementary School 3

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
The lower elementary experience is good. The teachers are caring, insightful and creative. Increased class sizes and a few combination classes are an unfortunate reality now. Students are very much expected to learn in the traditional sit-and-learn manner as a teacher imparts information. If you have a child with learning differences or is overly active, this is not a good choice. A few very talented teachers step outside this teaching style and really engage the students in a more contemporary fashion with hands on activities. You cannot request teachers at this school. 5-8 grades is a very different experience. Some teachers communicate well, others have little contact. It shows in how the children are educated. Behavior problems have gotten worse with a new principal who has little experience. Leadership is lacking and the little bullying there is pawned off on the new counselor. The parent group is active, but they spent a lot of money on electronic whiteboards. You don't have to volunteer at this school which is great if you work full-time. The daycare is good. I have sent more than one child through Vallemar, it has changed a lot.


Vallemar Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
good kids, safe neighboorhood, great teachers, great principal, nice staffs, great PTO. It's the best school in the district! !!

Vallemar Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
The Teachers, students, principal and educational standards! And the PTO!

Vallemar Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
It's the best school. The teachers are truely care about their students.


Vallemar Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
It is the best school , the teacher are super nice with all the children. Their curriculum is excellent, is located in a very safe neighboorhood and I appreciate all the parents involvement. The staff truly cares about their students.

Vallemar Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are simply the best. They really care about our children and educating them to the best of their ability. It is a wonderful place.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vallemar Elementary School
377 Reina Del Mar Avenue, Pacifica, CA  94044
(650) 738-6655
Last modified Vallemar Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vallemar Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 126 reviews. Top