Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Pacifica, CA
Students enrolled: 614

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


59 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted September 30, 2014
- a community member
Principal isn't strong enough to lead against rude parents and the school safety is a concern. Anyone can walk onto campus at anytime, seems unsafe. Love most the teachers and most students are great. Office seems disorganized- like lost. Problem students seem to get rewarded in the office while good students seem to be ignored. Office is chaos of students who seem in trouble playing and eating? PTA ask and ask for money but don't know where it goes. Parents don't help at the school those who do are paid- I don't think parents should be paid to help. Conflicts in class and yards aren't usually handled. Wish class size was smaller and that all students had music and art. Some good programs like science and pe.

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
I need to see the graduation pictures Were can i see the plz help me find the web site thank you dearly Ray


Sunset Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted June 13, 2013
- a community member
I do not want to get teachers in trouble with the principal for my previous review. I am former staff not a teacher, I saw this school and support the teachers 100%.

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This is a good elementary school in Pacifica. However, for gifted or advanced children, there are no options. I do not think children can skip grades anymore. Even though I have been happy with the school in general, the lack of advanced academics is causing me to place my child in a private school.

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Ms Feinstein is the TK teacher and is so sweet and caring. As a parent, she makes you feel that your child is in the best hands. The school is also very organized considering how many classes there are for each grade. The principal has a great relationship with the students.


Sunset Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
I love this school... My daughter has Mrs. Tyler-parker and she is just wonderful very structured and that s what kids need these days. They go on a lot of field trips which is wonderful!! My daughter has learned so much I think sunset ridge should have more stars than what it s ranked now!! 10 stars in my book!!

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
School needs to tighten up on safety and security for student drop off and pickup procedures.

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. My daughter is wrapping up her kindergarten year and has blossomed academically and socially. Mrs. Marinas, in particular, is an AMAZING teacher. She feels truly invested in the success of her pupils and it shows with the warm and dedication that she exudes at every opportunity. She is a hands-on educator and devote every bit of her attention to each child to make sure they are learning what they re supposed to. The school has so many programs and initiatives aimed at improving literacy and involving the parents every step of the way. I agree with a previous poster about the parking though. Some parents are incredibly inconsiderate when picking up and dropping off. The school is large and the parking lot is tiny so something's got to give. Overall, the principal, teachers, after-school program director at TTT, librarian, and breathtaking location with the ocean view and whale watching platform make this school one of a kind.


Sunset Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted July 26, 2011
- a community member
We were initially concerned about the school's size (3-4 classes for each grade), but ended up being very happy with our son's kinder and first grade experiences. The school manages its size by being very organized; students are taught the routine of the massive recess, lunch and assembly events. The principal, Ellie Cundiff, is a very devoted and involved principal who sincerely makes the effort to know every family, not just students who require extra attention. The librarian, Lauren Reynolds, is wonderful. She actually buys the library books when she is on her own personal vacation time. The school has a VERY strong reading and writing kinder program. We are only at another district school because it offers more programs, but would not hesitate to return to Sunset Ridge if there were problems with the new school.

Sunset Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
The school is great. Parent involvement is always encouraged. The only problem seems to be the parents not being responsible enough to respect the rules about loading and unloading kids.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Ridge Elementary School
340 Inverness Drive, Pacifica, CA  94044
(650) 738-6687
Last modified Sunset Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top