Advertisement
Advertisement

Good Shepherd Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pacifica

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $453,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

This is a school that educates the whole child. Children learn to respect themselves and others. It is a K-8 school with small class sizes. Students round out their basic subjects with music, computer, physical education, Spanish, library, band and religion. You do not need to be Catholic to attend but a Christian philosophy is followed. The faculty has many years of experience and credentials. Families participate and there is a genuine sense of community! It is the most scenic school on the coastside, situated about 10 minutes from SFO.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2013

The top stars of this school is the Technology, Science, Math and Speech departments. The music department is also outstanding. Visit this school & enroll your child, you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

Good Shepherd school was the best decision and has made a positive impact to my son. Wonderful teachers and they care. The principal and administrationare fantastic as well. I would recomand this school to everyone. Small investment to pay for a fantastic academic program for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

My wife was the toughest critic when my son entered kindergarden and my daughter 19 months apart about to enter the following year. This, especially since our only choice in the public school lottery (Vallemar) was selected. My wife, an asian immigrant, with a college degree is now convinced Good Shepherd School was the right decision and has made a positive impact towards our children. The school has offered discipline, love, respect and academics to our children and family. Great kindergarden and first grade teachers so far. The principal and administration are professional and set the standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

Good Shepherd School is a top-notch in education as well as providing children manners and respect -- nurturing well-rounded children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Wonderful teachers and admin staff; very committed to higher education and children; loving and sincere environment; instills fantastic religious foundation; promotes the best of each child as an individual. High parental involvement. Good Shepherd is head and shoulders above the rest. Happy 40th Anniversary Good Shepherd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

I just graduated from the 8th grade as the member of the Class of 2008. Good Shepherd is a wonderful school. I love the teachers, and the principal. I had a very, very positive experience there. I would recommend this school to everyone. They really care about you at Good Shepherd. Houston Garcia '08
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

Good Shepherd Elementary has enriched our children in academics, sports, community, spiritually, and much more. We as parents are very involved in fundraising events, because we love Good Shepherd Elementary. Our children are very very happy at their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

My daughter has attended Good Shepeherd school for 3 years. Unfortunately due to our move we have to swith school. Good Shepeherd is a very good school with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is a pretty diverse crowd which to me is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

Quality of academic programs is oustanding - instructors and staff are very committed though response to issues with poor performing instructors were damaging to morale Availability of extracurricular activities were great Level of parent involvement is phenomenal but a lot of pressure on working parents to participate in fundraising - money, money, money, on top of tuition - too much to keep up with or live up to realistically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My daughter just started kindergarten and loves it. I volunteer 2 hours/week and get a first hand view of what goes on. We've been very pleased with the academics as well as the religious education. We would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

My children attend Good Shepherd. I am very pleased with the academic program. There is a great deal of parent involvement. The parents at this school help to make this such a great community for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

I went to Good Shepherd for middle school. I was ahead of my class when I transferred to a public high school. Good Shepherd definetly put me ahead of the rest.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

Good Shepherd School is more of a community than a educational building. The teachers are extremely qualified and very interested in giving each child the type of education they deserve. As an alumni of the school, I can say that I learned some of my most basic and necessary skills from Good Shepherd. The faculty works closely with parents and other parishers to make Good Shepherd the school it is today.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2005

A great learning environment with teachers who care. A bit too much on the community and event donations, but children are happy, safe and getting top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Two or more races 28%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 11%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

909 Oceana Boulevard
Pacifica, CA 94044
Phone: (650) 359-4544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT