Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montague Charter Academy

Charter | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pacoima

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

Montague Charter Academy is a great school. Teachers are very dedicated and our new director has high standards for her students and staff. They really improved communication with parents and became more organized last year. My child is in 4th grade this year. She loves coming to school. We are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

Montague Charter Academy of the Arts and Sciences is an exemplary school. Montague teachers go above and beyond for their students. Some teachers offer after school tutoring and free tutoring on Saturdays. My daughter is in first grade this year, and I couldn't have asked for a more dedicated and passionate teacher. Mrs. P transformed my daughter from a student that disliked school and did not know how to read, to a young lady that knows how to read fluently and write a complete, detailed paragraph. The greatest thing about a Charter School is that young and innovated teachers like her are given a chance, as opposed to the district that lays off the teachers who have the desire to teach. I have created a bond with the Montague family; one that I could never had made in another school. However, the current person in charge is young and has a lot to learn. Regardless of the lack of confidence I have in regards to the director, I have full confidence this school will continue to succeed beyond my wildest dreams due to the fabulous staff it houses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Of course we all have different experiences and points of view. When my daughter was in kindergarten her teacher had a kid with some kind of problem and i felt like all of the teachers attention was taken by this little boy, who would throw tantrums and throw his desk and throw toys during class time. This was dangerous for all the other kids and teachers included, yet he was never put in a seperate class. This same teacher took my child, whom she had said was behind, out of intercession because she said that my daughter would not benefit from it because she was a kid that could not stay still. My child repeated kindergarten and that second teacher was great, he actually tried to help my kid, he sent her to saturday school something the other teacher never even talked to me about. Now my daughter is in 1st grade and her class is full of over active kids, like her.I would like to know whose idea this was. When I spoke to the new principal and vice-principal about it they said that it was not reason enough to change her class. Well apparently it was reason enough to get my daughter out of intercession, which she really did need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

API scores went up again! (800 API) . The numbers speak for themselves. This school is doing something right. More Parents should show up to parent meetings and school functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I am very proud to be a MCA parent. The school has excellent 5th grade teachers who really care about their student's academic success. This year was a great year for my child here at Montague, I'm sure next year will also be a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My child is a first grader at Montague Charter Academy and he has excelled beyond my wildest dreams with his teacher. She is an amazing person and I feel that she pulled my child out of the hole that he was in from his kindergarten teacher from a different school that he was going to last year. She knows EXACTLY how to deal with him and what he needs. She has opened him up to all things creative and encourages him to be a better student and person. I truly wish that she could be his teacher EVERY year! Montague is blessed to have this teacher on staff, but I know that he will get a great teacher next year as well! They are all wonderful teachers here at MCA and they completely care about the kids that go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

I have been a kindergarten teacher for 6 years at Montague Charter Academy. I am also a parent. I feel that it says a lot about a school when it's teachers entrust their child's education to their colleagues. Both of my children have and currently receive a strong standard based curriculum. The teachers are caring, and go above and beyond their paid hours to create a positive learning environment that fosters independence and self-esteem. There are no schools like this one. Parents are welcome on campus and are encouraged to join a council and participate in their child's education. After reading the comments below....There will always be someone that is upset about their individual circumstances. Overall, as a parent I am very happy with the educational opportunities that my children have here. Music, computers, art are classes available to all students. Our class sizes are lower than any LAUSD school. There are many extra supports available to struggling students as well. Montague's Kindergarden is like no other. Our parents work daily with their child for 1 hour each morning during the Doing words program. It's amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

great school, excellent teachers, I like their staff their are nicely a polite, this school is focus on the challenging of ours kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I agree with the concerns that parents have. As a parent I have only have had bad experiences at Montague Charter academy. The principals feel that just because they run a chater school it gives them the power to do whatever they want to do and not follow school guidelines. It's time to look for a different school. I would not recommend Montague!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

I am incredibly proud to be a teacher at Montague. The teachers work together and collaborate often, continuing to strive for the best teaching practices. We have helpful, caring families, and parents volunteer and are active participants on governing councils. Our acting executive director is capable, dependable, and actually went to Montague as a child. We celebrate the arts, and have an outstanding music and visual arts program; this is very rare in other schools. Theatre productions are a way for children to express themselves through the arts. We have a computer lab and full time technology instructor. We have a state of the art physical education program, with trained staff who deliver a quality program to students. Our Gifted and Talented program ensures a rigorous academic program. The teachers, faculty, students, and parents built and made Montague a success. I am excited to continue creating a school based on excellence!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2010

I like the school overall but we have to improve how teachers handle our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

As a parent at Montague, I feel welcome into my child's classroom anytime. There are many schools that do not allow parents on to the campus. I feel fortunate that I can walk my kids to their classrooms and talk with their teachers anytime I want to. The teachers work with parents to help the children achieve to their greatest ability. I am aware of the change in leadership at Montague, but as far as the children go, they have not been phased by it. Their day has not been affected at all. I am very glad that my kids are having their elementary school experience at Montague. They getting a solid foundation that will prepare them for all of the education in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Montague Charter Academy is a great school! The teachers are caring and have high standards for all their students. This school has many programs that others schools do not have. Kindergarten has a program called 'Donig Words'in which parents are involved in the first hour of school helping their child one on one. Montague also has a great arts department having music, computer, and art teachers. The staff is caring and the school does have a nurse 2-3 times a week. The staff is very dedicated and all teachers have assistants to help students who need more attention. The API grew many points last year and this school is in no danger of having low scores. The letters from the office are very helpful. The previous principal is no longer there but the school seems to run better without her. Montague truly wants every student succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I am a Parent who is very sad about everything that is going on right now in Montague,we have no Principle. no one seems to hear the parents voice, the collaborative board is failing our children our community.What happen to our children?Focus on the education of our childrens future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I am proud to be a teacher at this school! I truly feel that the whole staff cares about the well-being of the students--Administration, teachers, teacher assistants, classified, cafeteria, and custodial. Every single person on this campus attributes to the success of the students! This is proven by our meeting our AYP and API. This school is an amazing place to work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Montague Charter Academy is a LAUSD sponsored independent charter school. It has been a charter school since 1996! Since then, Montague has earned the California Distinguish Award, has met its AYP and API for all years in existence, except one year. It has a score of 791 with a 800 being the goal. It is a collaborative school where all stakeholders are valued and everyone has a voice. My son went to Montague even though I could afford a private school because its academic program is solid and standards based.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have been a teacher at Montague Charter Academy for over ten years, and I am excited to be a part of a school based on excellence. I enjoy working with my students, their families, and the school community. The arts are very important here at Montague, and children get the opportunity to learn about fascinating topics through dance, music, acting, and fine art. This school is top notch, and I am proud to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2008

Beware! Would not recommend.Administration does not listen. Teachers are okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Bad school, staff members and administration do not care. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My godkids went here and now my son is here, just finishing up kindergarten. I have found the teachers as well as other staff members to be so incredibly helpful and caring. Mr. Nelson in particular, is a wonderful teacher. He truly cares about the kids, and pushes them to do their best in everything they do. Moreover, he strongly encourages parental involvement. The class as a whole has made such great progress much in part, to his teaching style.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

792

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

792

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females51%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students44%
Females47%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Females38%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students71%
Females72%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate70%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females64%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students70%
Females71%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females60%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%

Math

All Students66%
Females65%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%

Science

All Students68%
Females66%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 96% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 50%N/A48%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A55%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 767 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
74%
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
85%
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents33835%
Students42979%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ariana Goldring-Ravin
Fax number
  • (818) 834-9782

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13000 Montague Street
Pacoima, CA 91331
Phone: (818) 899-0215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Branford Grove
Los Angeles, CA





Branford Grove
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT