Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pacoima Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1836 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pacoima

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2011

This school is a great school if you are a part of the Magnet program. Otherwise, students are not treaed well at all. Those who are not a part of the magnet program are treated as second class citizens while those that are in the program are provided with dance, drama and film courses. The system the school implements seems unjust.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

This is a great, wonderful, amazing & educated school I ever been..I think the teachers are great the principle is awesome. And I just say that it has great activities that I ever seen before . So if I were you just attend Pacoima Middle School if you want too!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

the teachers are so fantastic!!!!! you should enroll your kid their its awesome everyonone takes care of kids and they help them suceed! good job!!!!!@ montague eexxccccelent!!!!!!!!!! #1 best school!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

i had the best time in pacioma my life seemed better after i went to pacioma sur i miss it becasue it was a great school but i don't know why people think it's bad when really its really great i had a great 8th grade year i especialy love the magnet program they provided
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

Well that lady at the bottom is rong because any child would get crazy in any school. This school Pacoima Middle School is a great school. Im a student there.What I could say is that Im really suprise how strict this school is cause of the deans and the new princibal . Every one should trust this school. Trust it and its nice. So far Im getting straight A's by the teaching of some of the new teachers. And inpressed me how magnet is cause u get in to drama classes and other kinds of stuff!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

My daughter has been in the Performing Arts Magnet for 3 years. I had my misgivings because of the location of the school, but many people I knew recommended this school as opposed to Mount Gleason (my neighborhood school). It was the best move we made. My daughter objected at first ('I want to go with my friends!'), but I told her to try it and could transfer if she didn't like it. She is so happy we encouraged her to go to Pacoima. The neighborhood is what it is; it is low income, but it is mostly single family homes. The school itself is on a cul-de-sac and has been no problem for us. She is part of Musical Theater and loves it. All the magnet classes are GREAT and you will be impressed. We have enjoyed our experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I am now in high school and can say I really learned a lot from Pacoima. I was not apart of the resident program but was in the Performing Arts Magnet and the Musical Theater Program really changed my life. I would absolutely recommend it, even if it's not in the best neighborhood because you really become a family in that magnet!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

i am a graduating student from p.m.s. my experiences at Pacoima were very interesting. it was kind of difficult for me to grasp a subject because i have adhd. the teachers there were so amazing and nice. they helped me with certain things i didn't quite understand and i improved tremendously! i was also in the performing arts magnet. you see i have always loved to sing! so i was in musical theater. i had tons of fun learning the dances and the songs. i did however have slight problems with some students and the teacher. but my experience overall was great! i will miss the school very much and for the parents there is something called p.t.a. (parent teacher association) this is for all you parents that want to be involved. trust me parents you and your child will love this school and have a blast with it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2006

I am a parent there and had my daughter in that school. I honestly didn't like that school at all. There is also no parent involment in that school. The dean is totally not strict. The people there look like they don't even are about the kids. I just ended up moving her to portola middle school. I even had to move from my house. I rather have a crazy day moving than have a crazy daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Im not a parent im a student there im going to seventh grade and i love it there its the best!I know people say its not a good school!But it is its the best!I never want to move from there that is until i go to high school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2006

This is a wonderful school for students with the confidence and self discipline to make friends and achieve. I have been a parent in the Performing Arts Magnet for the past two years and my child has loved the experience. She has been achieving straight A's and feels good about her teachers and classes. I hope that her test scores will reveal that the level of education she is receiving is as good as her grades indicate. I think that many of the teachers are highly dedicated, although there are some who lack good communication and organizational skills, which can be frustrating. The written communications from the school are nonexistent, the phone messages regarding minimum days are helpful, but in general the school lacks an overall focus and way to share one,( if it exists.) It is left up to the parents and individual student to ensure a successful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I had my doubts about sending my kids to this school. But I am glad that I did, the Magnet office treats the kids with great respect. They have programs to help kids to keep them on the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2006

Quality of academic programs and parent involvement is below par. This is the second go around for pacoima to be a program improvement school. Parent consultation relative to budget matters and single plan does not exist. Staff is allowed too much to dictate what is needed to improve the school rather than involving all stakeholders. Even the maganet program lacks due to the courses not being geared for college prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

The quality of the staff at this school is excellent. I have had children at six LAUSD schools and this one rates highly. The Theatre, Fine Arts Magnet is exceptional with very dedicated teachers, and some highly talented youngsters who attend this school. I only wish there were more parents envolved in the activities, but with time maybe that will grow also.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2004

I feel that the Performing Arts Magnet at this school is great, although not every child in the magnet is able to get into the production class they want in 7th grade. My daughter became discouraged as a result of this happening, but tried to make the best of her remaining years at the school. The students have wonderful opportunities to learn things they would not be able to learn otherwise at other middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

733

Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

733

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
84%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
42%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
15%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females48%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state39%

Math

All Students45%
Females46%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
Females58%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females41%
Males31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate28%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%

Math

All Students23%
Females23%
Males22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner1%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduate13%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students46%
Females46%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state48%

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females44%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students4%
Females2%
Males5%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino4%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability2%
Students with no reported disability6%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only6%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate6%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)17%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Females87%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate88%
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students45%
Females42%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Science

All Students60%
Females58%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 52%
White 3% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1812 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
64%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
67%
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
57%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 

Students

This school

 
45%
 

Employees

This school

 
61%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
59%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
62%
 

Employees

This school

 
56%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
56%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
56%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27729%
Students141392%
Employees12285%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Marsha Hamm
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (818) 834-2021

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Parent center
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9919 Laurel Canyon Boulevard
Pacoima, CA 91331
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 686-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Branford Grove
Los Angeles, CA


Branford Grove
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT