Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Palm Desert, CA
Students enrolled: 122
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Small class sizes, wonderful teachers, and a proactive administration provide a great education for our child. The best in the valley by far!

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
New Head of School is rock solid with an outstanding resume in education. She has really made a positive impact on this school. Friendly and easy to deal with if a parent has ANY concerns. School secretary also very personable. Great teachers are the backbone of this small school. Yes, it is small, but I'll take individualized instruction by teachers who really care about a child improving versus a class size of 17-32 students like other area schools.


The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Best school in the desert hands down. We love this school! My daughter started at the PDCPC Primary School 3 years ago and is now in Kindergarten at The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church. In Kindergarten, every student in my daughter's class learned all the states and capitals. We are enrolled for 1st grade. Her reading level and math level are a year ahead of other local schools. We love the character and faith based teaching and that children from other religions attend as well. The staff and teachers are top notch. I love the emphasis on art, music etc. Children of all levels thrive. The after school activities such as pottery, cooking, etc you can't get anywhere else. We are crossing our fingers that 8th grade will be added in a year so we know where our daughter will be attending for the next 8 years. The best part is that The Academy is a very humble, welcoming, encouraging environment. Meet any of the students and you'll see what I'm talking about.

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
The Academy is an incredible school. The teachers are beyond dedicated to our children and we can't say enough about what a great school it is. Only recently, 18 of our students won awards in the Palm Desert Art and Essay Contest. The Academy won a third of the 55 awards given at our grade levels and this was in competition with some very good students at some very good schools!!! We were all very proud, however it wasn't at all surprising. The Academy teachers are uniquely able to consider each child's level and gifts, and with our small class sizes, are able to tailor their education accordingly. What more can a parent ask for? If you are looking for a wonderful place for your children you need to check out the Academy. You won't be disappointed and it might be the best thing you have ever done for your child or (children). Also, recently the Church announced that they were going ahead with 7th grade. So now we have Preschool - 7th grade! Many thanks go to the Presbyterian Church and their parishioners for believing in the Academy and for putting their love and support behind it. Our children are thriving at the Academy~!

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
The Academy is hands down the best in the Valley! No comparison the level of achievement my child has accomplished. To see the level of respect my child has for the teachers and how eager my child is to be there every day! truly shows the commitment the teachers have on their students. The small class size and the attention to every detail growing little minds need is met at this great school! I can't think of any other school claiming the same.


The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
This is the greatest school in the valley. The most amazing and caring teachers, it really shows through in the kids. You won't find the small class sizes and great academic programs anywhere else in town.

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
The Academy is without question a model school in our community for several key reasons: 1) Small class sizes, 2) teachers that really enjoy what they do and convey a passion for learning that is infectious, and 3) wonderful families who are actively involved in their children s education. All of these remarkable characteristics, in combination with a faith-based curriculum are a recipe for success. Additionally, the tuition is comparable to other faith-based institutions in the area that have significantly larger student-faculty ratios. We cannot recommend The Academy more highly!

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Love the class sizes - What a difference that makes. My 2nd grader is reading above 5th grade level. We could not have made a better choice. All Smiles.


The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
The Academy is the "whole" package! The Headmaster, faculty and staff provide an environment where the children are enthusiastic to learn and know they are being cared for. The added benefit of a stellar curriculum is just the icing on the cake for us. The students are respectful because they are treated with respect. Yesterday's Academy Sunday at the church reminded me just how lucky we are to have found such a jewel.

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
We recently moved to the desert and chose to enroll our daughter at the Academy. Having come from another faith based private school, I can confidently say the Academy is AMAZING!!! The teachers are wonderful and care personally for each child. The curriculum is well rounded offering enrichment study in the arts, character development and Christian education. Small class sizes enable teachers the opportunity to focus on each child as an individual, pushing them to a higher standard or giving a little extra help where they may be struggling. The headmaster is very involved and leads a well run school. Overall, The Academy's small family like environment encourages a love for learning and builds deep rooted confidence. PRICELESS!!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church
47321 US Highway 74, Palm Desert, CA  92260
(760) 346-8195
Last modified The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Academy of Palm Desert Community Presbyterian Church Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top