Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart School

Private | K-8 | 531 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Palm Desert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $211,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

Speaking to the recent reviewer: The school has a waiting list, spots fill quickly. You should apply at the first of the year. If you felt your application wasn't given much attention in APRIL, it's because you missed the bus. To even suggest the office was profiling you based on financial status (or ethnicity!!) is not only deeply insulting but simply outrageous. I am a parent (of lower socio-economic status if you want to go there) of children who attend this school, am Hispanic, and have never seen nor experienced what you describe. So sorry you had that impression but it's just untrue, and your rating is completely unfair because it is based on a first impression and not because your child actually attended! This school, in my earnest opinion, is the very best the desert has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

I wish I could give this school a 5 star rating. So many of my friends' children attend this school (families who happen to be MAJOR BENEFACTORS) to Sacred Heart and Xavier Prep. However I was so turned off by the way I was treated in the front office when I turned in my child's application, It clearly was a case of the administrative staff stereotyping my ability to pay no knowing anything of my financial situation. I have had friends have the same experience at Xavier Prep, where they are told there's no reason to apply since financial aid is already closed. The administrative office personnel look at the physical appearance of a person (ethnicity, whatever) and make a determination on the spot as to ability to pay. In neither case did I or any of the other parents I know who've had similar experiences have any problems with paying the full tuition and additional as potential benefactors. It's such a shame. For a school with a good reputation to lose potential donations and good families because of stereotyping. Deeply saddened, and hoping both schools will reconsider thier approach to receiving guests in their front offices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

We are new to the school this year and came hear from another private school. We can't say enough good things about this school and the administration, the principal(s) are very involved, engaged and the faculty is wonderful. Our children are thriving and being academically challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

My children have been attending Sacred Heart for 4 years and I love the school. I love that my children talk about being kind to others and that we are all children of God. This school teaches important values that will make them great human beings. The staff and teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My kids attended Sacred Heart for 8 years...... This school has grown tremendously since we started there. The commitment and devotion from the teachers and administration has not changed. What has changed, unfortunately, is that the school has grown so much, it is no longer that small little tight knit school we once enjoyed. As the economy has changed,the school has inherited the thousand dollar millionaire high maintenance kids and parents from the more expensive schools in the area........This has definitely changed the dynamics of the school. Still love the pastor (most of those high maintenance families are not church goers.....), love the principal and administration, and the teachers. Don't like the people who have invaded the school. By the way, my kids were well beyond prepared for high school, all their books were current, and the devotion and love from Sacred Heart is unmatchable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

Sacred Heart is the lowest tuition for a private school in the valley. You get what you pay for...teachers come and go and less qualified than most public school teachers. Our oldest son attended 9 years but we found they had not prepared them for the transition to public high school. Administration is weak and goes to the diocese head office for directives. Pastor goes to a shrink. Bullying has been a huge problem from both boys and girls. I will apologize to both my kids for having put them through what I thought was the best school for them and regret doing so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

This school has been incredible, from the teachers to the families, we have loved every minute. While we are a Pre-K family not qualified to speak to the academic growth offered in the later grades, this first year has been a fabulous experience. From the director to our team teachers, our son thrived and learned every single day. The staff showed tremendous compassion and ability to integrate our son with a medical condition into the school family. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My granddaughter has been a student for three years. In 2007, the school won the national Blue Ribbon award as a consequence of student performance and academic standards placing it in the top 10%. The teachers are great and there is the strong commitment to community usually expected in a private school. While this school has had some admin challenges, it has been flexible enough to try to rise to meet them. By far, this school provides the best education and mentorship to teach students accountability in the desert. We are fortunate that my grand can attend.


Posted January 10, 2008

The elementary school is satisfactory but the curriculum is out-dated. Some textbooks are over a decade old. The middle school is defininitely behind the other schools in the area academically. The leadership has not been effective. Faculty turnover has been a problem for over 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

Sacred Heart is a very tight-knit environment where most students do very well. However, student success is mainly due to parents being extremely involved with the school and with their children's learning. A high level of parent involvement at a private school is a given, but the level of involvement by parents at Sacred Heart is very high. The overall quality of teaching is fair to good. Normal daily teaching strategies are very traditional. Unfortunately, the school has had difficulty attracting and keeping highly skilled teachers. The leadership of the current principal is weak- which may have something to do with teacher quality and job satisfaction. Some office staff are helpful; however, certainly not all of them. The assistant principal is wonderful. Also, Father Lincoln is a tremendous presence at Sacred Heart School and is truly the 'Heart' of the school. The good about Sacred Heart far outweighs the bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

Sacred Heart has good intentions. Father Lincoln is a wonderful and intelligent man. He ultimately is the head of the church and school. The problems at SHS are always thought of as 'growing pains' and never fully addressed. They have a hard time keeping teachers, so turnover is great and disruptive. The communication is lacking at best. There are many, very competitive parents who try to constantly 'one up' each other, and tend to behave badly in their after school life. Good intentions are commendable but only for so long. Its time for Sacred Heart to step up to the plate and stop playing school and become a good, well managed school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Great school, clean, in nice area
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2003

Class sizes are too large. The administration and teachers are far above average. Parent involvement is equal to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

A fabulous school community with a commitment to a higher level of academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

The facilities, staff and everything about the school is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Alan Bruzzio
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43775 Deep Canyon Road
Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone: (760) 346-3513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Desert Adventist Academy
Palm Desert, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT