Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of The Valley

Private | K-4 | 13 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Palm Desert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2012

This is the best school my children have ever attended. The teachers spend a lot of one-on-one time with the students. The classroom is small and initmate. Unfortunately, my boys only attended the school for one year becaused we had to move, but they had already started with phonics/reading and basic arithmetic. WOW! Great parent involvement. They stay true to the Montessori teaching method. They teach theatre, dance, art class, Spanish and gymnastics. The school is big on manners, politeness, etiquette and respect. They do the pledge of allegiance and pray before snack an lunch! Please do your research on Montessori schools before considering bringing your children here. There is no homework given out. They don't give the kids a lot of time to play outside, but enough to stretch out for at least 15-20 mins. a day. They nap 1 1/2 hrs to classical music. Independent learning at your child's pace which encourages learning and confidence. Emphasis in learning. My kids always came home smelling like perfume. Glad they were being loved & hugged! Founders of Google, Wikipedia & Amazon all attended Montessori schools to name a few, you can't go wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Both my children have been attending Montessori School of the Valley for a few years now. We are very pleased with the curriculum, the methods, how children learn to work in teams as well as solo, how they have progressed in such engaging environment. We would absolutely recommend Montessori School of the Valley to any parent that is looking to not only send their kids to a private school, but to a school that has been around for so many years with amazing results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

My children have been going there for years now...I love the school. They are very bright, very motivated and independent. They love to be social with children and peers and are not afraid of a challenge. Their test scores are amazing and they love to be at school around their wonderful teachers and friends. You should definitely give this Montessori school a chance and let your children tell you how much they love the school. Especially their enrichment program...Spanish, Music, Dance, Tennis, Gymnastics, Art and Theater!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

I started with just one child going to the preschool and later moved my older children to the elementary school. I can not say enough on how superior this school is when we compare it to whats available. My children are not just learning how to do well in math and language, but in every subject. The teachers are dedicated to working with each student on their social skills, etiquette, and life skills that are so overlooked by majority of the other schools. They have a real sense of belonging and a place that they are needed, loved, and appreciated. I thought my kids would be real upset about moving to a new school toward the end of a school year, but they rave about how much they enjoy going. I wouldn't send my children to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Both of my children currently go to the Montessori school of the valley. I have to say that not onl do they Love the school but I have a 2 year old that is sounding out words. It is an amazing school, with amazing teachers. I Love the school, the teachers, the way they educate, as well as the parents and other students. I would highly recommend sending your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Greatest preschool in the valley and on into elementary as well. Great art, music and dance for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My daughter went to preschool at this school and is currently going to kindergarten there. The school is great! The small class sizes are great. They have excellant teachers and an excellant teaching philosophy. I am so pleased with what my daughter has learned and how quickly she is picking things up. Plus interacting with all the other children. I wouldn't have her any where else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

All three of my children have gone to Montesorri School of the Valley in Palm Desert. They all received excellent teaching and the teachers were excellent. Because of the foundation they received, they are now independent learners and excel in all subject. Plus, they love to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 85%
American Indian/Alaska Native 15%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elaine Maloney
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43-250 Warner Trail
Palm Desert, CA 92211
Phone: (760) 345-1888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Valley Christian Academy
Palm Desert, CA


Valley Christian Academy
Palm Desert, CA




Horizon School
La Quinta, CA


Desert Christian Academy
Bermuda Dunes, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT