Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cielo Vista Charter School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Cara Vandijk goes above and beyond at Cielo Vista. You know that she really cares too. I've seen a teary eye at an awards assembly or two. Such amazing participation. By a parent is seeing that ALL students are benefited!

Cielo Vista Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Cielo Vista are encouraged to go above and beyond. They work hard and collaborate with one another. Their effectiveness is measured by their willingness to change gears of the need arises.


Cielo Vista Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Its core to the mission statement. The kids are constantly reminded about being compassionate. Apathy on the playground is apparent too.

Cielo Vista Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
It's the core principle they teach every day. The kids are constantly reminded of he principles.

Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Cielo Vista goes above and beyond... That's it. Parents go out of their way to make the school successful at home and on campus. Teachers aspire to be better educators. The kids work hard and are constantly challenged. Test scores affirm all of this. I'm so greatful to have Cielo Vista in our lives


Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
Truly the top school in the PSUSD area. Cannot be more impressed with the teachers and their level of commitment to their students and their learning. They go above and beyond. School got the highest test scores for 2013 in PSUSD. Technology is impressed to all students, they have music and band services to students, and their level of parent commitment is profound. So happy they currently are up to 6th grade, and our hope is that one day they will be 7th and 8th so we don't have to move to a middle school. The principal and vice principal are open, innovative, and support all their staff well, which creates a very positive environment. Thank you Cielo Vista Charter for your amazing standards for our children

Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
In life I feel it is one of the best decisions made and mainly for the development of my daughter, the director that the head of the campus and there all his team have a very important purpose, to train children with character and hence is derived all the system of education. my daughter from kindergarten does not have a day of school she wants to stop going. That says to me that she is in good hands and forming a "EXCEPTIONAL" educational future as they learn and I learn from her mother. I thank God for being people like you who love their work. I am very proud that my daughter belongs to the class of Mrs. Jarecki, is an excellent teacher and his vocation for teaching person is unique. Thanks for all Principal and Staff

Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
I have a 3rd and 5th grader at the school, this is our first year at Cielo VIsta. I was working for the district when I first heard about this school. I didn't think there would be a difference. Well, I was so wrong, I can honestly say that all the teachers are great. I have always been weary about my children getting a random teacher, so I have always requested the teachers I have wanted. This is not a problem here. Everyone is always so friendly, and the parents are encouraged to be there. Everyone is so involved. The PTG is wonderful and their doors are always open to parents who want to help, or just to sit and listen to what's going on. I am so glad my boys got into this school. They are really happy there too!!


Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
Principal, staff, and teachers are involved in the learning of each student -- they've created a "family" at CVC. We love it!

Cielo Vista Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
I am a new parent to the public school system, so I had some reservations. I am so impressed with the school, and it's progressive learning. Teachers work as a collaborative team, and through the continuous support of the principal are encouraged to teach to their strengths. I learned charters can allocate funds to meet their needs, such as aides in 1st grade, full time PE/Nutrition and music teacher. The charter has an innovative learn by doing approach and project based learning. The school has a 24/7 laptop program for upper grades taught through macs and ipads! Kindergarten is full day. Charter has added another 40 mins to their school day for "eagle hour" where emphasis is placed on students academic needs. They work on building character through academics and community service programs! I love the emphasis on citizenship and helping others in the community. There is strong parent involvement. I realized it's not all about test scores. High performing teachers, technology, teaching methods that think outside the box, community service and emphasizing character can outweigh gov test scores! We are in our 2nd year and are beyond impressed! Excited for the years to come

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cielo Vista Charter School
650 South Paseo Dorotea, Palm Springs, CA  92264-1406
(760) 416-8250
Last modified Cielo Vista Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cielo Vista Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top