Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Juniper Intermediate School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

My son went to juniper and now my daughter is attending this school,I think the teachers are good their,but the rules they have like the dress code I don't like that I think the teachers and specialy the principal and staff should teach the students how to dress by giving the example! If they don't show them good dress code then how can they be so strik to our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My family and I have just moved to Palmdale. I have read all the past reviews to date and I did not want my child to go to this school. This school has changed from years past. The new staff and principal are great and the student discipline is outstanding. A ZERO tolerance level for fighting. I love it. The teacher need loving and understanding parenting to help them be great for our kids. Don't get played by your child. Check the child not the teacher. It take a village to raise a child, please don't let your child miss out on all the great things in life, just because he or she wants it their way (child), the teach can't always be in wrong. Let us as parents support the teachers and help make teaching easy and a blessing. Our children will benefit in the end. Lets be real, the kids make it hard for the teachers, and in turn the teacher seem to be a mean in reflection, when in fact it was the lack of respect from the child that made things seem bad when its not. So if your child is doing all the right things to succeed and respecting others an self, then this school can and will be great. If the school need my support as a parent, I will be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

TEACHERS ARE GREAT. BUT THE ADMINISTRATION IS SO UNPROFESSIONAL , CHARGE ME ABSENCES AND MISSING BOOKS . THE PROOF IS THE JUDGE DROP THE TRUANCY CHARGES AND THE BOOK WERE RETURNED BUT REGISTER UNDER ANOTHER NAME. HEY , HELLOOOO ...I CAN HELP IF YOU WANT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

im an 8th grader at juniper and i dont like it , the teachers cuss at me like im not a student . i will not be at juniper no more . because how the teachers are ...


Posted April 22, 2010

this achool is wonderful i love it and so does my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

I am an 8th grader at Juniper and I have to say that it is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and students. Parents avoid Juniper because of all the silly rumors, yes sometimes there is a fight...But what can you expect? Teachers encourage the students to do our best and make learning fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

I am a student in 8th grade, I am in Leadership and I have been apart of changing the way people see Juniper because it has incredibly changed for the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

I am a parent...my two sons have attended this school my oldest son did very well at juniper my youngest also does very well (still attending). I think some parents that have bad experinces are always looking for something or someone to blame for thier childs doing. Juniper School has great teachers... what school anywhere is perfect for those of you looking hope you find it, or maybe it's your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Our family has had nothing but a positive experience with juniper. The teachers we have come into contact with care for their students. Some wonderful teachers we have had are Kastner, Gordon, Henry, Shiar, Glover, Setzler, and wonderful Mr. Martin who teaches leadership and very devoted to his students. I would recommend juniper school to new students they do have after school programs also for your child to take part in. Get involved and I think you will be happily surprised with what you find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I go to Juniper and it is a pretty good school. A lot of parents don't want their children going there because they hear rumors about it such as fights every day and mean teachers. I am a student so I would know more about this school then some parents do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

This school is horrible. The teachers and the vice principle are intimidating unfriendly. I am new to this town and my child attends and the teachers are so aggressive she is afraid to attend the school. I would not recommend this school to anyone I am looking for a new school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I think some of the teachers have a good heart and really care for our well being. Other teachers I feel are just there for the money. Dress code is enforced strictly and I feel they dont listen to the needs of the students. But other than that it is really a great school. I love being there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

I go to this school.Some teachers do ignore the students/parents request.While other do try to do their best at teaching students and fulfilling needs.The Physical Education is very good.The Music, Art, and Theatre teachers are very nice and many students would enjoy being in one.But a couple of reuglar teachers, Social Studies, Math, etc., can do way better.This is an alright school to send your child to.As long as they don't cause trouble.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

This is a decent school. It has gotten a bad rap in years past. I have had 2 of my 4 children go through this school and they are now successful, professional adults. You get out of life what you put into it. Juniper and it's staff are definitely on the right track!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

I have never even heard of a school this terrible. Communication with the teachers is difficult at best, and they don't teach. There are no extracurricular activities. There is no safety or discipline. If you can send your children elsewhere, do it. That's what I'm in the process of doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

This school is absolutely non fit. Better preferable schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

Has a great music program as well as a musica appreciation class for those no interested yet in instrument playing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2006

just moved to palmdale, went to ptc and the teachers seem to be very dedicated to the students. from what i can tell, the school has an excellent ela program where the workbooks have extra support in them tho help the student comprehend what he or she is actually readin. time will tell if i continue to like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

Horrible... hate this school. My son will not attend. Teaching is a joke here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

I have been very disapointed with this school there is no supervision, no dress code enforced, no disapline what so ever. the teachers and staff ignore every request and are very unhealpful if your looking for a great school for your great kid do not go here it will not help them but in fact hurt them
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

654

Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

654

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
11%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
34%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Females37%
Males22%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%

Math

All Students31%
Females31%
Males31%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate27%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students4%
Females6%
Males2%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino4%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)8%
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability4%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only4%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented42%
Parent education - not a high school graduate3%
Parent education - high school graduate4%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)4%
Parent education - college graduate0%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state9%

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females36%
Males22%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only32%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate40%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state22%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students29%
Females31%
Males27%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%

Science

All Students39%
Females39%
Males38%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 72%
Black 16%
White 6%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
English language learners 26%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donna Campbell
Fax number
  • (661) 947-1874

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

39066 Palm Tree Way
Palmdale, CA 93551
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 947-0181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dos Caminos
Palmdale, CA




Covenant Christian
Palmdale, CA


Westside Christian
Palmdale, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT