Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ocotillo Elementary School 2

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My child's first year here and its been horrible. The new principal just doesn't care about any problems going on there. Yeah he stands in the front of the School saying hello and good bye to kids and families like he cares but he doesn't. As long as he gets his pay check he don't care about anything. And the palmdale school district, I called to complain and not one person called me back. Worst school district. I may live in palmdale but new school year my child will be going back to LAUSD.

Ocotillo Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
ms wanda the custodial lady shes GREAT and Amazing , caring, honest, loving, respectful , every school should have one of her.


Ocotillo Elementary School 2

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
the staff is not friendly , the new principal has a i dont care as long as i get paid attitude. the bullying is so outrages its sad. and the fake nurse talk to the kids like there feelings dont matter. some staff are great and will smile and speak but the new staff is just disrespectful

Ocotillo Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers work toward developing students to function in society as productive members. Responsibility and honesty are consistently encouraged along with respect and fairness.

Ocotillo Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers really care and want students to do their best. Too bad the principal that came after Mrs. Cooksey did not know what he was doing and did not display leadership.


Ocotillo Elementary School 2

Posted March 07, 2013
- a community member
This school has gone down since my oldest daughter went there, I can't believe the conduct of some of the teachers at this school, This school was once one that cared for the students and watch for their safety. What has happen to this school?

Ocotillo Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a parent
As a parent who comes from a school that was lacking to say the least I love this school. My daughter has an awesome teacher and the principal and vice seem very involved and caring. They stand outside before and after school, which is nice so that parents can easily approach them if we have a need. Overall this is a wonderful school.

Ocotillo Elementary School 3

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
loved this school until this year. New principal, who is making a lot of uneccesary changes that have a lot of parents upset. Quality of teachers and education seems to be declining. Just got a letter stating this school is in the IP (improvment program) according to the state. For the first time in 3 years since my children have been attending Ocotillo, I am very disappointed.


Ocotillo Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
My child started Ocotillo in Kindergarten and now she is moving on to the second grade. All her teachers have been very nice. Ocotillo gives lots of reading assigments which has helped her become a very good reader. I really like that the school introduces the kids to classwork that other local schools do not. The different writing assignments and reading. It is an exceptional school especially for it being public.

Ocotillo Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Ocotillo has an amazing staff of teachers, administrators, and parents!!

Nearby schools

Ocotillo Elementary School
38737 Ocotillo School Drive, Palmdale, CA  93551
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (661) 947-9987
Last modified Ocotillo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top