Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bowman International School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Both of my daughters have been attending Bowman for the past 7 years and we couldn't be happier! Our children love going to school every day! Bowman teaches kids to be curious and love to learn. Every child is valued and is able to learn at their own speed. The teachers are wonderful and the atmosphere at school is very friendly and inclusive. Kids have smiles on their faces. I only wish I attended a school like this when I was a child!

Bowman International School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Just to name a few great things about Bowman - we love the small group instruction, the individualized learning, the daily PE, art, music and theater, yoga, Mandarin and Spanish lessons. The school focuses on teaching the student master the subject. Even though education is not focused on taking tests, Bowman students understands concepts well and manage to score high on tests. So glad we found a Montessori school that fosters our son's curiosity along with giving him a solid foundation in academics!


Bowman International School 5

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Our child was attending a traditional academic preschool when we started our search for a kindergarten and beyond program. We went looking for something different, an environment where our child could come out of their shell and become a confident and expressive young person. We came upon Bowman without any specific expectations as we were not familiar with Montessori. We were quite impressed with our tour, observing how the kids were learning and how the middle school students were active participants. Now 2 years later we are pleased that we chose to enroll our child at Bowman. They offer a very balanced curriculum with a focus on nurturing your child’s independence. In addition to a challenging academic program, children are exposed to theater, music, art, yoga, two languages (Mandarin and Spanish), and daily PE. With multi-age classrooms the younger students benefit from interacting with the older students in the class, and the older students gain confidence in teaching the younger students. Bowman is a year round school, which is great for working parents. You choose when you want to take your child on vacation, since it is a self-paced program. Bowman also has a flexible drop off time from 8am to 9am, which is great if you are commuting from further away. A Montessori education may not be for everyone and can be more difficult to navigate as your child works at their own pace and does not have homework or grades at the lower levels. However, from our experience so far it appears that our child is adjusting well to this style of teaching and education. Finally, the teachers are readily accessible to addressing any concerns and give timely progress reports. Take a tour and experience Bowman for yourself.

Bowman International School 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
This is a school with a very poor headmistress, a very poor curriculum and a very high turn-over rate of students. If you are thinking of going to this school ask any parent who has been at Bowman for a while how many of their friends have left over the years. Then consider how many replacement students they get, but the school still has so few students at the upper years.

Bowman International School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do the best to teach the children the curriculum but the curriculum needs to be a lot better!


Bowman International School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
It depends on who you are referring to when you ask this question. I think the school could be better.

Bowman International School 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
Bowman teaches the way all students are meant to learn! My current 8th grader joined in December of 7th grade and immediately fit right in! The teachers and students were beyond kind and welcoming to him. I love so many things about Bowman ... no homework, no grades, late start time (9am), school day ends at 4pm, small class size, individualized instruction, each student in middle school has a one on one check in teacher (no advisory with 20+ kids), it is also a year around school so when your child misses school - for any reason - there are no nasty e-mails or guilt trips. The teachers and administration at Bowman are good and kind people, they really know my son and they really care. My only disappointment with Bowman is that we didn't know about it when my son was starting Kindergarten and that it doesn't go up to 12th grade! We need more schools like Bowman!

Bowman International School 5

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter loves Bowman! She has made many friends and is very happy. The families are down-to-earth and are committed to their children, but not in a competitive way. The teachers are caring. The Halloween parade is awesome!


Bowman International School 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a teacher
Students thrive here and the environment is positive and welcoming. Bowman has a wonderful community and the administrators care deeply about the children and their unique skill set.

Bowman International School 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
My Child has been at Bowman for two years and has accomplished so many things! One of the most important things to our family is that our child has continued to be and has been supported to be a kind, caring person who cares for others and his environment. The Bowman approach has been very successful for our family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowman International School
4000 Terman Drive, Palo Alto, CA  94306
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (650) 813-9131
Last modified Bowman International School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top