Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Palo Alto, CA
Students enrolled: 250
 

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

28 reviews of this school


Bowman International School 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
Bowman teaches the way all students are meant to learn! My current 8th grader joined in December of 7th grade and immediately fit right in! The teachers and students were beyond kind and welcoming to him. I love so many things about Bowman ... no homework, no grades, late start time (9am), school day ends at 4pm, small class size, individualized instruction, each student in middle school has a one on one check in teacher (no advisory with 20+ kids), it is also a year around school so when your child misses school - for any reason - there are no nasty e-mails or guilt trips. The teachers and administration at Bowman are good and kind people, they really know my son and they really care. My only disappointment with Bowman is that we didn't know about it when my son was starting Kindergarten and that it doesn't go up to 12th grade! We need more schools like Bowman!

Bowman International School 5

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter loves Bowman! She has made many friends and is very happy. The families are down-to-earth and are committed to their children, but not in a competitive way. The teachers are caring. The Halloween parade is awesome!


Bowman International School 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a teacher
Students thrive here and the environment is positive and welcoming. Bowman has a wonderful community and the administrators care deeply about the children and their unique skill set.

Bowman International School 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
My Child has been at Bowman for two years and has accomplished so many things! One of the most important things to our family is that our child has continued to be and has been supported to be a kind, caring person who cares for others and his environment. The Bowman approach has been very successful for our family!

Bowman International School 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
Bowman is an excellent school with incredibly dedicated teachers and staff. The environment fosters a love of learning and independent study. It does require your child to be self motivated as kids are encouraged to pursue their own interests. Some parents are surprised that there is no homework, but you have to factor in that the school is open from 730a to 6p. If kids plan their day right they should be able to get it all done at school.


Bowman International School 2

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
We were thrilled with our child's progress. Teachers are very passionate about their jobs. For some reason, with no explanation, teachers who are amazing at what they do are leaving the school. We were saddened to see an incredible teacher leave and for administration to give lame excuse/explanation of the situation.

Bowman International School 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic School for our gifted child!! We were in the much touted Palo Alto schools which were a nightmare for gifted kids. Bowman has been incredible. Great teachers, responsive administration and nice welcoming families. Finally!! This is what schools should be.

Bowman International School 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
We have two children at this school and are pleased with their progress. Subjects are taught in an integrated and concrete manner that sparks the child's own interest in delving further into the topics at hand. Children "learn how to learn" here, which forms a valuable foundation. The mostly "no homework" structure allows for time for outside interests and family responsibilities. In response to feedback, the school is also doing a better job of educating students in things like test taking skills, which are important in high school. Administration is open to parent feedback, as long as that feedback is based on fact -- share with them the issues and then let the administration and teachers recommend the right course of remediative action. Teachers by and large deeply care for students and often invest their own time for extra-curriculars. Students have the opportunity to explore their own strengths and teachers often use these as ways to springboard weaker areas of interest. Highly recommended.


Bowman International School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
We have been at Bowman for 5 years and have 2 kids there. We are thrilled to have found such a safe, diverse school with fantastic values and innovative approaches to academics. Our kids love to go to school and their stories of their projects and what they are learning each week keep us appreciative and entertained. They love learning and not simply taught to the test. They are also taught to be global citizens and to respect people and their differences.

Bowman International School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
We love Bowman, and it has been great for our family and our children. It is academically amazing and creative while teaching the kids so much more about the world, different cultures, music, art, languages and people. Its focus on the whole child makes a meaningful difference. Bowman kids are mature, responsible as well as academically prepared. They also important to us aren't forced to grow up too quickly. The community is balanced and grounded, we really enjoy the other families but in a low pressure way.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowman International School
4000 Terman Drive, Palo Alto, CA  94306
(650) 813-9131
Last modified Bowman International School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Bowman International School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top