Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Duveneck has been blessed with a great principal. The school has turned over 3 principals due to promotions, relocation, etc. Our latest principal is excellent. My kids are now in 5th grade. I kept waiting for the year they got the awful teacher. Never happened. 10 teachers over the years ranging from very good to extraordinary. Socially it can be challenging. My kids have loved their school and found grounded kids to befriend. We ignore the few bad apples.

Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
Amazing, Amazing, Amazing in every way. Teachers absurdly great, kids smart and beautifully behaved, new principle young, fun and the kids love him. It is also such a caring school, everyone really seems to really know your child and want what's best for them. If I had to say anything negative it would be the office staff lack warmth and smiles...also some of the PTA moms are scary (but that's the same everywhere!) All in all I feel so blessed my kids had the opportunity to come to this school.


Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent at this school and I would just like to express my disagreement on the gross generalization that one of the parent reviewers has posted on Nov 9, 2010. I don't believe any segregation occurs by any ethnic, socio-econo or PTA groups. A school of ~450 kids with ~900 parents would have a natural tendency to form friend circles like any other group of 900 individuals. It is just plain amusing to hear a baseless accusation that a core group of neighborhoods 'control' this school :-) Seriously, is that even possible? This school has the best combination of diversity and academic excellence in bay area with a very high degree of dedicated parent volunteers (my guess would be more than 60% of parents volunteer!) I recommend this parent reviewer to volunteer, get involved and get to know people rather than making assumptions from the sidelines on how the school is being run.

Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
Great school. Have had three kids go through this school. HUge level of parental involvement. Great teachers. A shame they keep switching principals but it doesn't seem to harm the school.

Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
Very good school. Great teachers. School needs updating but this is in the works. Principals seem to come and go but that doesn't seem to affect the quality of the education they give.


Duveneck Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
Good Academic school. However with the adoption of Every Day Math in PAUSD, most parents who care about math send their kids to after school math programs. Very strong parent personalities make this a very clique school. Many PTA members won't even speak to parents they aren't personally friends with. These connected families exclude other parents and their kids from activities and even being in school year book group pictures. Also people self-segregate into ethnic and socio-econo groups as well as the PTA connected families. So while it's a diverse school don't expect that your child will play outside of school with their peers. A core group of neighborhoods control this school and everyone else is on the outside. Long time teachers and parents (who went here as kids) have admitted to me that Duveneck has been this way for years.

Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
Produces happy, well-rounded and well-adjusted kids with high academic standards. One of the best schools in the district and in California, as you can see on this website when you compare. Yet, it doesn't feel like teachers and students are chasing test scores because of the focus on the development of the whole child. Definitely a neighborhood school with a strong community. Most active PTA in the district, with current and past parents on the School Board, and leading the charge for every single school bond measure that allows Palo Alto to maintain its high standards in the face of budget woes throughout the state. High level of parent volunteering, inside and outside the classroom. Diversity & acceptance. Fun activities such as International Potluck, Duveneck Harvest Carnival, Talent Show, and Just Parties. Math Night makes math fun. The Duveneck Book Club teaches core values.

Duveneck Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2008
- a parent
Overall good teachers. Parents are caring, friendly, knowlegeable, modest. I only volunteer in the classroom because PTA has a lot of strong personalities who make it not worthwhile to volunteer.


Duveneck Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
Great school with supportive and dedicated teachers, involving parents. The new principal (2007 fall) listens to parent feedbacks. In the short time she's with the school, we've been very happy with her open-minded style and the way she communicate with parents.

Duveneck Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
Amazing parent support. For my son's first grade class, 18 out of 20 parents volunteered in the classroom on a regular basis! While high academics are stressed (and achieved), it's also a place where children are encouraged to think about personal character and the greater community. A very warm, inclusive and supportive group of parents, teachers and staff make this a great place to learn.

Nearby schools

Duveneck Elementary School
705 Alester Avenue, Palo Alto, CA  94303-2859
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (650) 322-5946
Last modified Duveneck Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top