Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Palo Alto, CA
Students enrolled: 416
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Great school - emphasis is not on group projects - concept is "traditional" classroom, but my child loves her teachers, classmates, and school, as well as the Kids Club afterschool program onsite. Kindergarten was a little bumpy as kids learn how to handle being in the classroom, but later grades and teachers have been better each year. Volunteer commitment is not onerous, and if you can find a time to volunteer during school hours you will learn things about your kid you would never have a chance to see otherwise. There is a drawback in fact that it's not a neighborhood school--school community does not really extend beyond campus, so harder to get to know other parents, harder to schedule playdates, that kind of thing.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Hoover is an amazing school. Strong academics, incredible highly rated teachers, strong, supportive parents involvement. Just a phenomenal school. Every year many families apply to have their children attend Hoover. However, due to the lottery system, only a few children make the cut. We are fortunate that our children attend Hoover, one of the top schools in the state of California. We feel that they will be very prepared for middle school.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Hoover Elementary is a choice school in the district. Meaning, although it is a public school, admittance is by a lottery process. Parents who choose this school tend to want their kids to have a strong academic foundation. The teachers encourage the kids to learn. As a school in PAUSD, students have the same arts and music curriculum as other schools and PE 4x a weeks. PTA is strong like all other schools in PAUSD. Because it is a choice school, parents are expected to volunteer a certain number of hours per school year. However, PTA is not overbearing like some previous comments said. All the parents are very supportive and watch over each other kids. Very welcoming community. I have one child who graduated and one in 4th grade at Hoover.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a community member
out of thousands of elementary schools in California Hoover is in the top 1% based on test scores. Millions od parents are forced to deal with failing neighborhood school. Appreciate what you have!!

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted December 23, 2012
- a parent
Teachers ignore parents. This school is very secretive. It is not a good school for students.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2012
- a parent
Teachers at Hoover are teaching students by rote memory. Students are learning by simple repetition.
1 person found this helpful

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Hoover is the worst school in Palo Alto. The PTA is controlled by a few parents. PTA is poorly organized.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a parent
I am usually skeptical of schools, especially public schools where teachers' unions reign and administrative bureaucrats make the rules. Hoover is different. The principal, Dr. Scott, is destined for sainthood! She knows every single child of the school, understands each child's personality, issues, strengths and soft areas. She is one of the most caring, thoughtful people who ever walked the earth. The teachers are typically outstanding. (We are aware of only 1 exception.) Our kids have enjoyed the school immensely. They have been challenged, learned and thrived at this school. And the academics are top-notch. We couldn't have dreamed of a better school!


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
My kids attended a few different schools in Palo Alto, we have to say Hoover is the best! The principal Dr. Scott is truly professional, she has a passion for education. my older one graduated this year from Hoover, the academics have been outstanding, kids enjoyed learning so much, lots of fun projects, grade level activities and field trips, the teachers and staffs are awesome! Most of the grade levels have not much homework so my kids can play sports all year round. The most important thing we like about this school is that they created an environment that fosters a love of books and learning, kids have good study habits and they are well prepared for middle school.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2011
- a parent
The school is good (look at the scores). It is far from being excellent but other schools are worse. Private schools are better but this goes without saying. Some teachers are known problems so as a parent you have to make an effort to keep your kid from getting into those classes (there is a known problem in second grade and everybody in the school knows who is the problematic teacher so ask around and protect your children). The school prepares kids really well for AP classes in middle school but make sure your child is not slacking. It is the best to supplement the curriculum with some extra work at home (on-line and computer-based programs work really well). Kids are smart and friendly. The principle takes care of the school really well and is really involved.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Elementary School
445 East Charleston Road, Palo Alto, CA  94306
(650) 320-8106
Last modified Herbert Hoover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top