Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Palo Alto, CA
Students enrolled: 416
 

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

28 reviews of this school


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a community member
I can't believe that our dear kindergarten star is moving into first grade. Hoover School has been the most supportive, caring environment for our little one. She has enjoyed the process and I have watched her blossom socially, emotionally and academically. She has gotten a good grasp on math, and reading and has been a very active gardener. Their science teacher helped them grow a garden of edible plants, as well as a vegetable garden and she is referring to herself as a botanist. She thoroughly enjoys recess and afterschool Spanish, chess and Mad Science. Next year she can't wait to take theatre and golf. The community is welcoming, the teachers and staff are first class, and everyone shows respect to all at every level. I am very please that we made the decision to send her to Hoover.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Great school - emphasis is not on group projects - concept is "traditional" classroom, but my child loves her teachers, classmates, and school, as well as the Kids Club afterschool program onsite. Kindergarten was a little bumpy as kids learn how to handle being in the classroom, but later grades and teachers have been better each year. Volunteer commitment is not onerous, and if you can find a time to volunteer during school hours you will learn things about your kid you would never have a chance to see otherwise. There is a drawback in fact that it's not a neighborhood school--school community does not really extend beyond campus, so harder to get to know other parents, harder to schedule playdates, that kind of thing.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Hoover is an amazing school. Strong academics, incredible highly rated teachers, strong, supportive parents involvement. Just a phenomenal school. Every year many families apply to have their children attend Hoover. However, due to the lottery system, only a few children make the cut. We are fortunate that our children attend Hoover, one of the top schools in the state of California. We feel that they will be very prepared for middle school.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Hoover Elementary is a choice school in the district. Meaning, although it is a public school, admittance is by a lottery process. Parents who choose this school tend to want their kids to have a strong academic foundation. The teachers encourage the kids to learn. As a school in PAUSD, students have the same arts and music curriculum as other schools and PE 4x a weeks. PTA is strong like all other schools in PAUSD. Because it is a choice school, parents are expected to volunteer a certain number of hours per school year. However, PTA is not overbearing like some previous comments said. All the parents are very supportive and watch over each other kids. Very welcoming community. I have one child who graduated and one in 4th grade at Hoover.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a community member
out of thousands of elementary schools in California Hoover is in the top 1% based on test scores. Millions od parents are forced to deal with failing neighborhood school. Appreciate what you have!!


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a community member
hoover rocks - the president of hoover oh and i am graduating whoop whoop! derr derr derr ugh i have to use 15 words

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted December 23, 2012
- a parent
Teachers ignore parents. This school is very secretive. It is not a good school for students.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2012
- a parent
Teachers at Hoover are teaching students by rote memory. Students are learning by simple repetition.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Hoover is the worst school in Palo Alto. The PTA is controlled by a few parents. PTA is poorly organized.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a parent
I am usually skeptical of schools, especially public schools where teachers' unions reign and administrative bureaucrats make the rules. Hoover is different. The principal, Dr. Scott, is destined for sainthood! She knows every single child of the school, understands each child's personality, issues, strengths and soft areas. She is one of the most caring, thoughtful people who ever walked the earth. The teachers are typically outstanding. (We are aware of only 1 exception.) Our kids have enjoyed the school immensely. They have been challenged, learned and thrived at this school. And the academics are top-notch. We couldn't have dreamed of a better school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Elementary School
445 East Charleston Road, Palo Alto, CA  94306
(650) 320-8106
Last modified Herbert Hoover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top