Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
Ohlone is truly unique, I can't say enough good things about it. It has brought out the best in our children, educating them towards self-confident curious learners and creative problem-solvers. The teachers' dedication is second to none, they understand the children, and every child is given the opportunity to reach his or her full potential. As an aside: Even though they don't 'teach to the test', my children's test scores went up after switching to Ohlone from a different (comparable) school.

Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
This "choice" school is truly a gem. We have had 2 of our children attend Ohlone. We have been able to compare this school with another private school where we sent our oldest child. Ohlone instills a love of learning, independence, and initiative that the private school was unable to provide. They adhere to their philosophy and project based learning is taken very seriously. There is also an emphasis on whole child development.


Ohlone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
This school is fantastic. With mixed grade levels, students are able to work at different levels of work and be supported by older kids and help younger students. It is a public comprehensive program encompassing the humanities, sciences and arts. Best of all - the school has a farm where students learn about growing and eating healthy food and taking care of small farm animals. It's the best!

Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
They actually teach at Ohlone, not just get through the day. I don't think I realized just how wonderful the place was until I was exposed to other schools. Both of my children who have gone have really become motivated to learn for its own sake. So instead of stopping when they did just well enough to get an A, they were always motivated to learn and do more. And despite not having homework every night (maybe because of it?) have done really well in middle school and beyond. The teachers are really supported to do some of their own thing -- so one class did claymation, another does Shakespeare, some go different places for the simulation. It does depend on the teacher, but that is part of what makes the teachers motivated -- and the school better.

Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a parent
We feel blessed to have our kids in the school. Teachers are extraordinary and when faced with a challenge do everything always focusing on the welfare of the cildren.


Ohlone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are fantastically dedicated and wonderful with the kids; the principal is the same, and the philosophy of the school (educating hearts and minds together) is so right!

Ohlone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
Ohlone has been a wonderful school for my daughter for three years. She has cherished both of her teachers, developed a hearty appetite for reading, and feels confident about herself as a student. I am grateful to be a part of this community.

Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2009
- a parent
great 'style' that hearkens back to how school should be at this age


Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
Our kids have gotten a tremendous love of learning at Ohlone. They are curious, questioning, and liberated to think in new ways, mostly (I think) due to the alternative curriculum. Ohlone's 'no-homework' rule is an incredible blessing to let the kids be kids as long as possible. The test scores catch up by grade 5, earlier on, they are lower, largely (imho) b/c Ohlone does not 'teach to the test' and they don't teach test-taking skills, until later in the curriculum. The buddy system, 2 years per teacher, farm and caring parents make this an Oasis of creativity and learning in the crazy world we live in. Principal Susan Charles is a gifted leader.

Ohlone Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ohlone Elementary School
950 Amarillo Avenue, Palo Alto, CA  94303
(650) 856-1726
Last modified Ohlone Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ohlone Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top