Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Palo Alto, CA
Students enrolled: 1,887

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palo Alto High School 4

Posted August 12, 2014
- a student
Academically competitive, accepting community but sometimes cliquey, nice course variety and mostly caring teachers. There is a lot of peer pressure to get into a "good" college, and teachers are most accessible when students personally email them and set up an appointment. It can sometimes be difficult to reach teachers during tutorial sessions because there are so many other students trying to do the same. The school could improve on having a school board/administration that's much more connected with the student body. Although clubs aren't extremely popular at Paly, there is a strong effort to get kids involved. Choir program and athletics at Paly are renowned. Lots of ongoing construction, but it will be worth it because the newer facilities are really really nice (ie. math building, media arts building, lacrosse field, pool). Limited parking space. Sucky school dances. Library is too loud and I wish the Silent Study Room was bigger and made with cubicles and actually silent. Overall, friendly people, very diverse (you can find any kind of person you want) and excellent academics (particularly in the math and social studies department. sciences and English are OK)
1 person found this helpful

Palo Alto High School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a student
Blatantly put, Palo Alto High School is academically challenging. All the students in the top lanes are extremely driven, and a "B+" is not considered an acceptable grade by many. Stanford University is right across the street, and it is a constant reminder of the importance of academic success. Moreover, if you do not find your classes academically stimulating, PALY offers opportunities to skip lanes. Also, if you finish all your math classes before you graduate, you get the opportunity to take theoretical calculus at Stanford University, which is right across the street.
1 person found this helpful


Palo Alto High School 4

Posted March 10, 2013
- a community member
As a 1961 Paly grad reading the comments below, not much has changed through the years. The postings of July 12, 2012 by a student, July 14, 2011, Oct. 27, 2010 could have been taken out of the anals of 1961. When we attended our 50th Class Reunion in Sept. 2011 one thing seemed to be uniform: we looked back on Paly as having been an exceptional school (a premiere public school competitive with private College Prep schools of the day) and the fact that we'd received an excellent education. We learned at Paly what others are learning at college level. Current students may not see it now, but you'll look back in years to come and appreciate the quality of education provided at Paly as exceptional. We were told, "you can go to college wherever you choose, but we're preparing you to qualify to get into Stanford or Cal." Very high standards! An amusing fact is that several classmates were told by their counselor to not waste their time going to college inferring they weren't going to amount to much. A number of them not only have multiple college / postgrad degrees but also became multimillionaires. Don't let anyone count you out just because they lack vision for you!!!

Palo Alto High School 3

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
Some teachers are great, some not so much. The student community here is grouped up into exclusive groups (cool here nerds there etc.) Some are nice some are not. Because of this, its hard to make new friends if u are new. School campus is great and the school has lots of money so the resources are plentiful. Sports are also good we won several state championships.

Palo Alto High School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a student
When you see the school, meet the teachers, and interact with the highly motivated students you would never guess this is a public school. The teachers are Palo Alto High school (Paly) work hard to ensure a wonderful education for the students as well as a friendly atmosphere. Over Paly offers a well rounded educations that both parents and students love!


Palo Alto High School 1

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
Some teachers are ok but most are terrible and don't teach. My daughter has been told repeatedly she is not smart enough by one.

Palo Alto High School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a community member
Great school, great teachers, great leadership, and bright kids. A winning combination.

Palo Alto High School 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Palo Alto High School 5

Posted December 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Palo Alto High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We have a number one football team! All of my siblings and my children have gone to PALY and graduated. They have a great monthly flea market to support the music program. Please vote for PALY so they can build a new theatre and keep the sports programs going
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palo Alto High School
50 Embarcadero Road, Palo Alto, CA  94301
(650) 329-3701
Last modified Palo Alto High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palo Alto High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top