Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
JLS has it all. Sharon Ofek is a truly inspiring leader, hiring and empowering a diverse, dynamic, and dedicated teaching staff. Many parents told me how impressed they were with the quality and consistency of the staff presentations at Back to School night. The school teaches social-emotional values as much as academics, with its "Kindness is the Norm" program a ubiquitous presence all over campus. And the campus is beautiful, thanks to a new building and many upgrades, and a student body that makes an effort to keep their school clean. AND, parents are welcome and there are many volunteer opportunities to insure parents are part of the JLS community. Thank you JLS!

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The success of JLS is reflected in the inspiring teachers, engaged students and committed parents. The principal is an outstanding leader who both challenges everyone to do their best and nurtures those around her. Education is critical to our childrens future success and I am fully confident that JLS will exceed my expectations.


Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at JLS and i love it. The teachers are great and they focus on making sure kids get the concepts in what they are teaching. It is a very happy environment and the they make school fun. JLS balances the fun with academics perfectly! I support JLS all the way. I encourage families to get their kids in!

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a teacher
I attended JL Stanford Middle School as a student, and now as a staff member. Through all of my experiences I can confidently say that JLS has some of the most empowering and gifted teachers that young minds could ask for. The school leadership shines not only through the strong and dedicated principal but through the students as well. JLS provides avenues to support every kind of student learner. They provide some of the most stimulating and challenging academic programs out there. They also provide different outlets for children with learning, behavior, emotional, and social needs. JLS is a remarkable school that helps feed the minds of the worlds smartest individuals.

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 21, 2010
- a student
This is a good school, and you learn a lot. I've made lots of good friends, but there can be a lot of homework on some days and none on others. The teachers are wonderful, but it feels like a pretty typical school.


Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 5

Posted May 06, 2006
- a teacher
Amazing array of electives including Girl Technology, Drama, Stage Design, Cooking, Japanese. Excellent Teachers.

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 4

Posted December 01, 2005
- a parent
Heavy involvement on the part of the teachers. Heavy homework load, perhaps too heavy. After school activities are keen...YCS, in particular. You can skip the bi-yearly dance.


Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School 3

Posted May 22, 2005
- a parent
an excellent school to attend. friendly staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School
480 East Meadow Drive, Palo Alto, CA  94306
(650) 856-5188
Last modified Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top