Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leona Jackson School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
It's the best school. The school doesn't go on many field trips but they're working on that. And the learning is easy and understandable.

Leona Jackson School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
I would like to thank all of my teachers for being there and letting be educated


Leona Jackson School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
It's an okay amount. Mostly everything is just pushed one assignment after another. So many essays and tests and quizzes and projects.

Leona Jackson School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
well i go to this school all of the people there are always nice and friendly the electives are fun and are easy but challenging i like this school

Leona Jackson School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
Jackson is a very bad school I enroll their and saw bad behaviors in the school, and see a lot of bullying in the school the staff who patrols the students don't even do a thing they should have more staffs and lockers so I can store my stuff rather than carrying them. More likely there have been fewer field trips and fewer events in the school. Also there have been bullying in the school and the staffs and teachers don't even do a thing. The teachers don't come out to recess to look at the student if they are doing bad behavior or not. Parents do not enroll any students to that school !


Leona Jackson School 4

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
I see all the oppositive of what I was informed. I have ALL positive input of L. Jackson. Staff is outstanding, from the parking lot, security, administration and the STAR coordinators. My first year with my 4th grader daughter and the resources and communication offered by teacher are great! Look forward in growing with this school and seeing MORE resources and involvement from other parents! thank you

Leona Jackson School 4

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is new 1st week there she seem to like the school so far how ever we do need to get her enrolled into an after school program because I am a single working mom until 5pm each week day mon-fri

Leona Jackson School 1

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
this is the worst school my daughter has went to! there is so many staff but for what if they dont even do anything! there are so many fights there and the people that fight go back to school! i as a parent will not let my child attend this school! i think it is not safe for any kid!


Leona Jackson School 3

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the field trips and after school comments below (probably could be helped with some fund raising activities), but I feel the school has made improvements. I went to the Open House last month and there was a lot of parents who participated. The teached and principal seemed to care about the students.

Leona Jackson School 4

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
yes i belive that this school isnt giving much of field trips and extra things, but i believe that it isnt their fault, infact isnt it the economic crisis, not only has jackosn fallen into this but so have many paramount k-8 schools. I would say that this school is progressing in some way, they have know offered electives and have added a helping class for students who have fallen behind. I strongly feel that Jackson is at its best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leona Jackson School
7220 Jackson Street, Paramount, CA  90723-4378
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (562) 602-8020
Last modified Leona Jackson School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top