Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pasadena Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 351 students

PCS is Christ-centered with a rigorous academic program, arts, music & sports
 
 

 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $453,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2006

Our daughter started PCS in the 7th grade and we were very impressed by the academics and sports programs, as well as some of the fantastic teachers, Mr. Bailey in science was very wonderful.I do not care for their preschool as it is too much like day care but the assistant director, Nora, is lovely.In general, this school is a very good choice for people living in the Pasadena area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

This is my sons first year at PCS. He is a 3rd grader, and tranferred in from a public school. His progress at this school has been outstanding. I am extremely impressed with the school and would reccomend to anyone considering this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

We are parents of a preschooler and it is really been a good experience for our son. The preschool is new and designed just for preschool, which makes it a great situation. The teachers have been responsive and very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

The academic's are great, Top notch teachers who really care about their students. Kid's are very happy here and it is a warm enviroment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

Excellent education with caring teachers Great Meet the Masters art program Fantastic Performing Arts program - choral & drama Educational field trips enhance curriculum Great sports program Staff observations encourage positive behavior and kindness. Christ centered values are taught Before & after school care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My child has been a student of PCSchool for 4 years. She has enjoyed her academic experiences and looks forward to attending school daily. I have been overall pleased with the teachers and the level of academic acheivement they expect of there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Pasadena Christian has a very supportive environment. My child enjoyed his time at the school and developed many lifelong relationships. The academic programs were satisfactory. The music and sports were outstanding. Parent involvement was very rewarding and very strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Given the state of public schools in Pasadena, PCS is a competent alternative. However, it is more 'Christian' in name than in practice. If you desire an education rooted in Jesus and His teachings then you'll have to look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

We were initially hesitant to send our child to a 'Christian' school, with all that label presumably entails (a potentially closed-minded and sheltered environment) but have been pleasantly surprised at how well-rounded the education is and how diverse the student body - and you know, a bit of morality thrown in is really refreshing in today's world. The Christmas program includes songs about Santa Claus and the campus is what you'd imagine a good public school would look like (if more than one existed in Pasadena). From discussions with other area parents, we're confident the academic instruction is competitive with other private schools in the area - with the added benefit of a welcoming, low-pressure environment. The vocal music program is terrific (but stops at Jr. High)and the 'Meet the Masters' art program in all the classes is exceptional. Emphasis on public speaking skills early on has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

Preschool is great. I have to say I was impress bec. I was interviewed, one on one by the director about my child before starting school in order for them to prepare their teacher to meet the needs of each student. I felt that this schoo was not about just daycare.... they really pay attention to each child's needs. The K-8 seems good. I like what they're doing when they send their students home, the teacher is the one discharging the students to their parents.... it's good for safety. I also heard about good standard about their K - 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 25%
Hispanic 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Korean
Japanese
Chinese (Mandarin)
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Steven Gray
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (626) 791-1256

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Hands on focus in math & science
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Teacher Fellowship
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Academic excellence is just the beginning at PCS. Our vision is for students to exemplify biblical principles, character and skills necessary to be life-long learners and productive citizens as they serve Christ. To that end, we provide a nurturing Christian environment where we offer an excellent academic program thoroughly grounded in biblical principles. Our teachers are qualified and credentialed professionals who embody the qualities that we want to instill in our students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
92
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
156
Students typically come from these schools
Pasadena Christian Preschool
Lake Avenue Preschool
Kids Klub Child Development Centers

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$10000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
need based

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Maranatha High School
Flintridge Prep
Mayfield/FSHA & St. Francis
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1515 North Los Robles Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91104
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 791-1214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Saint Elizabeth
Altadena, CA



Harriet Tubman
Pasadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT