Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Horizon School Pasadena

Private | K-8 | 153 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $357,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

This school has everything a parent can wish for! Incredibly dedicated teachers that are well educated and understanding to each students needs. A devoted principal who has put her heart into this school, and her devotion shows through her motivated team of incredible teachers and staff. A PTO that will put hard work into helping the schools fundraising projects, baking sales and yearly events. It's truly warming to see so many parents take part of the schools regular activities. We feel that we are all part of a big family, the school has opened up its arms to us and welcomed us to be part of its amazing and nourishing environment. We feel blessed to have our children attend this school and we look forward to seeing them graduate from here. We are part of the New Horizon School in Pasadena, a Blue Ribbon school, that will surely continue to grow and provide the high quality education it's known for. Our hearts are voting for you, even though we are truly winners already! Thank you for helping us raise our children to become the best that they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Excellent academics in a warm and caring environment. Really, we couldn't be happier with the school. Our eight-year-old has been there four years and he loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

It is a wonderful environment and a great place to get an Islamic foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Great school! Value-based teaching! Caring staff! Strong academics!


Posted November 3, 2010

Great School academic and environment My kids used to cry when they miss a day to be absent from the school we love it very much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

We spent 15 years at New Horizon School My two daughters attended since pre-School up to 8th grade we are family very proud of New Horizon School as perfect to every family is looking for great quality of Education and great Values New Horizon deserve to be Blue Ribbon School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

My son attends NHS for a year now. This is an amazing school. I love the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

My children have been going to new horizon for the last 3 years and i think it is one of the best schols i have seen. The school has the blue ribbon honor which is an extreamly high honor for a school to receive. Wouldnt want my kids to go any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

This is a great Blue Ribbon School. There are many extracurricular activities such as music, art, sports club, electives etc. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2005

Weve been at New Horizon School for 7 years now. My son started from pre-school and now he is in 4th grade. Its a great school their academic programe is so strong and always updated with the best tools to help our kide excelerate. It has a wonderfull music program ,and the music teacher is the best . There are 2 concerts a year preformed by students from pre-school throug 8th grade in the auditorium . What makes this school special is the parent involvement and because its not a big school in size everyone knows everybody. We personly meet our best friends through the school .For us this school has met all what we need in our childs education and we are so happy with it and we wish them all the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 26%
Black 10% 6%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Amira Alsarraf
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • CAIS
  • CSEE
  • NAESP
  • NMSA
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (626) 395-9519

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

651 North Orange Grove Boulevard
Pasadena, CA 91103
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 795-5186

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizon School
Pasadena, CA



St. Monica Academy
Pasadena, CA


Chandler School
Pasadena, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT