Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Waverly School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Heidi Johnson, head of school, for her leadership and making sure that Waverly does exactly what it says it will do.

The Waverly School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Not overwhelming at all. High school students are given time each day to complete work while at school. The volume is much less than that observed at more traditional institutions. There is no diminution in intellectual development or academic rigor . . . simply a reduction in stress which is, from my point of view, great.


The Waverly School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, caring and empathy are root values in the Waverly community from K through 12. I have never seen a cohort of students who embody these values the way that they manifest in Waverly students.

The Waverly School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
In my observations and experience, the student community reflects deep values of honesty, integrity and fairness. The students value each other and are given the tools to fairly discuss difference and mediate disputes. They are inclusive in the most passionate way and committed to equity.

The Waverly School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Our child is a high school student at The Waverly School. The experience in this community has been extraordinary. The classes are incredibly challenging and intellectually stimulating. The subject matter and execution are more like college seminars that high school classes. We are particularly happy that the learning is done in a collaborative environment rather than the traditional competitive framework. We expect that he will be very well prepared for the next step in higher education. It is a small and warm community. The students are engaging, thoughtful and bright. It is the best environment for college preparation that I can imagine. All of the substance with much less of the stress and pressure that can be found when class rankings and test results are the ultimate measures of outcomes. He participates in interscholastic sports, the arts, collaborates with classmates and is encouraged to reach, explore and be willing to take risks, fail, and try again. Unless a student wants big time sports and the traditional (stereotypical) high school social experience, I cannot imagine a better environment for learning, community engagement and intellectual growth. Recommended without reservation.


The Waverly School 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a community member
Waverly is an amazing school. The teachers care about the students, the children are nice, and the parents are down to earth. I came to Waverly in fall of 2013 and I did not look back. I am going to be in 7th grade at The Waverly School and I couldn't be happier. The homework load is low because you learn so much in the school day there is only about thirty minutes to an hour and a half of homework. I love this school. I already made up my mind and I am going to graduate from Waverly! This school is so dope!

The Waverly School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
We came to Waverly from a highly regarded public middle school. My child was crushed with hours of work in the 6th grade and although doing well academically, was bored and unhappy. Waverly has been such an incredible change. The workload is reasonable and the teachers have been miracle workers in that my child is excited about learning and actually talks to me happily about school. The teachers are relatively young and relate well to adolescents, but at the same time, most of them are very experienced. The curriculum focuses on project-based, experiential learning and I have been so impressed with much of the work my child has produced and the type of assignments the teachers give. They really focus on analytical skills and teaching the students to use evidence to support their arguments. Additionally the teachers truly care about the students and address social conflict lovingly and discreetly when it comes up as it often does at this age. We couldn't be happier with our decision to move to Waverly.

The Waverly School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
If you want your child to think for themselves and take responsibility for their own learning, you will love and cherish this school. If you want your child to be shot through a standardized, academic hoop, this school is not for you. Some of the most diversely talented, articulate and brightest students I have ever met attended this school. Many have gone to and succeeded at fantastic colleges, if that is what they so desire. Many have succeeded at small schools, if that is what they so desire. Waverly is an amazing community. If you agree with their teaching philosophy, I highly recommend it.


The Waverly School 4

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
We love this school. My daughter has had a wonderful experience in the high school. The teachers are excellent, the atmosphere is nurturing. We feel she is really learning, not just learning how to test well.

The Waverly School 2

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
Elementary School is excellent, but stop there and send your children elsewhere. The middle school is mediocre at best, and if you want to send your child to a different high school chances are they won't be able to pass the entrance exam if they have been attending Waverly Middle School. Don't send your child to the high school unless they absolutely cannot get accepted somwhere else. The academic program is weak, the teachers lack professional boundaries, and there is a serious drug problem at this school that the administration ignores altogether. Students who graduate from Waverly High School go on to college, but very few of them complete their higher education or succeed, because they are truly not prepared for college or the real world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Waverly School
67 West Bellevue Drive, Pasadena, CA  91105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (626) 792-5940
Last modified The Waverly School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top