Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Judson International

Private | K-10 | 132 students

Our school is best known for small size classes, enrichment

 
 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $453,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

I love this private Christian school because all of the teachers and staff really care about the kids. Because of the small class sizes my children receive the help and attention needed. Plus, they're getting all the extra things that I want in a Christian setting. I like how they go to different classes for Art, Computer Lab, Music, P.E. so it mixes things up a bit instead of being in the same room all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Kind officer, faith-based education, and caring teachers...and above all moderate tuition...what else should I add?...but one thing to remember, this is small school that gradually grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Our family moved here from out-of-state last year and I was nervous about starting our middle-school-age boys in a new school. I shouldn't have worried. The Judson "family of students" is warm and welcoming. The teachers are not only great educators, but are people who love their jobs and invest in their students. Our boys are doing great! They are having opportunities in sports, student council and worship they probably wouldn't have gotten in a larger school. I can't imagine a better place for our boys to go through these "in between years" of middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My daughter has been at the school since K (5 years now) and each year I think her teacher can't get any better and I'm constantly proven wrong! I am impressed by the use of "real" books vs. text books, the curriculumn and the creative projects that the kids are involved with. I am also pleased that Spanish, art, and computer are a regular part of the learning schedule from the start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Judson International School has been such a great experience for me! I attended this school for 4 years and it is my most favorite school :) thank you judson :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

My son has been in Judson for six years now, and I feel very fortunate to have him there. I love the international environment, which includes cultural studies and foreign language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

This wonderful school has an administration that really cares! The curriculum is brilliant in incorporating culture and history into the subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

This school seems great! I would like to find out more about it. But so far it has music, art, foreign language and much more! Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

Judson seems to be a nice school for elementary age students.However, they have had rapid turn over of the leadership of the school and now the over all adminstration is in trouble.I am sorry I ever gave this school a chance with my child. Judson may be alright for under Jr. High age.This school does poor service to the Kingdom of Christ.Choose PSC instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My daughter has been at Judson three years now, and is currently in 6th grade. We've been very happy here! This Christian school has a 'small town feel' with a caring, supportive staff. The families here are wonderful! The tuition is also reasonable compared to other private schools in the Pasadena area. I highly recommend Judson to anyone looking for a 'safe', affordable alternative to Public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 11%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 5% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Diana Bjoraker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Christian world view based curriculum
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Home School Core Classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1610 East Elizabeth Street
Pasadena, CA 91104
Phone: (626) 398-2476

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westminster Academy
Pasadena, CA




Shiloh Academy
Altadena, CA


Daniel Webster
Pasadena, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT