Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Pasadena, CA
Students enrolled: 1,205
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Blair High School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Blair is a rigorous and incredibly supportive environment. My daughter began here in 6th grade and we couldn't be happier with the culture, staff, and curriculum. The IB certification is the top tier of college ready certifications and the students and staff are fabulous. We feel this is the best education in Pasadena for college bound students, public or private.

Blair High School 5

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
What Blair manages to do with the little amount of support and funding is astounding. The teachers and staff manage to pull off amazing feats of education. The students at the school are given work which challenges them beyond what is going to be on a test. Teachers are committed to their students and each other. The environment at Blair is truly supportive. When PUSD introduced new graduation requirements starting with the class of 2019, parents did not freak out because they were absolutely confident their students would be prepared (even years ahead of schedule). The IB programme is internationally accredited and so respected by colleges, that just being an IB student will give your child a leg up. If you get a chance talk to one of the IB students about their experience - you will be inspired.

Blair High School 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
Our son entered 6th grade in Blair Middle School and we are planning for him to remain at Blair through high school. This is a wonderful school. The is a set of experienced, talented and hard-working teachers, who are able to academically challenge all of the children in their classes. The IB program is rigorous and provides a set of great opportunities, and the community of students, parents, and teachers is very supportive and engaging. The STEM part of the curriculum is well supported and provides students great opportunities, but this doesn't come at the neglect of the arts and humanities. We actively chose Blair after carefully evaluating both the private and public options for middle and high school in Pasadena, and are confident we made the right choice. I'd be willing to pay a lot of money to send our son to Blair - but we don't have to. Be sure to schedule a visit if you're thinking about sending your middle- or high-school student here.

Blair High School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Blair is an amazing school with great teachers, good parental involvement and and active and supportive student body who are very open and accepting to all different types of kids. Coming from a small charter school, our daughter was nervous about attending Blair and it did take a large part of sixth grade to adjust. By eighth grade, however, she insisted on staying for high school even though her friends were leaving. She stayed, and ended up convincing most of them to stay as well. They, and we, couldn't be happier. The IB Middle Years Programme really integrates learning across subject boundaries and expands the way students view their world. The IB Diploma Programme offers a breadth and rigor that is unmatched in traditional AP course work. No other school in PUSD offers these great opportunities and I'm glad to see renewed support for Blair and IB from the school district.

Blair High School 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are nice and funny. Also, it's nice being at a school where you know everyone. The classes all make you think deeper and more about how what you learn affects life on earth, not just memorizing facts.

Blair High School 4

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
My child is very happy with his first year experience at blair. He's made many new friends and has teachers that challenge his thinking in the IB program. The PTA meetings and school - wide events reveal many committed families dedicated to the growth of public schools in pusd.

Blair High School 5

Posted December 28, 2014
- a parent
I rate it a 5 star school is not because it has the most beautiful campus. It is because the international baccalaureate program gives my daughter an opportunity to get ready for her future. We have searched both private and public schools in Pasadena, South Pasadena and Arcadia, and Blair is the only school offers IB program. Comparing with AP program, both offers rigorous academic programs in different ways, however IB requires more community services hours, which in today's world, it better prepares a young student to face the real challenges in life. Not only that, it encourages entrepreneurship, and promotes leadership skills. To keep in mind, not all Blair students will be admitted to the IB program, and not all full IB program students will receive a full IB diploma. This shows no one should take any opportunity for granted. It is a tough program, but it worth to struggle a little bit when one is young.

Blair High School 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a teacher
Blair has just been listed by Los Angeles Magazine as one of the 75 high schools, both public and private, most likely to get a student into a good college. It is deserved, as we list of our recent graduates now at Ivy League schools, at institutions such as Stanford, and at the top UCs. The International Baccalaureate Programme - both the Middle Years Programme (grades 6-10) and the IB Diploma Programme (grades 11 and 12), are unique in the area and certified only for this school site. We have an award-winning culinary/hospitality academy, which is (as I write this) cooking all of the turkeys for the huge Thanksgiving feast run by Union Station, Pasadena's homeless shelter - a part of their community service component. We also have a fine health careers academy, and a welcoming "international academy" for students who are new to the country and learning English. Our fine special education department rounds out the solid and inclusive feel of our school. The JROTC is impressive and very visible in the community. Even in bungalows, waiting for long-delayed upgrades to the now-empty high school building, we are doing good work. Don't judge us by our "cover."

Blair High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a teacher
Blair offers a lot more than the community is wiling to allow. If we had more backing from the district instead of "Lets Close; to help Muir". Then not only would the numbers increase, but so would the neighboring people understand. For several years Blair has been promised a High School remodel, the two programs that are Blair's strongest defense are the JROTC program, and the IB program. The other schools wish they could have these strong programs, but there is only 1 Army JROTC program, and its setting the example. The JROTC program has IB, International student's as well as student's who just want to take a break from traditional PT. They not only learn physical fitness, but many other subjects along the Armies guidelines. The JROTC program boasts a 96% Fitness gram passage, and 99% graduation rate. So give Blair some respect, and understand were just not another run of the mill high school. Give us the support we deserve, and the lights will burn forever as the education in our students does.

Blair High School 1

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. The environment is discouraging, and many of the teachers, in my view, aren't doing the best job. My son attended this school, until I pulled him out and placed him into a private school, simply because he was struggling academically. He is a straight A student, and thrives to seek education at its upmost quality. However, the staff is so incompetent; and don't even make me bring up the principal. As soon as I noticed that F creeping within his report card, I thought the proper and responsible choice must be made.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blair High School
1201 South Marengo Avenue, Pasadena, CA  91106
(626) 396-5820
Last modified Blair High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blair High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top