Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Our children have had a great experience at Don Benito. The Principal is a gem and the teachers are knowledgeable and caring. There are over 500 PTA members and tons of parent involvement both in the classroom and at special events like Stargazing Night, Movie Night, and the Fall Carnival. My kids enjoy the after-school activities like Drama, Chess club, Cub Scouts and Brownies.

Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Don Benito has been great for my daughter. She a Ms. Bendiksen for kindergarten who is everything you would want for your first teacher. The parent involvement is off the chart which I believe is one of the reasons Don Benito is such a gem. We are blessed that we our daughter has the opportunity to attend this school!


Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
We are coming in to the home stretch of our kindergarten year at DB and could not be happier. The quality of instruction, the challenging and nurturing atmosphere, the high level of parent involvement, have all been a terrific match for our son. He is thriving. We love the incredible diversity of our community too. The principal is a wonder and the PTA leadership has their heads screwed on straight. If your child gets in here--go.

Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
My son has special needs in academics. The staff has been very supportive. Mrs. Carlson has guided our family to receive the assistance my son needs. She has also tutored him. Ms. Turbull is awesome. Mrs. Hernandez, Miss Bell, Ms. McPherson and Ms. Bendikson.....all wonderful! I am very happy we are a part of Don Benito.

Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
Don Benito is an excellent school with highly qualified, dedicated teachers. There will always be complainers, but remember, one person's "mediocrity" is another person's favorite teacher of all time. It's ridiculous to expect every teacher to be a perfect and personalized match for your child's extra-special specialness. The principal is outstanding, and it's clear that she cares about every child. Your child will be friends with children from a wide variety of racial and economic backgrounds, in an environment where everyone is safe and everyone is valued. If you're looking for a homogeneous, upper-middle-class "public private school," there are other PUSD options. But if you're looking for a real public school where your children will get an outstanding education, this is the place to be!


Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
I have been a proud parent and volunteer of Don Benito for the past 6 years. I rate the school and the staff 5 stars, for their excellence in teaching, strangth, leadership, challenging programs and outstanding achievment in bringing parents to be a part of their childs education and having excellent amout of parent envolvement. I high recommend Don Benito to all new families. Most of I would proudly rate our Don Benito principle with an extra 5 stars, for being the most an outgoing, dedicated, strong and excellent leader to all the Don Benito kids, parents, families and friends. The Solano Gonzalez family, loves you all.

Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
This is the first year our child attends Don Benito, I have to say that we are very impressed with the school so far. The teacher( Mrs. Huezo) is an excellent educator, she encourages the kids to learn in a fun atmosphere! Parent participation is very good to say the least. We look forward to having our son join the school in few years as well.

Don Benito Fundamental School 3

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
I have very mixed feelings about Don Benito. The atmosphere there has improved dramatically since the new administration took over last year. However, we have had about a 50% satisfaction rate with teachers; We have had some excellent teachers who convey warmth, intelligence, and a love of teaching. We have also experienced flat, uninspired mediocrity from some of the staff. California public education seems to be hamstrung by the standard requirements placed on teachers. It takes a very special educator to work with and around those requirements while still making learning a good experience. For us, it has been hit-or-miss at Don Benito.


Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
Don Benito has experienced so many wonderful improvements this year with the new principal. She's a wonderful leader with a can-do attitude. The teachers respect her and the children adore her. She has pledged to continue high standards for learning despite budget cuts and no doubt, she will keep her word. Our experience with our child's teachers has been nothing but positive. There are high expectations for learning and clear-cut disciplinary policies. Also, teachers facilitate many extracurricular activities such as Odyssey of the Mind, Jumprope-A-Thon, and Literacy Night. They're a dedicated bunch. We're extremely happy with our child's progress and look forward to the time his siblings will attend. We're fortunate to be part of the Don Benito Family! p.s. The buses WILL continue next year!

Don Benito Fundamental School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Don Benito is struggling to survive and keep afloat within PUSD. There are many wonderful things that happen at the school and a great deal of parent involvement. The district enrollment is dropping, bussing will be stopping next year and it appears unclear if Don Benito will continue to succeed academically. Will there be large gain in API scores this year, under the current leadership, it will be a challenge to say the least. Schools are judged by test scores not by lines of parents.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Benito Fundamental School
3700 Denair Street, Pasadena, CA  91107
(626) 396-5870
Last modified Don Benito Fundamental School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Don Benito Fundamental School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top