Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

605 students|Pasadena Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamilton Elementary School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 19, 2015
- a school leader
Thank you to all of the parents who made Bistro Night such a success! It was so much fun for staff and teachers to socialize outside of school. The fifth grade parents and students will be missed next year!

Hamilton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
My kids love Hamilton. So nice to see a school that embraces differences in kids as well as keeping the learning standards high. Yes, the school has lots of families that are lower income as well as special needs. But also kids from privileged families and multi incomes. Everyone works together and all the kids are valued. When you see test scores move up and down, that can really be because two or three kids had a tough week. So emphasis should not solely be on scores, but instead on the culture of the school. This is the most welcoming school in PUSD.


Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
All three of my kids attend Hamilton. Great school, incredible and dedicated teachers and staff. Amazing families. Love this community. So diverse in culture. So grateful my girls have an educational experience like this!

Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
I have had three kids go through Hamilton and seen it improve over the last 12 years. This school offers almost everything you could want: strong, dedicated teachers, a strong principal, a diverse parent and student group, extras such as clubs and electives and targeted fundraising (not the nickle and dime stuff that gets annoying). The more involved you become at this school the more you get out of it.

Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. It isn't perfect but there is strong leadership. Most impressive is the leaderships responsiveness to each student. A student will not fall in the cracks here. Data is kept on each classroom and student and the school uses it to provide interventions, professional development, or programs. Its a safe and diverse school. It would be great to see more diverse teachers however many of the non-diverse teachers are culturally competent.


Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Hamilton Elementary School is one of the best public elementary schools in Pasadena! We have high parent involvement via the PTA and Annual Fund. The school principal is very knowledgeable and motivated and she really cares about each student's academic performance and her staff's teaching effectiveness. If you are looking for the perfect elementary school, it doesn't exist. However, I would put Hamilton Elementary up against any of the private schools in Pasadena.

Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at Hamilton really care about the students and it shows. Hamilton is one big community parents join together with the teachers in order to make the kids enjoy school.

Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My son started kindergarten this year at Hamilton. We've been impressed with the teacher, classroom organization, and discipline here. We actually love the school uniforms, which makes getting dressed in the morning easier and instills a sense of equality and professionalism in the students. They know they are going to school to learn, not a fashion show. My son was in an expensive private school last year and we actually think the homework and teacher are better at Hamilton. While much bigger than a private school, we only have 18 kids in our class. I think you would want to take the tour and get involved, as it was a surprise after attending a small private school just how big and how much to learn there is about a public school. Each classroom has two room parents to assist the teacher and the PTA is very active, though in my opinion they ask for money too often for what they actually provide. Uniforms are required except on the first Friday of every month. The school also has a healthy food goal, so that no candy, soda or cookies are allowed, and fruit cups are served instead of cake or cupcakes for class parties and birthdays.


Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Hamilton is a fantastic school. The principal is great and works so hard to keep the school culture friendly and supportive. The teachers truly care about all their students. I moved to Hamilton's neighborhood a few years ago so that my two children could attend and I have not been disappointed. It has been a great experience for my children. My oldest child is now in 5th grade and I love the teachers. They make learning fun and my child is comes home excited about school. My younger child too!

Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
Hamilton is a great school--friendly families, excellent principal. My children are in 4th and 1st grade. We've had a wonderful experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton Elementary School
2089 Rose Villa Street, Pasadena, CA  91107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (626) 396-5730
Last modified Hamilton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top