Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Dr. Peters & Mr. Gaul - thank you for all your efforts to make the STEAM magnet vision a reality. Your tireless efforts with students, staff, parents, the district, and the magnet administrators are much appreciated!

Washington Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Dear Dr. Stewart - Thank you so much for all you do to make WSMA the great school that it is. Please extend our thanks to your phenomenal staff! Love, Angie & Scott Uriu


Washington Middle School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently in the 6th grade at Washington Middle School. I actually toured the school when she was in the third grade, prior to the STEAM Magnet program being in place, and was thoroughly impressed with the leadership, teachers, instruction and the beautiful campus. The school has only impressed us even more now that our daughter is enrolled. The campus is safe - I have no fears for my daughter's safety. She is also enrolled in LEARNs and enjoys the enrichment activities, such as Rock Band, that are provided after school. Please note that while the school is now a STEAM campus, the arts are quite alive at this school - a fantastic art teacher, a fabulous music teacher, and a Glee Club that has been on campus and has provided beautiful productions for over 20 years now. WSMA is definitely a GREAT school!

Washington Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
After three years of researching various middle schools in Pasadena, the first choice for my daughter was Washington STEAM Magnet Academy. I cannot say enough good things about this school. My daughter is thriving in all her classes and just as importantly comes home happy, eager to do her work, and loves math (WHAT?)! I am thrilled with the quality of teachers and the high expectations for achievement. The ability of each teacher to differentiate and provide individual students what they need for success is key. Project based learning and collaboration are an important feature of WSMA as well as an abundance of field trips. Outings average about one per month and a four day 6th grade Science Camp in December. (All grades go on one overnight camp per year). I had the luxury of attending a few field trips and now know why my daughter enjoys school. The students and parents are friendly and make for a positive, healthy community. I am so glad our family is a part of this special place... a secret gem tucked into a little hill at the highest point in Pasadena. Don't miss out on visiting one of our STEAM nights— there is fun and learning to be had by all that attend.

Washington Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Many, many thanks to all the teachers and staff at WSMA for your diligent work put into the success for each and every student. I applaud you for your efforts. My daughter and the others are better off because of you.


Washington Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
I have a keen eye for excellence in teaching. The teachers are the main reason we chose WSMA.

Washington Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
One of the factors in choosing WSMA was the amount of homework given. My daughter averages about 30-60 min. a day not counting reading. A lot of the work is done or submitted through the computer. The work is quantity, but quality. This leaves more time for extra curricular activities and her love of reading.

Washington Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
The school promotes a safe, responsible, respectful campaign throughout the year. Students, staff, and parents treat each other with kindness. The role modeling of the many, many adults on campus appears to be reflecting in the students. I'm very impressed with the manner in which these students act.


Washington Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
It has a safe school ambassador program that teaches student leaders how to help other students make better decisions. They also know the students and families really well so they can follow up with any issues for students.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
I am very happy to be part of the Washington STEAM family. This is my son's first year and we have had a great experience. As a Magnet school they receive extra funding for unique STEM activities, classes, trainings and more support staff. You can tell in the innovative programs they offer at the school. The staff is really experienced, have been working together a long time and go above and beyond to help at school events. They have embraced the STEAM theme with unique classes like space and flight and medical detectives, routinely use technology in the classrooms, use a variety of community partners like JPL and Cal Tech, and use hands on learning. They also focus on the students social well being by planning fun spirit rallies, overnight trips for all grades so they can bond and have students trained as safe school ambassadors to help resolve student issues. My son and his capabilities were known by many of the teachers and staff right away so I knew he was in a safe and loving place. My son is very bright and has been challenged by the work so I know he is growing as a student and he made friends right away. The music program is really impressive. They put on a musical every year that is really amazing and have 2 large bands. There is also a great group of involved parents who are supporting the school so I am sure it will only get better. The staff is very approachable and there are also many fun STEAM activities for families. I can see lots of scientists coming out of this school. It really is a treasure and I highly recommend touring .

Nearby schools

Washington Middle School
1505 North Marengo Avenue, Pasadena, CA  91103
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (626) 396-5830
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top