Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mayfield Junior School

Private | K-8 | 517 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $372,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2011

I am a student at Mayfield and have just completed my first year. I moved schools because my former school just wasn't challenging me enough, and when I came to Mayfield, their math program showed my true potential and they moved me up by two math classes so I would finally be at a more fast-paced class, and I was very happy there. The fact that there are so many teachers is really wonderful because you can learn to deal with the different standards of teachers and get ready for high school. My only two complaints would be these; Like a parent said on Apirl 26, 2005, there are many high-income families that put pressure on many students and families. My second complaint is that sometimes parents don't get the full benefit of seeing all of their childrens' test scores because some of the teachers do not let the tests go home, and sometimes the teachers do not even let the child see the test, which is bad because the child does not know what they did wrong on the test and therefore cannot fix their mstakes so they have a better understanding of the subject. (Thuas happened to me many times)


Posted March 10, 2009

My only experience with Mayfield is in the Middle School grades and I have nothing but praise for this school. The school provides a very nice balance of nurturing and academically challenging a student. This makes for well prepared and happy students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Our son attends the lower grades at Mayfield Junior School and we have truly loved the experience. The teachers take a true interest in him and want the best for him. Communication between school and home is excellent. I work in education myself and can truly say that MJS is the best I have ever experienced. The school combines the values of a Christian education with quality academic experiences. There is a family feel to this school and everyone looks out for each other. There is diversity here as well, kindness, compassion, and leading by example. We expect our younger daughter to attend in two years time as well. We are very happy to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Understanding what you want for your child is the most important criteria in the selection of a primary school. Ours was to seek a balance between a religious foundation, academics, and sports. Our child attended Mayfield Junior (k-8th grade). MJS follows the philosophy of the Holy Child and we felt that this was the most important element (academics was second). While MJS is not Poly or Chandler (nor do they do pretend to be) they offered advanced Math (in Geometry) beginning in 7th grade to a group of advanced students. By 9th grade, she was ready for Algebra II & Trig (Honors). Our child was accepted at every competitive high school in the area (and LA too). She is now at a liberal private high school with a rigorous curriculum... she is at the top of her class. More importantly, she takes with her Catholic values and wonderful memories of MJS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Good school for middle to high-middle students. Those with special needs or requiring a more challenging curriculum will be better served elsewhere. Head of school retiring, so changes may be in the offing. Math program not as strong as it could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

Our two children attend MJS and we have been associated with the school for over ten years. The academic program is one of the best in the entire city, providing challenge while also supporting children of differing abilities. Parents are initially attracted by the excellent faculty, who are both caring and experienced, but what they grow to love is the entire Mayfield community. The other parents are truly kind, embodying Catholic values, and there is a strong desire to help other families and children have a great experience as well as a strong emphasis on outreach and helping those less fortunate. This program has fostered our children's emotional, physical, and spiritual health while also providing an appropriate level of academic challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My daughter attends MJS, the teachers, staff and students are top quality across the board, every teacher and aid has a BA/S and after 5 years incouraged to get a Masters. High teacher compensation attracts top teachers in the area. Very involved families make for a great school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

MJS is an excellent school. High parental involvement and good communication between school and parents. Challenging environment for the academic development and good support. The wholesome growth of each individual student is focused through many different curricular activities. Quality music, art, sports, drama production and etc. is part of their regular curricula. There is no doubt that MJS is one of the very few best private schools (among countless) in Pasadena area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

MJS is entering their 75th year (founded 1931) of providing the best elementary education in the Pasadena/San Gabriel Valley. Almost all teachers have masters, and some have PhD's. Extensive academic curriculum, sports and arts. Large field, gymnasium, auditorium, music rooms, language labs, science labs, library, and art rooms are some of the best facilities in the area. What is most impressive is the attention to the individual student. They treat each child as reaching his/her academic potential individually. MJS recognizes that it should not create an elementary school environment that solely focuses on intense academic competition. These are kids, after all. So, MJS balances academic preparation with a very supportive, christian environment. As a parent, I appreciate the Catholic moral founcation and discipline the school provides in this increasingly secular world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

This is a great school with devoted teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2005

This is an exceptional school. The curriculum is well researched and is taught in sound learning theory. The faith training and love that is present is what makes it remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

My child recently graduated from Mayfield Junior School's Class of 2005. Mayfield truly provided her with a nuturing, caring and loving learning enviorment that was insturmental in the development of the young woman she has become. The teachers at MJS are top notch and you won't find better ones anywhere else in the country. They truly care about each individual student and get to know them personally. The academic and athletic programs here at Mayfield provide the preparedness that teenagers need to be successful not only in high school but throughout the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2005

Three of my cousins have gone through Mayfield (k-12) and I have been impressed by the academic/athletic outcome for all three. I feel they received excellent educations and are well prepared for highschool. One going to Sacred Heart, another to St. Francis and the youngest to Loyola. However, while Mayfield is a catholic based school, it seems to be moving farther and farther away from a religion based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Academically challenging, but teachers are willing to help students at all levels. About 3 hours of homework per night (including weekends) in 7th grade. Many high income, high achieving families, which can result in quite a bit of pressure on students. Parents are very involved with all aspects of education. All students have opportunities for participation in music, art and sports. Community service projects throughout the year. Limited ethnic diversity, but very tolerant of different religious beliefs, especially for a Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Wonderful learning environment. New state of the art campus. Parents extremely involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 1, 2005

Mayfield Jr. is an excellent school that focuses on educating the whole child. The academic, music and art programs were very strong when my eight siblings and I attended the school; I know they have improved since then. Beyond the high academic standards, the school does a good job of teaching children the value of community involvement and individual responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Highly competitive, superior curriculum. Not for every child but if yours can handle the very enhanced curriculum it is a wonderful place. I am a parent of a graduate and a current student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 26%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joseph Gill
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 South Euclid Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91101
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 796-2774

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

McKinley School
Pasadena, CA


The Waverly School
Pasadena, CA


Waverly School, The
Pasadena, CA




Upshur Academy
Pasadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT