Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
320 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My two daughters go to ABVM Pasadena. Both my girls love ABVM, the teachers and students. My youngest daughter was lucky enough to attend Transitional Kindergarten (TK) last year. It was a great experience for her academically, socially and spiritually. The TK teacher, who is also credentialed reading specialist and has a masters in reading, was the reason we chose to enroll our daughter in TK. Our hope was that with the smaller classes and the attention to early reading, our daughter would be more than prepared for kindergarten, and we were not disappointed. Our daughter's academic development exceed expectation and we credit TK. Our older daughter loves her teachers and the staff of ABVM. She finds her classes challenging and at the same time enjoyable. The teachers, students and their families really make ABVM a special place. My kids feel like part of a bigger family and have flourished accordingly.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
As a stay at home mom, I never had to enroll my child in a preschool. When she became of age to enter school I looked at a variety of schools in the Pasadena area to enroll my child. Fortunately, for me, ABVM has a TK program. I enrolled my child in this school because it is a nurturing and caring environment for my child. The TK teacher is outstanding. She challenges each child academically and creates a learning environment that is fun and creative. Through her guidance, my child excelled socially, academically and spiritually. ABVM has amazing teachers and staff. My overall experience has been outstanding. My child has fantastic classmates and the parents are very supportive of the school. Best of all my child looks forward to going to school.


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank the TK teacher for her hard work and dedication to the school and her students.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at Assumption are outstanding and dedicated to students' academic success and their social developmental skills. Transitional Kinder (TK) in particular captures the spirit of learning while engaged in active language, math, and social practice. As a TK parent, I've witnessed the joyous environment and very positive, animated energy the current TK teacher generates. She solidifies their skills and recognizes their developmental readiness by challenging them and supporting a healthy transition to kindergarten. My son has been in school since age 3 and i've never seen him happier to be in school. He adores his friends, 6th grade buddies, and the atmosphere the teacher creates.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
We were already part of a parish that was closer to our house, but we decided to check out Assumption because my brother’s kids attended there. We were very impressed by the family atmosphere and the academic program which really focused on early reading and mathematics. We eventually decided that the best place my daughter should go was Assumption. We have been there for 2 years and we still feel we made the right decision!! The school provides a well balance between academic, sports and extra-curricular activities which encourages both girls and boys to participate. It is a truly wonderful family environment that I know my child is not only well taken care by the staff, but her classmate’s parents as well. We feel that both my child (and us!) will continue to have a great experience and create lifelong friendships.


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Our family is grateful to all the staff at ABVM. Together they provide a safe and structured learning environment that embraces a progressive approach balanced with traditional academics. Our son has blossomed over the years. ABVM is a community that welcomes the entire family. And so, the entire staff is to be thanked for that!

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
my experience is based on my daughters teacher only. She has taught my daughter study skills and communicates with me any concerns. I feel comfortable going to her for questions or concerns

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
my daughter has about 2 hours of homework a night, but she feels challenged and it's teaching her to be disciplined about getting the work done efficiently.


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
teachers are strict yet nurturing. There are after school tutoring programs for free to help students in certain subjects (i.e. math).

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was previously in a public school where respect wasn't always a priority. Here at ABVM respect is given and received by not only students but also the staff and parish.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
2660 East Orange Grove Boulevard, Pasadena, CA  91107
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (626) 793-2089
Last modified Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top