Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
320 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Our family is grateful to all the staff at ABVM. Together they provide a safe and structured learning environment that embraces a progressive approach balanced with traditional academics. Our son has blossomed over the years. ABVM is a community that welcomes the entire family. And so, the entire staff is to be thanked for that!

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
my experience is based on my daughters teacher only. She has taught my daughter study skills and communicates with me any concerns. I feel comfortable going to her for questions or concerns


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
my daughter has about 2 hours of homework a night, but she feels challenged and it's teaching her to be disciplined about getting the work done efficiently.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
teachers are strict yet nurturing. There are after school tutoring programs for free to help students in certain subjects (i.e. math).

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was previously in a public school where respect wasn't always a priority. Here at ABVM respect is given and received by not only students but also the staff and parish.


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was new to the school and everyone was involved in making sure her transition was smooth. They asked how she was doing and advised if we needed anything to let the teacher or administration know. Mrs. Reagan-Smith (Vice Principal) is amazing and you'll usual find her walking about the school.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I believe that the school staff and administration as well as the parish work together and have the same goals. There is no gray area, they are straight forward of the expectations of the students and parents as well as open to feedback and concerns. The principal and other staff members are very much involved.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves ABVM Pasadena! This is her first year (5th grade) and so far she has expressed that what she loves most is that the school feels more like a family and she feels safe. I'm grateful to be part of such a great school.


Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the third grade teacher who helped my daughter with some social drama. She felt loved and supported and as a result was able to make the tough choices and grow from the experience.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Assumption is a well rounded school where our kids develop spiritually, intellectually, socially, academically, and athletically. Parents and staff are down to earth, dedicated, pro-active, open and welcoming. Both our kids are in the younger grades and every day when they get to school the are welcomed with hugs and smiles from their friends and their buddies in the older grades. We feel blessed to be part of this community that we will always treasure.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School
2660 East Orange Grove Boulevard, Pasadena, CA  91107
(626) 793-2089
Last modified Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top