Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoyah School

Private | K-8 | 190 students

We are best known for innovative curriculum.

 
 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $785,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

My students both attended Sequoyah School and got just the education that the school states in its vision. "A Sequoyah education challenges the mind, nurtures the heart and celebrates human dignity." Most importantly, they learned to think and to ask good questions. I am writing this for those who are worried about the academics. One went on to Westridge and then to Haverford College. That person is now a freelance journalist and has traveled in many different countries. The other graduated from the University of California, Berkeley in Computer Science. Sequoyah is not a school for everyone, but it teachers students how to be life-long learners, good readers and writers, mathematical thinkers and to question everything they hear. It was the school for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I have three children who went all the way through Sequoyah School, and it was a magical experience. In the 8th grade they scored very high on the ISEE, got into the top high schools, and were very well prepared when transitioning into those high schools. At Sequoyah they learned to think critically and creatively, and that's priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2013

A pretty campus and lots of feel good hippy style projects. Not an academic school though, so why go here, especially in the upper grades? You would be better off at your local public school, where there is clear accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This school does progressive education right. It's not the anti-technology, hippie school people might assume it to be. My daughter is now entering the 6th grade here, and although her time is not wasted doing busy work, the curriculum is rigorous, but always appropriately challenging for her. My daughter is a kid who could easily do very well at a school like Poly or Prep, however, the reasons she has thrived at Sequoyah have much more to do than her test scores. At Sequoyah she is challenged to think deeper and broader about subjects or ideas. She is challenged to engage her peer groups in discussions where ideas may very well differ from hers. She is taught discipline without harshness. Last night at back to school night, her teacher summed it up for me. He said, "Although at Sequoyah we push creativity, it is important for our students to learn discipline. Every artist still needs discipline to be able to successfully accomplish their goals and continue to grow in their practice." Self Confidence is another very important part of the teaching here. The school has many different types of ways they challenge students to practice and grow as self confident individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

I have three kids who are, of course, very different learners. Sequoyah School meets each of them where they are, helping them where they need it and opened up opportunities to push themselves where they're strong. My kids are curious and confident learners and good at their school subjects. School staff and administrators show immense respect for kids and families during conflicts and when it's tough, and during easy, every day interactions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Sequoyah is more than just an incredible school. It is a place that teaches what it means to be both self sufficient and an indispensable part of a community. The way this affects the kids (poise, focus, confidence, empathy, resolve, humor, kindness, zeal) is amazing to see. There are so many things that contribute to this at Sequoyah. I haven't read the reviews yet on this site, but I imagine many are well discussed? One of my favorites is the way the kids are regularly intermeshed amongst age levels, in both structured and unstructured ways. Besides the obvious feeling of community this promotes, it gives the kids such a richer learning environment (academically and socio-emotionally) than they would have had otherwise. I like to think that this helps the teenagers (it's K-8) not feel so jaded and withdrawn as tends to happen. I'll never forget my surprise at seeing the whole junior high class taking part in the huge circle for human rights day, holding the hands of 6 year-olds and singing songs - not a rolled eye in the house. This is because they are authentic in their kindness toward their school community and their world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is a school that only works for children who fit a particular mold. Teachers and administration have little interest and no skill in working with children who don't fit into their criteria for getting with their program. Children who don't fit their mold, who may need slightly more structure or support are left to their own devices to flail and fail publicly and painfully. Just this past year two children were forced to leave before the year's end because of the staff's inability to help them navigate the environment and the teachers' indifference to their struggles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Our child has been at Sequoyah for years, and we are so sad that they don't have a high school or we would be there through senior year! The teachers are dedicated, intelligent, inspirational and caring. The teachers are available to both students and parents at all times either via email or phone. Sequoyah gave our child the the foundation for critical thinking, to explore and to be curious, to be empathetic and to be kind. The students there have a deep sense of who they are, and that they can achieve anything. They take pride in their work. The curriculum can be challenging but they offer support for those who need it. My child always looks forward to going to school. I cannot say enough positive things about Sequoyah. It is not for parents concerned with the maintenance of educational standards based on testing, sitting quietly and still in a classroom and motivation through grades. However, if you want a happy child who is motivated, empathetic, concerned about the environment, who chooses experiences over materialism, Sequoyah is the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Sequoyah School has been our touchstone for nine years now. Our daughter has one more year there and our son is moving into the upper classes. Both kids have received academic and emotional support beyond what we would expect from a school. They both have learning differences which the teachers and administration were pro-active in having addressed. Both our children have been given the support they needed without their self esteem being compromised. I don't know of more dedicated, holistic, resourceful group of teachers or administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

I have been a Sequoyah parent for three years, with two children currently enrolled (kindergarten and 2nd grade). Although my children couldn't be more different in personality and learning style, Sequoyah has proven to be a perfect environment for each of them to thrive and develop as humans and individuals. I am consistently impressed with the teaching staff, not only for their creative and holistic approaches to learning, but also because they truly know my children and are able to provide individualized feedback and support as needed. Embracing a progressive approach to education has been a new experience for our family, but certainly not a difficult one given the positive outcomes we have witnessed so far in our children - confidence, strong sense of self, heightened empathy, love of learning (and of camping!), and yes, academic achievements, too, including a strong foundation in the "three Rs". I'm excited to think of what's to come for them and for us as we continue our Sequoyah journey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Our son is about to graduate from Sequoyah School and we are nothing but pleased with his experience there. In the upper grades everything came together for him. Having been provided "the space" to mature as a student, without any premature onslaught of formal academics, he emerged into a self-motivated, earnest student. He views school as a veritable home away from home, has terrific relationships with his teachers, and not once has he ever complained attending school. Learning is not a chore for him, but a desired pursuit. He will now be attending a top-performing local high school, with the inner resources to adequately extract from it what he can, rather than be burned out from the get go, like so many other kids we know. Ultimately, this is exactly what we sought when we first applied to Sequoyah. We will be leaving the school with tremendous admiration and appreciation for what it offered our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Sequoyah School has been transformative for our son, who will be leaving the 8th grade there and attending Flintridge Preperatory School this fall. The Sequoyah progressive educational philosophy was highly effective, allowing our son the time to mature into formal academics, without any "homework grind," such that now he is independently motivated and very responsible when it comes to academic learning. We will be moving on from Sequoyah, which has been our community lifeblood for the past eight years. The teachers teach out of a sense of vocation and their enthusiasm for learning has been passed onto our son. We are grateful beyond belief.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

While Sequoyah talks a good game about nurturing kids and individualizing instruction, the reality couldn't be further from the truth. The kids are largely unsupervised for the majority of the school day, and academic instruction is both minimal and aimless. There is a great deal of grandstanding and self-congratulation around the school's "habits of mind," yet in practice, neither the teachers nor the administrators are accountable for student learning or development. To make things worse, there are frequent incidents of physical harm and bullying at the school, which the administration callously shrugs off as adherence to their educational "philosophy." This school fails both to prepare students academically and to create an environment in which it is safe to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Sequoyah School is appropriate for students who are slow learners and can not keep up with normal grade level academics. I wish we had known that Sequoyah was such a non-academic school when we enrolled our child. After two years we took our child out of Sequoyah and switched to our local public school. Our child is now getting a much better and well rounded education and we are saving thousands of dollars a year, although we are currently spending money on a tutor so that our son can catch up to his classmates who attended public school for their initial years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

love of learning,individuality,social consciousness camping,emergent curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It nurtures children and helps them become caring and conscientious members of the collective body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Freedom, individuality, emergent curriculum, love of learning, empowerment, hot lunch, camping!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Sequoyah helps your child find who he or she is and become confident in being that person. My daughter came out of there and chose a very academic school that tests often and grades conventionally, and at the end of her first year was the only person in her 9th grade class to rival the older girls at her new school for sheer number of academic achievement awards. I attribute her enthusiasm and confidence in her ability to take on a new and very structured system to the self-awareness she learned at Sequoyah.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My child has been at Sequoyah from Kindergarten through Second Grade so far and it is absolutely perfect for him. Yes it is not academic-test driven like many schools, but that is why many progressive-minded families go here. The curriculum is inquiry based and individualized and our child comes home most days with self-designated homework assignments. The arts programs are amazing as is the immersive camping program and the overall sense of community. It is getting expensive, but hopefully tuition assistance will help keep that from being a barrier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

This school is very good for Kindergarten-1st grade but after that, the curriculum is uninspired and the kids are behind--most parents need to supplement the older kids with private tutors. For a school that charges almost $16,000/year in tuition, this is ridiculous. Also the tuition has increased over 40% in the last 3 years and is scheduled to continue increasing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 26%
Black 16% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 11%
Hispanic 14% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Josh Brody
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses or vans for field trip
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 South Pasadena Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91105
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 795-4351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Waverly School
Pasadena, CA


Waverly School, The
Pasadena, CA





St. Monica Academy
Pasadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT