Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler School

Private | K-8 | 447 students

We are best known for rigorous academics.

 
 

Living in Pasadena

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $357,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2014

Chandler School is an outstanding environment for students and adults alike. The community is warm, the students are bright and engaged, and the campus is beautiful. Chandler teachers are responsive to students and their parents, and are constantly seeking new ways to engage students and build within them a love for learning. The alumni body is a group of successful people of high character who benefited from the rigor of Chandler's program. Visit the school and learn about the program. Chandler is more than just a vessel for high school placement, it is a transformative experience for students, teachers, and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2014

Chandler's curriculum is not difficult, but there is a lot of work. They value quantity over quality. The school does not teach children to be critical thinkers. There is way too much "teaching" through fill-in-the-blank apps and rote memorization exercises. The teachers and staff are good, but they are not allowed to truly teach the children. This is not the fault of the teachers or administration. I blame the over-demanding parents and the self-proclaimed tiger moms. It is a very unhealthy environment, especially in the upper school. There are high numbers of stressed out and depressed kids because of this. I found the upper school head completely useless, She failed to place 4.0 students. I still don't understand what she is doing there. She definitely brings the standards down. All in all I had a very disappointing experience at Chandler. The kids are kind and the teachers are talented. I just wish they were allowed to teach these gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

The BEST K-8 school if your child is cut out for the academic rigor. The teachers are excellent and caring. The school strives for character building which includes moral development, community service as well as acceptance of all diversity. My kids were lifers and the level of work progresses each year, in preparation for middle school. Middle school is challenging and your child must have good time management skills if they are involved in many activities. Overall, my kids loved the school and we highly recommend it if your child is a good fit. The people who are writing negative reviews most likely have children that would benefit from another school. Instead of writing negative reviews they should respect Chandler and realize they applied their kids to the wrong school for their child. There are so many good schools in the area in which a child can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

My children have thrived at Chandler since Kindergarten. We find the curriculum innovative, challenging and well-rounded. The teachers are passionate and knowledgeable. The community - students and parents alike - are welcoming and extremely helpful. My children loved the LS immersive learning including Dr. Seuss Week in K, World Geography field trips in 3rd, and the Boston Tea Party reenactment in 5th grade! In MS, the curriculum is rigorous, structured around core subjects of English, Math, History, Spanish and Science. It is amazing when I see an entire class conversing in Spanish, and see children engaged in games that make learning grammar fun! Chandler also has a very strong performance arts program, and the MS musicals and plays match what you see in High School. The PE program is exceptional with the usual sports (soccer, basketball, track) but also unicycle, rollerblading, and lacrosse. Chandler also emphasizes Character Education. I was impressed when I visited a classroom years ago and saw a teacher lead a discussion on the Golden Rule. 8 years later, I remain pleased when I read the homework sheet summarizing the Pillar of the week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

As an alum and now a parent, I can think of no better place for my children to get an education than Chandler. Chandler School has the challenging academics, the fantastic teachers, the amazing campus and an administration that is truly focused on improving the lives of each of our children. The Chandler community is warm, welcoming and kind. As a volunteer, there are many opportunities to be involved in school. The Afterschool program is well managed, educational and engaging. Did I mention the sports program? When would you ever get to try everything from roller blades and skateboards to field hockey and unicycles? Chandler's S.T.E.A.M. programs combine all the different parts of the curriculum into single projects that teach the interrelatedness of the real world. At the last Alumni Visiting Day, they put together a panel of 9 incredible Alumni from 1999. These incredible young men and women shared individual and unique journeys, but they were unified by the feeling that Chandler had prepared them for high school, college and life. They were inspirational. We couldn't be happier at Chandler.


Posted December 12, 2013

Chandler provides the best K-8 education in Pasadena, hands down. The faculty is truly and consistently exceptional compared to their peers at other schools. The headmaster and the heads of the Lower School and the Middle School are the best trifecta of administrators you will find anywhere. Working together, the administrators and faculty are constantly innovating at a dizzying speed. The result is a school that has no equal in terms of its high-technology environment and integrated curriculum. Some of the Middle School classes even have the feel of college-level seminars. Entering high school, Chandler grads are way ahead of the curve and tend to finish at the top of their class. Given Chandler's rigorous and challenging curriculum, bright, motivated students do best. Chandler is not an ideal place for students who struggle academically. The facilities are first-rate, with a beautiful, brand new Middle School building and a fairly new Lower School building. The community of families is warm and tight-knit. If your child is a high achiever, do yourself a favor: take a tour, talk to teachers and students, and then talk to John Finch (the headmaster). You won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Chandler fits all the old (and bad) stereotypes of country club private school education. An inane amount of busy work with little appreciation or support for creative thinking. In hindsight, it was a big mistake for us to send our children to Chandler. They emerged from the Chandler ivory tower experience feeling bitter and depressed about themselves and education (although they did well academically). They were constantly sleep deprived and stressed. We spent a fortune on their education and did them a disservice. They know an amazing amount of "facts" without depth of experience. We should have sent our children to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Our kids were "lifers". They are doing very well in high school. We wanted and got a strong academic program together with a dedicated arts curriculm. The work load was always manageable for bright, organized kids. Middle school was competitive. It is not reasonable to gig Chandler for mercurial high school admission departments - especially Poly which just is not going to admit all the highly-qualified Asian kids that apply. But as a rule, Chandler middle-schoolers are admitted to well regarded high school programs and likewise transition very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I disagree with the prev post, why do we look at middle schools as the ones that will ensure gateway to getting to the 1st choice high school? Isn't learning life skills, time management, having a good personality and being able to take the challenges of a high school education and college and a good citizen not equally important? Some of the most successful friends around me did not attend 'name' schools but learnt and mastered the few things i mentioned earlier.It's time parents stop having such a myopic viewpoint. I like the workload and the way Chandler Middle school functions..the homework is n't a great deal as some of the parents make..I have consistently timed my 6th grader. There are a few numbered days when he has to work until 11 in the night but mostly is is 2 to 2.5 hrs which should be expected of a middle schooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Chandler has lost its influence with high schools. There are many 2010 graduates that were rejected from their first choice school. There is no reason to subject your student and family to the torments of a Chandler education. (You can expect your middle schools student to spend 4-6 hours a night including many hours on the weekend on homework.) Let your student have a childhood at another school - the high school placement will most certainly be the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

My child entered Chandler as a sixth grader and we couldn't be happier: the transition from public to private has been essentially painless, the administrators are top notch, the teachers are wonderful, and the children have been kind and welcoming. First, I will say that the my child has been challenged by the homework/study load, but coming from public school, we knew that was a given. All in all, the workload is rigorous, but so far it's been manageable. The children are encouraged to be independent and 'helicopter' parents are discouraged. Second, the staff and administrators have been both gracious and kind. Rules for behavior are strict, as is the dress code, and students appear to take these rules very seriously. I will add that discipline, however, does not seem heavy handed. Teachers and adminst.'s are professional but playful and good-natured, and consequently, my child looks forward to each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

Phenominal is the word. Top noch academics right from lower school until middle school. Be prepared for marathon of homework, but in the end your kid not only comes out super prepared to tackle the challenges of high school but has learnt time management skills, enhanced his personality with the many many activities , sports, music that the kid gets exposed to. The skills that are so important for much of their lives starting in high schools. And to tell you a fact..Pasadena area independent high school are in love with Chandler kids.. see the placememt results for the past so many years and you get the idea. My son is graduating this year and I am super pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

I like Chandler (student-7th). It's not the perfect school, but it is the school for academics and for the future. The teachers match their studies to the other teachers and work together for a better learning experiance. For example, my history teacher and English teacher both work together, matching the scheduals to avoid over-working my classmates and myself. Last year, our history class, English class, and computer class put together a project (individual students) for a total result. We made an essay type report and a slideshow to present to our class. I, as a student, highly recommend Chandler to new-coming parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

My son has been at Chandler from K-2 and I have mixed feelings about it. His teachers have been excellent at teaching; they are attentive and nurturing. The school is academically demanding in terms of quantity of work and prepares students for marathons of homework. However, it seems to lack emphasis on critical thinking and creative problem-solving. Furthermore, the school culture strongly favors families with stay-at-home moms and country club memberships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Two of my kids have graduated, one is in middle school and one is still in elementary school. Overall, a superb school. Academics are the primary focus, the reputation for a lot of work is very deserved. Some speak of lack of nurturing: strongly disagree. My kids received such love and support from the staff, faculty and admin that I can't put it into words. My kids ran the gamut from over to under achievers, and all had a good experience. The under achiever needed help and he got it, unstintingly. Problems? Some, just like any place: too much homework, they could cut it by 20%; some snooty parents and kids? Yeah. Overall, your kid will come out super prepared. Faculty is generally excellent and very caring. Some real winners among the teachers (huzzah Ashley Paine). Head master is very good, moving in right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Overall the school is good. I wouldn't say great. I feel a lot of improvement needs to be done. There is a lot of 'lip service' paid by the lower school administrator, and she also plays favorites. She inserts herself into every tiny issue and escalets it which is entirely unnecessary. I feel the teachers are good, but restrained. The teachers are not given the freedom to move the kids along if the kids are ready to move ahead in a subject. The administrator seems to 'dumb down' some subjects as math, social studies which is frustrating. My child will move over to the upper school next year which I'm looking forward to. For the most part Chandler is good and could be great if teachers ideas and talents were utilized properly. More advanced classes are needed. Great parent involvement needs more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

My son has attended Chandler since Kindergarten. The school is very good for K, 1 and 2 but from then on it becomes academic bootcamp. The curriculum is characterized by quantity, not quality. Children spend hours doing homework starting in third grade and tests are too frequent. There is virtually no extra help offered, so you need to hire tutors if your child is not the kind that can read a text once and have a photographic memory for details. This school is challenging (its reputation), but it is also ruthless in how it treats children. Teacher quality is very spotty. Don't believe the current, new mission statement that says the school is nurturing. This is especially not true of the middle school. Unless you want no family life and are prepared to have your child doing homework every night,weekend and school holiday, this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

We have been at Chandler since kindergarten and our daughter is now in fifth grade. We have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. From the staff to faculty the experience has been top rate. The parents are very involved and the envirnment is warn and encouraging. It is a highly academic and competitive school but also provides numerous opportunities for extra-curricular activities and has strong music and art programs as well as computer and foreign language. I look forward to our son starting there next fall. I recommend the school highly and have never questioned our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Chandler is outstanding academically, but the faculty and administration also work hard to ensure children are respectful to others and develop in character and spirit as well. There is little bullying or mean behavior in general among the lower school children. Kids and teachers are supportive of eachother while maintaining very high expectations. There is some stress, so one must decide if the school is a good fit for their child's personality. The enrollment is quite diverse racially, but could be more inclusive socioeconomically. The administration is very concerned about this and is working hard to extend opportunities to a greater variety of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

Chandler is a VERY difficult school. There is a great student teacher ratio, which prepares the students VERY well for high school. Chandler students virtually get into any good high school they apply to if they keep up their grades. The atmosphere at Chandler is something I have not found anywhere else. Everybody knows eachother, and its 'cool' to get GOOD grades!! Chandler is a special school for only the smartest of kids and workes them to their potential.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 26%
Two or more races 18% 3%
Hispanic 7% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • John Finch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (626) 795-6508

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$18000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Flintridge Preparatory School
Polytechnic School
Mayfield Senior School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1005 Armada Drive
Pasadena, CA 91103
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 795-9314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Horizon School
Pasadena, CA



St. Monica Academy
Pasadena, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT