Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pearblossom Private School, Inc.

Private | K-12 | 56 students

We are best known for quality distance education.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Pearblossom

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

My 4th and 5th graders are doing this program. This is their second year. As with Any other homeschool program it was hard at the beginning, however I realized that in order to succeed, as a parent a needed to be very involved, especially if your child is young. I also realized this program might not work for everyone:my son learns much more visually than my daughter, she learns better by reading. She loves this program! however my son has a hard time seating because this program is more writing and reading, its not computer based or hands-on as others. It's not a bad program at all, it's really good, but the style might not work for every child. I'm just thankful I found it!! I would love to have a direct direction to reinforce between the workbook assignments and the practice books, but otherwise GREAT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I am a current student. I love pearblossom school. Yes, it is run by witnesses. But no, this school does not push religeous beliefs on anyone. You have the option to shorten your school year or extend it adding subjects. Yes, the school consists of reading a chapter and taking a test. But the test is designed in a way that, if you didn't understand anything you read, you WILL NOT be able to take the test. Trust me, I've learned. And you know what, if someone is complaining that this school is "boring", then why did you even start homeschooling? Yes, you have to educate yourself. Yes, you have to be a hard worker. And YES, there are projects and essays to do. I am in 10th grade and I have to do 6 APA essays that require a lot of research and careful layout. This school is great and I thank Jehovah, because I can say this school saved my life.


Posted February 20, 2013

Respectfully, I beg to differ...this school is not run for "just Jehovah's Witnesses." It is NOT used to go out and "convert" people. You don't have to be Witnesses to attend here...Just like, you don't have to be a Witness to attend ANY public or private school system. Yes, for a Witness, the curriculum can be tailored around their way of life. Is it mandatory for everyone who is attending? NO. If a Witness chooses to use the Young People Ask Book as part of their Health curriculum then that is their choice. The school does not push that or any personal beliefs on anyone. If you want a regular Health textbook that is provided by the state, then that is perfectly fine as well and is provided to the student...AND BY THE WAY, ANY HOMESCHOOL PROGRAM IS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT AND PUT INTO IT. A student in ANY homeschooling program has to have patience, time and the DILIGENCE to keep up with their studies along with supervision and input from the parent(s). Parents have to put in the time, too. It is definitely not like sending them off to school. No ONE program is perfect, PERIOD. While this program is fine for a lot of people, it's obviously not the right one for your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Just FYI this is not a "nonsectarian" school. It is run for Jehovahs Witness parents to put their kids into, and their Jehovahs Witness publications and door to door activity are built into the curriculum. If you are not a Jehovahs Witness (and if you are anyone who wants a quality, engaging education), best stay away. Here's more on why: This school consists of learning a textbook chapter completely on your own (with no requirement to turn in any assignments) and then take an online test. As far as I can tell so far, no writing, no projects, nothing other than these tests. Seems boring and very much like the previous reviewer who said she basically had to teach herself. You get what you put in, and only a very patient and dedicated student would get anything lasting out of it. The "Questions Young People Ask" book by Jehovah Witnesses is used as a textbook. Also you can get "Career Planning" credit for spending lots of hours witnessing and trying to get converts for Jehovah. This school is basically designed to get you in and out of the school with a minimum of effort and time so you can turn around and be a full time Jehovah Witness "pioneer." Very little academic merit ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

I am a current student. I thought this program was great at first, but, this year has been horrible. They say they offer help over the phone between around 9am to 5pm (I HAVE THE SAME TIME ZONE) and the ONLY one that actually knows anything is the professer. He is rarely in when they say he is, and the staff itself doesn't know how to help, all they know is the answers because they can look them up. They basically leave you on your own to teach yourself. (Especially if your parents like mine, don't even understand the work) I am highly disapointed with this program. :(


Posted August 1, 2011

My sister and I graduated in 2002 and this school was excellent for us! However, I will warn that once you graduate they are less than helpful. I have spent several weeks trying to get my transcripts from them. Because of their refusal to communicate in a timely manner, I have lost my college grant.


Posted September 10, 2009

i love this school! the staff is very helpful and the curriculum is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

Excellent School! My daughter started Pearblossom Private School before she was 1. They taught her to read at 6-months old. Today my daughter is 10-years old and in High School with them and she attends college at the same time and it's all to do from the wonderful program of Pearblossom Private School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

We are totally thrilled with Pearblossom Private School! Both of our daughters were homeschooled using PPS for junior and senior high. They graduated at 15 and 16 years of age and were quickly accepted by local colleges. They are both pre-nursing students with GPA's of 3.7 and 3.9. Much of their success is directly due to the Pearblossom method of learning and testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Rusty Goldman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (661) 944-4483

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • A combination 11/12th grade allows the high school student the opportunity to graduate a year earlier than the traditional 4-year public school system. Algebra I is now a requirement for a high school diploma.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13134 East Avenue V 13
Pearblossom, CA 93553
Website: Click here
Phone: (800) 309-3569

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aviyah Academy
Llano, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT