Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 182 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Perris

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

My 2 boys came from public school before they went to St James last year. Even though it is free at the public school, we chose to pay in a catholic school because of the quality of education. My kids were "A " students in public school and when they went to St . James, we realized how much behind they were in academics. We are so glad we decided to take them to this school. The school maybe old , but we just started last year and you can see some changes as months pass by. It is visible how all the staff with the leadership of the principal Mrs Lara and parent volunteers, work hard to make the school great. Everytime you go to the office, they know you and your kids name , it is a very tight family oriented school. Students are academically and spiritually guided and love the fact that they have school mass every Wednesday ,which is so great. Both kids and us parents are very happy of being at St. James, we just regret we could have started them here earlier. We highly recommend this school to parents who are concern of their kid's future .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

I only give four stars because the school is old & we are still trying to fix it up.My children went here & my grandchildren. One just graduated after 9 years the other has been there 8. We have the best principle Mrs. Lara, she works very hard to get the best supplies & new books.Everybody pretty much knows everybody. They have Faith families where the older children look out for the little ones


Posted June 11, 2012

My child attended a public school from pre-k thru 2nd grade and I can tell you what a huge improvement St. James Catholic School is in comparison to public school. One of the things that I love about St. James is that because it is a small school students get to know teachers, staff, and all other students very well. Also, as a parent I was used to just being another parent when I walked in a school office but here they know you by name as well as your child. There are many great opportunities for parent involvement throughout the year. Oh, and I definitely love that each teacher has a webpage where parents can access homework assignments as well as important upcoming events. On the downside the facilities are a bit old but they have been working hard making upgrades they do have a newly renovated kitchen, computer lab, and library *** I have to be honest and say that this school is not equipped to handle students with special needs (IEP's) their resources in this area are very limited***
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

My oldest daughter has attended this school from Kindergarten to 8th Grade (2011). She has been an honor roll student for many years. She has excelled in math, English, spelling and writing. St. James encourages children to participate in class presentations from Kindergarten through 8th grade; which is a great asset in life. My daughter has been accepted into a public high school with high academic standards and will be taking advanced classes. If you want your child to succeed, parents must be involved in every aspect of their children's education. St. James has always been good in communicating with parents when children are struggling. It is up to the parents to assist them in overcoming the barriers that are holding them back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

regardless of what school your child attends its your responsibility to see that your child does their work, can read, is not disruptive to others and that you contribute to the overall environment by participating. parents who depend on teachers or staff to raise their children by not only educating them but teaching them manners or moral character are the type of people who have children wth issues both scholastically and socially. this school and the parents who consistently contribute to guide this school are doing an excellent job. most parents take responsibility, faith and education seriously by taking ownership & accountability for the success/failure of their children rather than blame everyone/thing around. it is a safe school with a community environment based on faith...every child is part of one big family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

The last comment If a child is not performing to its capacity it's not the teachers fault but the parents lack of involvement. UNTRUE!! This school has NO resources! There is a part time resource teacher who is sent a handful of students (at least 5 at a time from my knowledge) possibly 2x per week. Also the size of this so-called resource room is the same size as a walk in closet. The poor teacher doesn t even have enough room to work with the kids. However this is a private school and they do not get the funding they need to provide ANY child with ANY extra resources that they might need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

based on my experience I believe that the shcool is doing a great job. The principle is always available to answer any concerns or any suggestion that parents may have. The level of education is superior; both of my kids are doing wounderful in every subject. If a child is not performing to its capacity it's not the teachers fault but the parents lack of involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

One of the few Catholic Schools with a religious order present in the school! The school has many lovely Catholic traditions and a supportive Pastor. A jewel in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

St. James offers a safe school environment with helpful teachers.


Posted December 4, 2006

Last year the school had a more Christian atmosphere. Both of my kids did very well. With the change in principals, the school has not lived up to its Faith base. The students do not show a Christian Community atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

Great school to start your kid in.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 21, 2006

Poor quality teachers. Principal is never available to address issues. School is reluctant to parental involvement. 8th graders ill equipt for high school. Teach to the lowest level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

Quality of education is substandard, teach to the lowest level. Interference in parental relationships. Use extreme caution when considering St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

We have Kindergartener,2nd,4th,5th,6th graders in 2005. The open court reading program is excellent.The teachers very caring and informative. The small school is a wonderful family enviroment. There is after school sports,and the parent involvement is very high. The science fair is my favorite event along many more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

St. James is a wonderful school. My son has learned so much in his 1st grade class this year. Ms. Earhart is a great teacher. The staff and volunteers are very loving people. We are moving and I will miss this school so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2003

I guess perhaps as a former student at St. James I'm more qualified than my parents to say that this was a great school. I was in the second 8th grade class to graduate in 1969. I only attended St. James for my 7th and 8th grade years but those were the best! I had gone from being a C/D/F student to an A/B student under the care and love of Mother de Chantel. If your child gets a chance to experience a teacher like that you are more than lucky! I hope that the Sisters of Mercy are still actively involved in education at St. James. They are what made the experience wonderful!


Posted November 13, 2003

I thought it was a good school for my two daughters
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 52%
White 19% 26%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Camile Lara
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 West 3rd Street
Perris, CA 92570
Phone: (951) 657-5226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT