Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Perris, CA
Students enrolled: 182

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. James Catholic School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
My 2 boys came from public school before they went to St James last year. Even though it is free at the public school, we chose to pay in a catholic school because of the quality of education. My kids were "A " students in public school and when they went to St . James, we realized how much behind they were in academics. We are so glad we decided to take them to this school. The school maybe old , but we just started last year and you can see some changes as months pass by. It is visible how all the staff with the leadership of the principal Mrs Lara and parent volunteers, work hard to make the school great. Everytime you go to the office, they know you and your kids name , it is a very tight family oriented school. Students are academically and spiritually guided and love the fact that they have school mass every Wednesday ,which is so great. Both kids and us parents are very happy of being at St. James, we just regret we could have started them here earlier. We highly recommend this school to parents who are concern of their kid's future .

St. James Catholic School 4

Posted July 20, 2012
- a community member
I only give four stars because the school is old & we are still trying to fix it up.My children went here & my grandchildren. One just graduated after 9 years the other has been there 8. We have the best principle Mrs. Lara, she works very hard to get the best supplies & new books.Everybody pretty much knows everybody. They have Faith families where the older children look out for the little ones


St. James Catholic School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
My oldest daughter has attended this school from Kindergarten to 8th Grade (2011). She has been an honor roll student for many years. She has excelled in math, English, spelling and writing. St. James encourages children to participate in class presentations from Kindergarten through 8th grade; which is a great asset in life. My daughter has been accepted into a public high school with high academic standards and will be taking advanced classes. If you want your child to succeed, parents must be involved in every aspect of their children's education. St. James has always been good in communicating with parents when children are struggling. It is up to the parents to assist them in overcoming the barriers that are holding them back.

St. James Catholic School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
regardless of what school your child attends its your responsibility to see that your child does their work, can read, is not disruptive to others and that you contribute to the overall environment by participating. parents who depend on teachers or staff to raise their children by not only educating them but teaching them manners or moral character are the type of people who have children wth issues both scholastically and socially. this school and the parents who consistently contribute to guide this school are doing an excellent job. most parents take responsibility, faith and education seriously by taking ownership & accountability for the success/failure of their children rather than blame everyone/thing around. it is a safe school with a community environment based on faith...every child is part of one big family

St. James Catholic School 2

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
The last comment If a child is not performing to its capacity it's not the teachers fault but the parents lack of involvement. UNTRUE!! This school has NO resources! There is a part time resource teacher who is sent a handful of students (at least 5 at a time from my knowledge) possibly 2x per week. Also the size of this so-called resource room is the same size as a walk in closet. The poor teacher doesn t even have enough room to work with the kids. However this is a private school and they do not get the funding they need to provide ANY child with ANY extra resources that they might need.


St. James Catholic School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
based on my experience I believe that the shcool is doing a great job. The principle is always available to answer any concerns or any suggestion that parents may have. The level of education is superior; both of my kids are doing wounderful in every subject. If a child is not performing to its capacity it's not the teachers fault but the parents lack of involvement.

St. James Catholic School 4

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
One of the few Catholic Schools with a religious order present in the school! The school has many lovely Catholic traditions and a supportive Pastor. A jewel in the rough.

St. James Catholic School 4

Posted February 05, 2008
- a community member
St. James offers a safe school environment with helpful teachers.


St. James Catholic School 3

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. James Catholic School 2

Posted December 04, 2006
- a parent
Last year the school had a more Christian atmosphere. Both of my kids did very well. With the change in principals, the school has not lived up to its Faith base. The students do not show a Christian Community atmosphere.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. James Catholic School
250 West 3rd Street, Perris, CA  92570
(951) 657-5226
Last modified St. James Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. James Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top