Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Marianne De Paredes Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pico Rivera

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $260,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

My dauther is the first Jr. Kindergarten class that SMS ever had. I can honestly say that I was very happy with the teacher and office staff. I loved the fact that the Jr. Kindergarten teacher care about the education of the kids. My dauther learned alot and not to mention that we as the parents have to do our part at home when it comes to the education. I love the fact that the school is very united. We are very happy that we are part of the SMS family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

Obviously, some teachers have been at this school for a long time and it's time for them to move on. This school needs changes with with new ideas from new teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I have very mixed feelings about this school. If it is such a good school, then why are so many teachers leaving at the end of 2010 school year? There is some serious issues at this school that no one is telling us about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

Unfortunately, the principal is not very receptive to negative criticism of her teachers. It is very hit or miss in terms of the quality of the teaching staff e.g. good teacher one year, not so good the next, etc. If you want to be here for the social aspect, it is a good place because you will know all your kids classmates and their parents. But academically, not very rigorous. They need to do some major changes if they want to keep enrollment at a decent number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

I have been a parent at this school for many years and of course I have seen many changes. If your a parent that has concerns or feedback about the school you should bring to the attention of the administration. I am very pleased with the way the teachers handle situations and are always striving to give the students the best possible information! I have a son in high school and St. Marianne really did prepare him. The foundation he received was worth the sacrifices that I paid! If your looking for a family oriented school this is the place! Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I am very disappointed with the education my first grader is receiving. I was talked into staying another year after being unhappy about kinder, but I am really regretting my decision. I am beginning to see that there is another reason, besides the financial situation, for the low enrollment at SMS. High academic standards are not a priority but fundraising is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

This school is not doing a good job of educating our children. I've tried talking to the administrator but while she is nice, she is also not good at following through. It is a shame to pay tuition for a school with such low expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Unfortunately, the academic expectations are not very high. The school needs extensive remodeling. The staff is nice but there needs to be more consistency in the quality of teachers. I expect more from a private school and I'm considering pulling my children out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I am new parent at this school and I am so impressed. There are retreats for all the classes and the Catholic culture at this school is very apparent, practiced, and encouraged. My kids transitioned very well. The staff AND students went out of their way to ensure that my kids felt welcomed. The principal has been a support that I'm not used to and am deeply grateful for. I / we are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I love this school and think it's a great place to get an education. With the help of teachersa and trying your best, you could surely be accepted into a top rated high school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 89%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6%
Two or more races 4%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7911 Buhman Avenue
Pico Rivera, CA 90660
Phone: (562) 949-1234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rivera Elementary School
Pico Rivera, CA




Jersey Avenue Elementary School
Santa Fe Springs, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT