Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beach Elementary School 3

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Our two daughters truly loved their experiences at Beach Elementary. The school is build around a strong core of dedicated and talented educators with detailed knowledge of current pedagogy surrounding literacy. Parent involvement is a key element to the school's success with adult volunteers offering a variety of support at all grade levels. These two elements compensate for a lack of leadership and vision from the current administration. Echoing a comment from another posting, the principal avoids conflict by telling parents what they want to hear. Unfortunately, she failed to follow through on promises on several occasions. However, despite the current principal's shortcomings and inability to articulate a genuine vision beyond test scores, test scores and test scores the staff and families more than make up for her weaknesses. Your children will be in very good hands.

Beach Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
I went to Beach School for 6 years, some of the best years of my life. Its a wonderful school with great teachers, staff, and students. Defintely five stars! :)


Beach Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
We are very happy with our school, the teachers, the office staff, the after-school program, the community and the parents who so heartily give of themselves to help all our children have a committed and safe environment for learning and developing relationships and to be life-long learners. The children are placed above all else at Beach Elementary.

Beach Elementary School 2

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is too concerned about meeting state minimum standards. They are always crying about how little money they have or how they can't do something because of money. There is no gifted program for k-3 and the differential learning program is very poor. The principal is very weak and has no imagination when it comes to serving students. She is also wishy-washy, telling you one thing in a parent meeting and then not following through, or making a new decision that she doesn't communicate to you until you follow through. We moved to Piedmont for the 'outstanding' schools. Instead we pulled our kids out of the school and sent them to nearby private schools with clear, and achievable standards. If you have a kid who can excel, stay away from this school, save money, move to Montclair and send your kid to a day school

Beach Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Beach Elementary School 4

Posted February 28, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Beach Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2006
- a parent
Excellent academics and extracurricular activities. Smallest of the 3 Piedmont elementary schools which are absolutely excellent.

Beach Elementary School 4

Posted August 17, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Beach Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2005
- a parent
Our child has attended Beach School for 5 years K-4 and is due to start 5th grade this fall. We have nothing but positive comments about the school, its teachers, principal and learning environment. The level of parent involvement high, the availability of music, art and extracurricular activities are numerous and most importantly the caring and expertise of the teachers and staff make our child's experience and excitement about learning a joy.

Beach Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2005
- a parent
We have two daughters, currently in 3rd and 1st grade. We have been very pleased with the school. The school community is very strong, with a high degree of parent participation. Our children love going to school and are learning much more sophisticated material than I did at their age. Both girls were reading chapter books in 1st grade. Our 3rd grader is becoming quite adept at fractions and decimals, writes a strong paragraph, and is enraptured with science. In a school with such impressive test scores, there would be a natural fear that the school only teaches to the test, but this has not been our experience. The school seems to cultivate learning for learning's sake, and also focuses on a child's ability to speak publicly. The arts are well supported. The Beach review is a wonderful opportunity for singing, there's a strong orchestral program in the higher grades.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beach Elementary School
100 Lake Ave, Piedmont, CA  94611
(510) 594-2666
Last modified Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beach Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top