Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2012
- a parent
We moved from San Francisco to Piedmont for the schools. While our girls were in a great Spanish Immersion program in the city and we miss the intensive language practice, Havens has a before school Spanish program our girls love. And the creativity and approach to academics at Havens surpasses all that we've seen prior. The teachers and students have welcomed our kids very warmly. The teachers engage the girls in all kinds of creative learning projects. Our girls are pushed harder than they had been in San Francisco, but are stepping up and really enjoying it. Besides teaching the standards, their teachers are helping them with concepts such as time management, organization, leadership, teamwork, and much more. While we've only been in Piedmont for 3 months, I'm sure it was the right move for our family.

Havens Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
It is an excellent school. Now both my daughters graduated from this school I have no current knowledge.


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
We are in first grade and loving it. We have a brand new, beautiful, state of the art campus, amazing teachers and Tery Susman our School Principal is fantastic. Parents are very involved, but it isn't expected. Some parents that work full time may only volunteer in the classroom once a month and others may wear many hats. I try to help raise money during our annual campaign and for Spring Fling our parent party/fundraiser. Happy Havens Family!

Havens Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
We're close to building a fabulous new school for the kids! We have great teachers, great diversity, and now the kids will have a modern school and playground.

Havens Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The whole community is involved in everything from enrichment curriculum (art, music, movement, math, etc.) to working the hot lunch lines). The science program/teacher is exceptionally strong and incorporates an environmentally conscious curriculum at every grade level. Kids really feel supported in the community. It's a great learning environment!


Havens Elementary School 4

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
We've had two sons go through Havens. The quality of teaching overall has improved , but there can be dramatic differences in the child's experience based on teaching assignments. Opportunities for advanced or accelerated learning are pretty minimal outside of math and even there fairly limited. Parental involvement is very strong. Major reconstruction of the school is coming soon. The principal is not interested in addressing problems with the teaching staff.

Havens Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2005
- a parent
Havens Elementary has overall been a positive learning experience for my child. However, the quality of the teachers has been erratic. When my daughter wasn't learning to read well with the rest of the class in second grade and third grade, the teachers didn't identify this as a problem and start giving her any extra attention/resources. Once we got her some outside tutoring, she improved quickly, but I feel like we were a year behind becuase the teachers were too casual about her progress. The focus on art is good and there's a music program too, and lots of parent involvment. Overall a very good school, but advocate for your own child.

Havens Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2004
- a parent
My three sons have attended Havens over the past 8 years. The teachers are of highest quality, it's a nurturing environment (about 350 kids I think), after school care is great, enrichment programs are parent run and very extensive. Overall, we've been very happy.


Havens Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2004
- a parent
Kindergarten curriculum is lacking, as are most of the teachers. Parents of children with special needs need to be in the driver's seat with coordinating services; teacher's not always willing participants in process. Children not always prepared for 1st grade, a shock to some parents. Children do not go to school for a full day until the second semester of 2nd grade! Excessive vacation schedule during the school year (Thanksgiving week, Christmas break, 'ski week,' and Spring break) means shorter summers.

Nearby schools

Havens Elementary School
323 Highland Avenue, Piedmont, CA  94611-4023
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (510) 594-2699
Last modified Havens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top