Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2012
- a parent
We moved from San Francisco to Piedmont for the schools. While our girls were in a great Spanish Immersion program in the city and we miss the intensive language practice, Havens has a before school Spanish program our girls love. And the creativity and approach to academics at Havens surpasses all that we've seen prior. The teachers and students have welcomed our kids very warmly. The teachers engage the girls in all kinds of creative learning projects. Our girls are pushed harder than they had been in San Francisco, but are stepping up and really enjoying it. Besides teaching the standards, their teachers are helping them with concepts such as time management, organization, leadership, teamwork, and much more. While we've only been in Piedmont for 3 months, I'm sure it was the right move for our family.

Havens Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
It is an excellent school. Now both my daughters graduated from this school I have no current knowledge.


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
We are in first grade and loving it. We have a brand new, beautiful, state of the art campus, amazing teachers and Tery Susman our School Principal is fantastic. Parents are very involved, but it isn't expected. Some parents that work full time may only volunteer in the classroom once a month and others may wear many hats. I try to help raise money during our annual campaign and for Spring Fling our parent party/fundraiser. Happy Havens Family!

Havens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
We're close to building a fabulous new school for the kids! We have great teachers, great diversity, and now the kids will have a modern school and playground.

Havens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The whole community is involved in everything from enrichment curriculum (art, music, movement, math, etc.) to working the hot lunch lines). The science program/teacher is exceptionally strong and incorporates an environmentally conscious curriculum at every grade level. Kids really feel supported in the community. It's a great learning environment!


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Havens Elementary School 4

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
We've had two sons go through Havens. The quality of teaching overall has improved , but there can be dramatic differences in the child's experience based on teaching assignments. Opportunities for advanced or accelerated learning are pretty minimal outside of math and even there fairly limited. Parental involvement is very strong. Major reconstruction of the school is coming soon. The principal is not interested in addressing problems with the teaching staff.

Havens Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Havens Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Havens Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2005
- a parent
Havens Elementary has overall been a positive learning experience for my child. However, the quality of the teachers has been erratic. When my daughter wasn't learning to read well with the rest of the class in second grade and third grade, the teachers didn't identify this as a problem and start giving her any extra attention/resources. Once we got her some outside tutoring, she improved quickly, but I feel like we were a year behind becuase the teachers were too casual about her progress. The focus on art is good and there's a music program too, and lots of parent involvment. Overall a very good school, but advocate for your own child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Havens Elementary School
323 Highland Avenue, Piedmont, CA  94611
(510) 594-2699
Last modified Havens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Havens Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.