Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Piedmont, CA
Students enrolled: 750

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Piedmont High School 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
I have had two children graduate from the Piedmont school system - K-12. and yes, it is heavily academically oriented. I believe most parents move to Piedmont in order to put their children in these excellent schools. We have never been sorry we moved to Piedmont, and most of our friends moved here from various parts of Oakland - for the schools. A key for me is the ability PHS graduates to compete at top colleges. Those I know have reported no problems with their preparation and work ethic and thrive even at large UC campuses like UCLA and Cal. PHS offers a full range of academic and arts, music and drama program. The choral program is top notch and the drama program produces outstanding productions. Sports, including an outstanding rugby club, are competitive and rewarding for participants.

Piedmont High School 3

Posted September 30, 2009
- a student
The math and English departments of this school are very strong. The science and language departments, however, are lacking rather severely.


Piedmont High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Terrific teachers, parental involvement, strong emphasis on academics.

Piedmont High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love PHS because of the incredible teachers and counsellors and administrative staff. I love PHS because my daughter is getting a fabulous education.

Piedmont High School 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2009
- a community member
I am an alumnus of Piedmont HIgh School. I received an excellent education there. The school's major problem is the power and exclusivity of the student cliques. However, serious students who ignore the social environment will obtain a superb education there. The school is almost entirely college-prep oriented.


Piedmont High School 1

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Piedmont High School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Piedmont High School 5

Posted May 22, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Piedmont High School 4

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is a transfer student from out of state and had an extremely easy time making friends. We'd heard that Piedmont is a very 'cliquey' scene but for new kids it presents a world of opportunities to make friends in various social groups. PHS is indeed very clique-oriented but this so far has not been a challenge. As far as academics go, there seems to be quite a lot of grade inflation, however there are some excellent teachers in the english department. The arts are taken very seriously; don't expect to enroll in art class for an easy A! Counselors are few but excellent. College and career center is helpful also.

Piedmont High School 4

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
My two sons recently attended PHS while the previous principal was in charge. It was extremely academic (even ceramics required term papers). Many 'average' boys got left in the dust...I think the new principal is interested in changing this but only time will tell if he succeeds...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Piedmont High School
800 Magnolia Avenue, Piedmont, CA  94611
(510) 594-2626
Last modified Piedmont High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Piedmont High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top