Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ellerhorst Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Teachers, and staff show a high level of care and respect towards students and teach the students to show them respect and care as well.

Ellerhorst Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Students learn compassion and caring at this school through learning in the classroom and fairplay on the playground.


Ellerhorst Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and staff are very involved at this school. Students are taught honesty, integrity, and fairness.

Ellerhorst Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Excellent teachers, great staff, an an excellent principal. Parent involvement at this school is extremely high with an active PTA and Dads Club.

Ellerhorst Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 06, 2015
- a community member
Teachers that have been at Ellethorst are incredible. There are two that are learning. One of them continues to fail all the students. The other looks like she is going to take baby steps forward but it'll take time.


Ellerhorst Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a community member
Worst Principal! Has no backbone. When issues arise he has no idea how to follow through. Pays attention to the bad population and let's the people that thrive in learning and in making it a better school unknown, uncredited. He has never said good job to his best students, teachers, volunteers. Awful. He is an "i" type. Has no clue in school policies. It's too bad because this could be a great school.

Ellerhorst Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
Ellerhorst Elementary school is full of wonderful parents, students and staff. It is a beautiful learning environment for our children, It is thanks to the amazing work of our teachers and principal that made it all possible. It has gotten even better in the last year.

Ellerhorst Elementary School 4

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
I am just thrilled with the new principle at Ellerhorst. I would never have guessed what a difference a principle can make. I was considering leaving for a charter school but have decided to stay after seeing his commitment to the school this year.


Ellerhorst Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Ellerhorst Elementary is a great school. Although this site says that their API rating is 799 the are actually rated by the state at 804. I checked. My son and daughter attend kindergarten and second grade and it has been an excellent experience. The Principal, Mr. Carr, genuinely cares and is working very hard at making this an exceptional school. He constantly demonstrates how much he cares and how important a great education is for our kids. The school has a very active PTA and a Dad's club that is constantly doing improvement projects, movie nights and numerous other events to further enrich the experience for our children. My son and daughter enjoy going to this school and I can see in their progress and substantial homework that Ellerhorst is providing a solid foundation for them to build on for the rest of their lives!

Ellerhorst Elementary School 4

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
My oldest has been at Ellerhorst K-5 and my youngest K-2. We are moving so won't be there next year. The principal, Mr. Carr, is so great, really nice with the kids and parents, and not stressed and about to burn out like what is common for this job! The only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 is because there isn't an after-school program. I know Mr.Carr is working on that though because he would like to see it happen. Ellerhorst has an amazing PTA. Two of the cool things they fund are a bus to Sacramento for 4th graders, and the 5th grade Mission to Mars field trip. There are always interesting projects going on at Ellerhorst because the teachers are very creative and excellent at getting grants! Like the giant map that the 5th/6th graders teach to the younger kids; hatching live trout; organic garden; class pets; pen pal programs; plays; musicals; talent show; assemblies; learning folk dances; and lots more. It's a great school!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ellerhorst Elementary School
3501 Pinole Valley Road, Pinole, CA  94564
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (510) 231-1426
Last modified Ellerhorst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top