Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stewart Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
As with any school the instructional staff have varying strengths and areas for growth. To be fair, this is another area I need to focus my inquiries on. I'll get back to you on this issue also.

Stewart Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
Another area I need to focus my inquiries on. I'll get back to you on this issue also.


Stewart Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
I'd need to really focus on this question and do my research and observations and respond after that.

Stewart Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
Of course the office support staff works w Dr. Aloo to foster respect and to be open to others, but it is an effort and work in progress.

Stewart Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
They have worked very diligently to assist students to understand the issues of others and to support their fellow students in appropriate ways.


Stewart Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
Dr. Aloo and his office support team all work together to address student issues and concerns as soon as they are able to. They communicate directly with students and assist them to stay on target with their personal plans and commitments at school.

Stewart Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
The Principal Dr. Aloo makes personal contact with each classroom daily. He is visible and available to the students during passing periods, lunch & recesses. Students sometimes have to wait or leave a message for him, but are able to speak with him re their concerns and issues depending on his calendar, within a reasonable period of time. He works with the students to assist them at being involved and a party to the resolutions of issues. He returns calls and keeps appointments with parents within a 48 hour time period. He will leave you a message, schedule a conference or resolve your concern asap. He will communicate given the opportunity. Pleased to know he is returning to Stewart for 2016-2017.

Stewart Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
My son is in the PILOT Dual Immersion program, and I love it, my family loves it, and my son loves it! Sra. Hernandez is a gem. She truly loves her profession. WCCUSD...take care of this teacher, we don't want to lose her!


Stewart Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
After FINALLY finding this school and switching my 2 older children here. I can finally say that I am SO HAPPY with this school for my children! The teachers are engaged, the staff friendly, helpful and informative. The NEW Principle Dr. Aloo is personable, strict with love, in touch with his students and parents and he is making some amazing changes to the school that promote an environment that is efficient! While there are children there that have behavioral issues. What I see most is genuine friendships forming. Every morning I see my daughter and her friends welcome each other with a hug! It's so refreshing! My only wish is that Parent Involvement were higher. We as parents have to be there to support the teachers and the staff in what they are trying to do for our children. Looking forward to a long stay at Stewart Elementary!

Stewart Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Worst school I've ever seen. Worst district, too. Principal (Butcher) didn't step up and protect the kids. Teachers are allowed to be bullies(Muller & Smith). Students bully and there are no repercussions. Safety is not a concern at all. The school is never completely secured. Anyone can walk in. And anyone can drive up, pick up your child after school, and no one would notice, because not one person on the staff can be bothered to step outside to keep an eye on the children. Do not send your child here! They won't get an education. There are a few good teachers, so if you go there, hope to get them. Lock, Loy & Cunha. Loved these teachers.

Nearby schools

Stewart Elementary School
2040 Hoke Drive, Pinole, CA  94564-1899
(510) 231-1410
Last modified Stewart Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top