Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 282 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pinole

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

Security is huge! You will find teachers on traffic and yard duty before and after school as well as cameras. You will find kids will be stopped from walking off campus without an adult. You will find student led crossing guards, raising of the flag, year books, Christmas programs, multiple onsite and offsite field trips, morning assembly, pledge of allegiance, AM devotion, community giveback and buddies (to name a few). The school could improve by incorporating technology to provide an example to students of how computers are part of our every day. I would like to see a desire to positively evaluate programs, filter the feedback, set goals and spend money. The Principal believes in the good of all children. She has an open door policy, responds to email and sends an eblast from her desk every week. It is easy to point the finger at leadership, but this is what makes her a strong leader. She has 40 years of experience and has a passion for the school, children, faculty and parents. This is an affordable private school that is well worth a GREAT rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is a school with a strong parent community. The teacher quality is also improving with new teachers hired this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I am a parent of a student here and it appalls me that some of the recent reviews are not positive. It seems after reading that it is from a select few that may have gripes that either are unreasonable or may be part of a situation the school cannot discuss due to HR concerns. Parents need to take more responsibility to work to fix the issues within their limitations. Staff and Teachers have far more to worry about in todays age such as school shooting and the students emotional wellness that is not being addressed by parents that either have very busy schedules or are disengaged. Let's not forget that teaching and administrating of children is a calling and its not done for monetary gain. If you are that disappointed then we all know where the door is. Don't kid yourself though the grass is not always greener. The staff at St. Joseph genuinely care and have the best for your children in mind. Not every day is full of sunshine and rainbows and you wont always get your way but at the end of the day your children are getting quality Catholic education and their values and safety are always a top priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

There are committed teachers and parents here who really try to make a difference but it's not enough to overcome a dilapidated school facility, a few sub-par teachers and a principal who is a poor leader and communicator. The principal does not listen to the PTG co-Presidents or the School Board President's concerns at all. I'm not even sure why we have them or why they bother. The principal and the parish Father make decisions in a vacuum. Parent feedback is neither solicited nor welcome. Feedback given is rarely if ever acted upon. Just a fake "I'm taking care of it" and then no follow up. My child is not getting anything close to the edicational excellence that the school promises. More time is spent chiding parents to go to church, give alms and use the rhythm method (ridiculous!) than focusing on creating an excellent faith-based education. Many families show up so excited to attend this school and then leave bitterly disappointed by the principal's lack of leadership in addressing problems and driving improvements. We are unfortunately one of those families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

St. Joseph school is in crisis. While there are several outstanding, dedicated teachers and parents at this school, there is a complete lack of leadership, communication, transparency & proactivness from the principal. The result has been devastating. We've seen very enthusiastic parents & teachers be completely demoralized. We've seen bullying issues not be properly addressed. We've seen teacher performance issues allowed to continue across multiple classes resulting in kids who have been not been properly taught to grade level. Parents have spent hours constructively organizing and trying to have their issues addressed while the principal takes it as an affront and does nothing. The principal would only like to address any concerns you might have one on one so that she can smile, nod and then dismiss them. Several families who have decent options are leaving and others who don't are unhappy and just trying to get through. It's a total shame and it all boils down to leadership and competence at the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

I felt compelled to write, but conflicted about the stars. I'm only giving it 3 stars for many of the teachers who truly are dedicated and really want to get it right. I usually don't say anything just to avoid saying anything bad (if u don't have anything nice to say, then say nothing). but I must tell the truth. We've been at st. joesph in pinole for 6 years now-long enough to really know. We are very hands on and active in the school-I'm there practically every day. it's been a great school, mainly because of the parents and most of the teachers, but around 3rd grade when realized the academic standards just aren't up to snuff; fifth graders are behind and the poor teacher has had to rush them thru lessons/concepts just to get caught up and meet diocease standards. Consequently the kids aren't really learning anything. I feel the main issue is the principal. SHe has poor communication/problem solving/leadership skills, & quietly avoids dealing with situations that principals are supposed to. Morale amongst teachers/staff is horrible! Many parents know this adn talk about it, but no one wants to say/do anything about it. I do love the school community, but can't take it anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

St. Joseph School is part of an amazing community of children, parents, teachers, and parishioners. The Sixth graders help the parish seniors every month. They also have secret senior pen pals throughout the school year. In May, they invited the seiors to a tea party to meet them in person! What a beautiful opportunity to get to know members of our parish, not to mention practice writing and social skills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

I love the way the staff help students. They always make sure that students are paying attention. All the fun field trips are going with what the students are learning. For example, If the students are learning about static electricity, they take them to Lawrence Hall Of Science. This school is great for me.


Posted April 26, 2012

I love the environment at St. Joseph School. The staff is very hard working, and the children are happy. The academic standards are set very high, and there are many wonderful enrichment programs such as, music, art, spanish, and PE. These types of programs have been cut at many public schools. I feel bad that there are people who feel the need to take what was intended as a private comment out of context and display it publicly. Those types of actions do not reflect or model the character traits, and Christ-like actions that the teachers at St. Joseph's work hard to teacher our children everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I attend St. Callistus Church. My children have to pay more tuition because we don't go to St. Joseph Church. There's a lot of ridiculous penalties. This school is all about money!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I think that it is such a shame that the negative reviewers from March 3rd and 4th sought to grind their own axes instead of giving an objective rating of St. Joseph School. St. Joseph is not perfect but it has a wonderful committed staff and principal. St. Joseph has high standards and one of its main goals is to teach the students how to become responsible, productive citizens some day. Each student needs to learn to be responsible for personal actions and possessions. This process is started in Kindergarten. There are many wonderful parent group sponsored events (fundraising as well as free events to families). This is a great community with many fantastic parent volunteers. There are a few challenging students, but the staff does everything that they possibly can to help them. In some instances, when there is a student who has behavioral issues, it is usually a lack of parental support or denial of the problem by the parent rather than a lack of effort on the part of the staff. As for teacher bullies PLEASE!! As far as I know it is not being a bully to have consequences (time outs etc) when a student doesn't follow the rules. St Joseph is a great place to send your kids.


Posted March 28, 2012

What a hard working environment! Teachers who want to get it right everyday. To say, this community has survived several traumatic episodes, dealing with the passing of loved ones, is amazing!!!! Very lucky students. The principle has dedicated teachers who provide a wealth of knowledge to the students and work daily at tapping into resources as they present themselves.


Posted March 28, 2012

AWESOME!!! What a great place to be a part of!!! If you don't believe it, go and see it for your own eyes....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

If you've done your homework on East Bay Catholic schools, then you know that St. Joseph's is quite a bit lower on the food chain than places such as St. Jerome or School of the Madeleine. However, we were surprised at how poor the interaction is between staff and students. The kindergarten teacher has very little patience with the kids and interacts with them like she's in a corporate environment. The principal is just as bad. I would avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

This school is horrible! This school has no Special education teacher but they except students that are special ed and have behavioral problems they are unable to help these students. Some teachers don't have no control in the classroom. There are a lot of students and teachers bullies. Catholic school has changed for the worst! I regret sending my children here. This school is a waste of money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

My 2 sons enjoy going to this school. I like that they foster friendships among children from other grades and being good role models for younger schoolmates through their "faith buddy families." I feel they are getting a good quality education, both academic and religious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

My daughter enjoys going to school everyday, that's tells a lot about Saint Joseph Shool in Pinole. The teachers and staff offer caring, orderly, safe, and nurturing environment. In addition to emphasis on academic excellence, the school also teaches my child values through faith. The children treat each other with respect, no matter what age they are. When my daughter was in Kindergarten (she is in 4th grade now), she had "school buddies" who were in 7th and 8th grade. She still remembers and talks about them. The older kids set a good example for the younger ones to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Excellent school environment focused on not only educating children but building character and community as well - a perfect balance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

This school is great for me. I am a student at St. Joseph's School and my friends keep me going. My teachers are very nice and take teacher courses to learn even better ways to teach us. The sports in this school are volleyball and basketball. We have a nice music program including musical instruments such as the recorder. Also, the art program is fun, because our teacher always surprises us on subjects. Every year something changes, and I think that more students would be nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Very good school. Outstanding education in a healthy child-centered and Christian atmosphere. Class size is a bit large, but TA's yield a low ratio of teacher to student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 38% 11%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Two or more races 19% 3%
White 13% 26%
Black 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Arlene Marseille
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1961 Plum Street
Pinole, CA 94564
Phone: (510) 724-0242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT