Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Security is huge! You will find teachers on traffic and yard duty before and after school as well as cameras. You will find kids will be stopped from walking off campus without an adult. You will find student led crossing guards, raising of the flag, year books, Christmas programs, multiple onsite and offsite field trips, morning assembly, pledge of allegiance, AM devotion, community giveback and buddies (to name a few). The school could improve by incorporating technology to provide an example to students of how computers are part of our every day. I would like to see a desire to positively evaluate programs, filter the feedback, set goals and spend money. The Principal believes in the good of all children. She has an open door policy, responds to email and sends an eblast from her desk every week. It is easy to point the finger at leadership, but this is what makes her a strong leader. She has 40 years of experience and has a passion for the school, children, faculty and parents. This is an affordable private school that is well worth a GREAT rating!

St. Joseph Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This is a school with a strong parent community. The teacher quality is also improving with new teachers hired this year.


St. Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a student here and it appalls me that some of the recent reviews are not positive. It seems after reading that it is from a select few that may have gripes that either are unreasonable or may be part of a situation the school cannot discuss due to HR concerns. Parents need to take more responsibility to work to fix the issues within their limitations. Staff and Teachers have far more to worry about in todays age such as school shooting and the students emotional wellness that is not being addressed by parents that either have very busy schedules or are disengaged. Let's not forget that teaching and administrating of children is a calling and its not done for monetary gain. If you are that disappointed then we all know where the door is. Don't kid yourself though the grass is not always greener. The staff at St. Joseph genuinely care and have the best for your children in mind. Not every day is full of sunshine and rainbows and you wont always get your way but at the end of the day your children are getting quality Catholic education and their values and safety are always a top priority.

St. Joseph Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
There are committed teachers and parents here who really try to make a difference but it's not enough to overcome a dilapidated school facility, a few sub-par teachers and a principal who is a poor leader and communicator. The principal does not listen to the PTG co-Presidents or the School Board President's concerns at all. I'm not even sure why we have them or why they bother. The principal and the parish Father make decisions in a vacuum. Parent feedback is neither solicited nor welcome. Feedback given is rarely if ever acted upon. Just a fake "I'm taking care of it" and then no follow up. My child is not getting anything close to the edicational excellence that the school promises. More time is spent chiding parents to go to church, give alms and use the rhythm method (ridiculous!) than focusing on creating an excellent faith-based education. Many families show up so excited to attend this school and then leave bitterly disappointed by the principal's lack of leadership in addressing problems and driving improvements. We are unfortunately one of those families.

St. Joseph Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
St. Joseph school is in crisis. While there are several outstanding, dedicated teachers and parents at this school, there is a complete lack of leadership, communication, transparency & proactivness from the principal. The result has been devastating. We've seen very enthusiastic parents & teachers be completely demoralized. We've seen bullying issues not be properly addressed. We've seen teacher performance issues allowed to continue across multiple classes resulting in kids who have been not been properly taught to grade level. Parents have spent hours constructively organizing and trying to have their issues addressed while the principal takes it as an affront and does nothing. The principal would only like to address any concerns you might have one on one so that she can smile, nod and then dismiss them. Several families who have decent options are leaving and others who don't are unhappy and just trying to get through. It's a total shame and it all boils down to leadership and competence at the top.


St. Joseph Elementary School 3

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
I felt compelled to write, but conflicted about the stars. I'm only giving it 3 stars for many of the teachers who truly are dedicated and really want to get it right. I usually don't say anything just to avoid saying anything bad (if u don't have anything nice to say, then say nothing). but I must tell the truth. We've been at st. joesph in pinole for 6 years now-long enough to really know. We are very hands on and active in the school-I'm there practically every day. it's been a great school, mainly because of the parents and most of the teachers, but around 3rd grade when realized the academic standards just aren't up to snuff; fifth graders are behind and the poor teacher has had to rush them thru lessons/concepts just to get caught up and meet diocease standards. Consequently the kids aren't really learning anything. I feel the main issue is the principal. SHe has poor communication/problem solving/leadership skills, & quietly avoids dealing with situations that principals are supposed to. Morale amongst teachers/staff is horrible! Many parents know this adn talk about it, but no one wants to say/do anything about it. I do love the school community, but can't take it anymore.

St. Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
St. Joseph School is part of an amazing community of children, parents, teachers, and parishioners. The Sixth graders help the parish seniors every month. They also have secret senior pen pals throughout the school year. In May, they invited the seiors to a tea party to meet them in person! What a beautiful opportunity to get to know members of our parish, not to mention practice writing and social skills!

St. Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
I love the way the staff help students. They always make sure that students are paying attention. All the fun field trips are going with what the students are learning. For example, If the students are learning about static electricity, they take them to Lawrence Hall Of Science. This school is great for me.


St. Joseph Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
I love the environment at St. Joseph School. The staff is very hard working, and the children are happy. The academic standards are set very high, and there are many wonderful enrichment programs such as, music, art, spanish, and PE. These types of programs have been cut at many public schools. I feel bad that there are people who feel the need to take what was intended as a private comment out of context and display it publicly. Those types of actions do not reflect or model the character traits, and Christ-like actions that the teachers at St. Joseph's work hard to teacher our children everyday.

St. Joseph Elementary School 1

Posted April 01, 2012
- a parent
I attend St. Callistus Church. My children have to pay more tuition because we don't go to St. Joseph Church. There's a lot of ridiculous penalties. This school is all about money!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Joseph Elementary School
1961 Plum Street, Pinole, CA  94564
(510) 724-0242
Last modified St. Joseph Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Joseph Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top