Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Pittsburg, CA
Students enrolled: 630
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a teacher
I have been teaching at Highlands Elementary for 4 months but was a special Ed aide there before earning my teaching credential. I can tell you that the staff have been very friendly and go above and beyond their duty to help each child reach their full potential. The principal truly loves children and expects a caring staff. He is very in tune with the community, families, teachers and students so that everyone involved can grow and be successful. My daughter attended Highlands and had a great experience. Her teachers gave her the tools that have made her a success in high school.

Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
I have had 4 children go through Highlands and they are doing very well. the staff is top notch and I must say the playground behavior is the best in the district. My children have attended other schools in the district since we moved to another neighborhood and we miss Highlands very much.


Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school. The staff is amazing despite all the obstactles they are faces with. There are so many ooportunites for parents to get involved, its just a shame more don't. Volunterring at Highlands is a great opportunity to get involved in your childs education.

Highlands Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2006
- a parent
This school has the hardest working teachers! Not only are they teaching to standards, but are trying to make it fun for their students. It is a shame there isn't more parent help. Great School!

Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted March 18, 2006
- a teacher
Although this school has a low level of parental involvement, it has great teachers and a fun environment.

Highlands Elementary School 3

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2005
- a parent
Students are challenged and there is a lot of parent involvement encouragement. Advanced students aren't always given the opportunity to continue to remain advanced. They are given the chance to attend additional classes, but their grades don't always show their skills. If a child can do more than others in his/her class, he/she will not be graded on that, just on what the class as a whole can do.

Highlands Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlands Elementary School
4141 Harbor Street, Pittsburg, CA  94565
(925) 473-2440
Last modified Highlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highlands Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top