Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a community member
My grandson is a sixth grader at Sierra Vista. Each year, I continue to be impressed with the quality of their teachers, resources and programs. Their music program, the walk through history sessions, as well as their connection with Stagelight Productions are most impressive.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
great teachers and great staffs my girls love the school and they love going to school each and every day'


Sierra Vista Elementary School 3

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
The school is not in the best of neighborhoods which means not always the most studious student. We had trouble with one teacher who was not always kind to the children nor did she create a welcoming environment. Your experience will depend on the group of children in your child's class and the teacher.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
Both of my kids attend Sierra Vista. 1st and 4th grade. I'm very impressed with the team.approach from the teachers and have found them very willing to work out a plan if my kids need extra support. I think the principal has done an.excellent job developing a great team of teachers and staff.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
Excellent, well-trained staff. You really can't go wrong with any teacher. Children really enjoy 6th grade Outdoor Education Camp which creates memories that will last a life time. Ms. Heffner is my favorite teacher on a staff of stellar teachers. She has tutored my children on her own time, without charge along with any other student who wants/needs the extra support. Sixth grade math becomes too difficult for most parents to be able to give homework assistance...ugh! Ms. Heffner has done an excellent job preparing her students for middle school math and future endeavors in life. She is inspiring! The principal truly cares about the students, staff, and parents at Sierra Vista. The office staff is kind and more than willing to help answer questions with great attitudes.The Kindergarten teachers make learning fun and very academic. Thank you Sierra Vista staff!!! The dissatisfied parents who wrote reviews are just bitter because they didn't get their way which most likely resulted in the staff choosing to do what, in their professional opinions, was in the best interest of their child. It is a public school...but a very close and involved community.


Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school where the teachers are wonderful and the parent volunteers never fail to give 100%. While it is a public school it has the intimate feeling of a private school, despite the classroom sizes. Our two children love their school and wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
Sierra Vista is a gem. The teachers take their jobs very seriously and provide an exceptional learning environment. Outside the classroom, the children are treated to amazing assemblies including the 'Meet the Masters' series which introduces the students to the styles of different famous artists. In addition, the school has a fun family night in support of the fall book fair. Parents can continue their child's education after school with everything from science to chess. For the past three years the students have been able to participate in a school play. The school play not only brings together students from all grades, but it brings together parents from all classes encouraging a real sense of community. Plus, you will never meet a nicer office staff!

Sierra Vista Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
I have found this school to have very few good teachers. I found with my child that these teachers are degrading and do not use enough positive reinforcement, in this day and age I am very disappointed. The only two good teachers are Mrs Gourley, Mrs. Griffen and Mrs Hirth


Sierra Vista Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2006
- a parent
My daughter went to K here. The teachers were great. She learned a lot everyday and also had fun! The school has a onsite childcare which is very convenient for working parents. HIghly recomended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Vista Elementary School
1811 North Placentia Avenue, Placentia, CA  92870
(714) 986-7270
Last modified Sierra Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top