Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Placentia, CA
Students enrolled: 631
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Van Buren Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2011
- a parent
My children attend VBE. Our best years have been K,1, and 3. All of the students participated in stage performances. All teachers were professional, kind, and understanding. Second grade for one of my kids was difficult because of an inflexible teacher, but I was spared her the next year. The new principal was very understanding and helpful with placement. Fourth grade has been a very challenging year. With NO good options for placement, I tried to transfer schools. This year, my child was saddled with worksheets, no instruction, and learned how to knit. I will not be able to have another year like this year. I would hate to let two bad experiences sway my opinion of Van Buren. Teachers here truly care about education and participate in extra curricular activities such as the talent show and family nights. Next year, a sixth grade science camp is starting. A new recycling program began this year to teach the importance of recycling and raise funds run by one teacher. A new garden was planted this year by all grade levels. Thank you Van Buren staff for making this a school that I am glad to have my children attend.

Van Buren Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of a student of this school and I have to agree with a few of the previous posts on this school. I agree that this school cares about the children in this school and I give credit to the new principal, Ken Valburg. I have 2 children, 1 of shich is already an adult and went through a private school education and now that my child is in this school I must says that Mr. Valburg is by far the best principal I have come across in all my experiences. I must say though that there are a few teachers that as the parent explained in a previous post that do not seem to care about children and seem to be heartless. Thankfully not this year! Other than that, it's a great school!!


Van Buren Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The school is very concerned with the students well being and teachers work to address students individuals needs.

Van Buren Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
We were very disappointed with several teachers at Van Buren. They seemed to do the bare minimum. Many of the teachers at this school are cold and don't seem to truly love children. I observed one teacher roll her eyes at my son when he asked a question. Communication was lacking. Thankfully this school has a wonderful new principal that will hopefully get some of the teachers motivated. He may be exactly what Van Buren needs.

Van Buren Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Great school, teachers are very connected to the students.


Van Buren Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
All three of my children have attended Van Buren Elementary School and two are now in College and the thrid is in 6th grade this year. Not only have my children attended this school but their dad did and so did his brother. This is an amazing school with caring and educated teachers. I'm going to miss the school once my 6th grader moves on to Middle school next year. I would highly reccomend this school to anyone. Also their after care program is one of the best.

Van Buren Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Van Buren Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
This school is lacking in many many things. The PTA is small and inefective. They raise very little money- and do not supplement the science, art or PE programs as with other public schools in California. The school environment is detached- no sense of community. We also had problems with a bully. Van Buren may have a blue ribbon award- but it is not great.


Van Buren Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Van Buren Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2006
- a parent
Van Buren is an awesome school. My daughter 'graduated' to Kraemer Middle School last year. My son is in 4th grade. The PTA is small, but very active. The PTA president is awesome! Academics are challenging. 6th grade was tough for my daughter, but it may middle school academics a lot easier to tackle!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Van Buren Elementary School
1245 North Van Buren Street, Placentia, CA  92870
(714) 986-7100
Last modified Van Buren Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Van Buren Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top